Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Monterey Bay Hotels

Bernardus Lodge

  • 415 W. Carmel Valley Rd. Map It
  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Exceptional personal service
  • Outstanding food and wine

Cons

  • Pricey
  • Some guests can seem snooty

Updated 05/04/2014

Fodor's Review

The spacious guest rooms at this luxury spa resort have vaulted ceilings, featherbeds, fireplaces, patios, and bathtubs for two. Before you even check in, the valet hands you a glass of Sauvignon Blanc. The restaurant, Marinus (dinner Wed.–Sun., $$$$), is perhaps the best in the Monterey Bay area, with a menu that changes daily to highlight local meats, seafood, and produce. Reserve the chef's table in the main kitchen, and you can talk to the chef as he prepares your

meal.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

415 W. Carmel Valley Rd., Carmel Valley, California, 93924, United States

Map It

Phone:

831-658–3400; 888-648–9463

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 56 rooms, 1 suite

Updated 05/04/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Monterey Bay

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By swooly

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2010

Bernardus Lodge Review

By far, the highlight of our honeymoon - spent the last night here and wish we had spent at least two more nights. From check in to check out, this was one of the most relaxing and attentive hotels that we have ever visited. Did not get a chance to try the restaurant but will do so next time. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2007

The perfect setting for a perfect getaway

We just got back from staying at the Bernardus Lodge.I do not know where to start with the superb service. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.I noticed that they engage the guests in genuine conversation that I do not see all the time at high end resorts like this one. The room was incredible.From the fireplace to the fresh flowers, fruit and snacks and incredible Marinus wine. The property is gorgeous. What a dream come true.

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2006

The best kept secret in Carmel Valley

We just stayed at the wonderful Bernardus Lodge. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel that our vacation experience was the most important thing to each and every employee. They knew our names, that we were celebrating our anniversary, and were amazingly buttoned up. We'll definitely go back.

By Russ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2006

Exceeded Our Expectations!!!

Everyone working at this resort was friendly, gracious, smiling, and service oriented. From check in to check out five days later we were never disappointed. From the valets to the Concierge, the restaurant staff, everyone was always friendly and it gave this resort a personal touch that is lost at larger properties. The food was outstanding. The only thing casual at the Wickets restaurant is the more casual dress code. The menu and food quality was

fabulous. Marinus, was even better with the most wonderful wine list. If you are eating more casual but would like to order from the more extensive Marinus wine list&no problem, just ask. We enjoyed our room, the views, the spa and the chance to get away in a quite atmosphere. We will come back!

Read More

By Gloria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2004

worst service I've ever had

You could not pay me to return to this place. The service would have been inexcusable at a Howard Johnson but at a place charging these prices it was reprehensible.Awful, awful, awful.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 24, 2003

Excellent Customer Service, v. low on the snob factor

Bernardus is an upscale lodge with a beautiful view of Carmel Valley Vinyards and an excellent restaurant. What sets it apart from the other high priced resorts is the service. All gratuities are included and you relax the moment you step inside. They take your bags, put bottled water in your car when they valet park it, they call to confirm your spa reservations, etc. You don't have to think about a thing.

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2001

Working towards perfection

While the rooms are magnificent (high exposed-beam ceilings, fireplaces), as of February 2000, they were still ironing out some kinks (e.g. water pressure, landscaping). Romantic and well located, with a pricy but professional spa. The restaurant is a bit over-rated, as is the wine - you would be well served to explore the area for food and drink.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement