Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Monterey Bay Hotels

Tickle Pink Inn

Pros

  • Close to great hiking
  • Intimate
  • Dramatic views

Cons

  • Close to a big hotel
  • Lots of traffic during the day

Updated 05/04/2014

Fodor's Review

Atop a towering cliff, this inn has views of the Big Sur coastline, which you can contemplate from your private balcony. After falling asleep to the sound of surf crashing below, you'll wake to a continental breakfast and the morning paper in bed. If you prefer the company of fellow travelers, breakfast is also served buffet-style in the lounge, as are complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon. Many rooms have wood-burning fireplaces, and there are six luxurious spa

suites and a private two-bedroom cottage.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

155 Highland Dr., Carmel, California, 93923, USA

Map It

Phone:

831-624–1244; 800-635–4774

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 23 rooms, 10 suites, 1 cottage
  • Breakfast

Updated 05/04/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Nikki

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2005

SOO dissapointed

My hushand and I picked the Tickle Pink for our 5th anniversary getaway. I had heard nothing but good things about it, including rave reviews on TripAdvisor. I figured we couldn't go wrong. We were dissapointed from the start. The decor is dated, and it reminded us of a mid-western motel from the early 90's. Definitely not a stylish room. Also, the furnishings were worn and the bedspread was cheap. The view is nice, but the highway noise prevented

us from truly enjoying the patio. The shower was quirky- it would only stay on for a second or 2 before switching back to the bath so I had to shampoo with one hand while using the other hand to hold the depressor so the water would keep flowing. I was told this was because I had adjusted the pressure on the shower head. The broken shower head and the management's explanation were not acceptable at such an expensive hotel. Lastly, I was dissapointed in the general quality of the details. For spending $340 per night at the Tickle Pink, I was shocked that the only black tea at breakfast was Lipton's! And the in-room coffee service did not have any cream or milk, just dry packets of non-dairy creamer. I had to hike down to the kitchen just to find a few serving of the packaged half and half. What a dissapointment. I really feel that the Tickle Pink is resting on its laurels. The hotel is way over-rated. We could have gotten top notch service at Pebble Beach for that price.

Read More

By Miles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2004

As Good As Advertised

There really is something magical about this place. I didn't "get it" the first time I stayed, but this time I was overwhelmed and sad to leave. The view is captivating and for my money, the coastal view is more dramatic than the ocean view. I could have killed an entire day sitting on the balcony. The room you stay in does matter, so do your homework and try to get one with a fireplace. Also not to be missed - I dined again at Pacific's Edge (walking

distance from Tickle Pink) and was again blown away by the cuisine. Staying in Carmel Highlands is absolutely worth the short drive into Carmel. And Tickle Pink lives up to its reputation.

Read More

By eve

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2004

Escape the rat race

If you want to forget the outside world. This is the place. We had the Sentor's Cottage, share with long time friends. What more could you ask for - friends, sun, waves.

By pam

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2002

amazing views

Just got back from a trip to the Big Sur Coast and loved the Tickle Pink Inn. Our room had a beautiful cove view and we enjoyed watching the sunset from our patio.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2002

Oh my Gosh! I think I found Heaven!!!

What more can I say. Stayed two nights and did'nt want to leave. I have booked it again for our 20th aniv, Jan 2002. The most incredible views of the pacific coast. Wonderful accomadations- freshly remodeled rooms. Lovely bottle of wine delivered at check-in, delicious, elegantly served complimentary continental breakfast or delivered to room for small fee. Lovely wine and cheese reception each afternoon at sunset. Rooms range in price depending on

size and view. Can't go wrong. Great restaurants at neighboring hotel within walking distance. Nice to be away from the town alittle bit- more private- just a short five minute drive to Carmel.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement