Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Napa Valley Hotels

Auberge du Soleil

  • Auberge du Soleil, Rutherford

    Auberge du Soleil

  • Auberge du Soleil, Rutherford

    Auberge du Soleil

  • Auberge du Soleil, Rutherford

    Auberge du Soleil

  • Auberge du Soleil, Rutherford

    Auberge du Soleil

  • Auberge du Soleil, Rutherford

    Auberge du Soleil

  • Auberge du Soleil, Rutherford

    Auberge du Soleil

  • Auberge du Soleil, Rutherford

    Auberge du Soleil

  • Auberge du Soleil, Rutherford

    Chris Gramly/Trinette Reed Photography/Auberge du Soleil

  • Auberge du Soleil, Rutherford

    Trinette Reed/Auberge du Soleil

  • Auberge du Soleil, Rutherford

    Auberge du Soleil

  • Auberge du Soleil, Rutherford

    Chris Gramly/Auberge du Soleil

Pros

  • Stunning views over the valley
  • Spectacular pool and spa areas
  • The most expensive suites are fit for a superstar

Cons

  • Stratospheric prices
  • Least expensive rooms get some noise from the bar and restaurant

Updated 05/01/2014

Fodor's Review

Taking a cue from the olive-tree-studded landscape, this hotel with a renowned restaurant and spa cultivates a luxurious Mediterranean look—earth-tone tile floors, heavy wood furniture, and terra-cotta colors. It backs up the look with such lavish amenities as flat-screen TVs (in both the rooms and bathrooms), private terraces, jetted soaking tubs, and extra-large showers.

Hotel Information

Address:

180 Rutherford Hill Rd., Rutherford, California, 94573, USA

Map It

Phone:

707-963–1211; 800-348–5406

Hotel Details:

  • 31 rooms, 21 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 05/01/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Napa Valley

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By esernel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 18, 2009

Paradise in the Wine Country

This Relais & Chateaux property nestled in the hills in Napa is a perfect romantic getaway. Was there in December and enjoyed the tasteful accommodations and the wonderful fireplace as well as the impeccable service. In addition to the tasty bottle of wine provided in the room, a very well stocked refigerator provides great complimentary beverages and food items. Looking forward to our return visit next month to enjoy a few days when the weather

is cool and before the hoards show up to decimate the Napa Valley.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 21, 2005

Timeless Elegance Continues

This is one of my top 3 favorite hotels in the country. I have been there several times and am just enamored by it. It is luxe and sophistication to the max. I was (selfishly) a bit disappointed that the recent room renovation did away with their signature fuschia upholstery; despite it's lengthy run it was still vibrant, indulgent, fresh and unique. Being a hotel interior designer myself I was pleasantly suprised to see a hotel that proudly went

beyond the typical decor bounderies. Service is excellent, food outstanding, endless wine list, view superbe, lovely pool and fitness area, and the Spa is to die for (and I've been to many high-end spas). My only negative experience was in the winter during very cold weather. The heating system went out at night and it was freezing in the room. The hotel did reduce our rate by 50% and as we were staying in a suite @ $750/night, it was greatly appreciated. I will glady return over and over.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2005

Cancel now /Major dissapointment and rip-off

Confirmed an Upper Valley Suite @$1400/night.Was given upgrade to private cottage $3000 plus/night. Nothing special about this place. Desperately Needs renovations and redecorating unless you like bright pink fuscia colors and very uncomfortable furnishings. Service nothing special. Restaurant overall awful. Extensive but rip off wine list. Average service. Waiters arrogant.Never felt so ripped off in my life. Wouldnt go back for free. Try Meadowood.Was

last year and enjoyed. Much nicer and reasonably priced

Read More

By Russ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 17, 2003

Another Relais et Chateux Rip Off

Where was the room with a view? The worst part was the totally indifferent, rude staff. We had dinner in the bar/bistro. I had to go to the front desk to find some who could get us a table. The food was deplorable. The soup was cold and was returned. Thirty minutes after ordering, we were told that the entrees were sold out. We got up and walked out. We ate at the drive-in in town. Suggest the owners visit some great hotels like Gidleigh Park in Devon

or the Baur au Lac in Zurich and learn what service is all about, especially in this price range.

Read More

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2002

Pricey, But Well Worth It

This is an incredible resort with incredible spa facilities. We spent a weekend here in March 2002 for a much needed getaway. Our room was moderately sized, with a tile floor and a nice deck. Every amenity imaginable was offered -- bath salts, a complimentary bottle of wine, a fully stocked and free minibar with real drinks & snacks (e.g., SoBe), a stereo system with classical CDs, wine glasses, slippers, etc. Spa treatment for two cost almost as

much as the nightly rate, but was spectacular. Four different spa menus are available. The spa is only available to resort guests. The service was friendly, efficient, & professional. For example, the cleaning staff accidentally removed our personal stemware from our room. The person at the front desk immediately began a search, and even arranged for someone continue the search if they had not been located when her shift ended. (They found them). Food at the restaurant was solid, but paled in comparison to that at the French Laundry. Incidentally, our waiter at the French Laundry informed us that the restaurant reserves a few tables for Auberge guests every night -- a definite plus.

Read More

By Randy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 7, 2002

The Price for Paradise

For "over the top" prices, you can have a small piece of heaven on earth. This peaceful resort offers quiet but attentive service, complementary wine, beverages and snacks, a nice pool and excercise facilities, a wonderful spa, and a sense of privacy and exclusivity that I have rarely experienced.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement