Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Angeles Hotels

The Standard

  • 8300 Sunset Blvd. Map It
  • $$
  • Casual Chic

Pros

  • On-site, decent 24-hour coffee shop
  • Poolside scene
  • Live DJs

Cons

  • Extended party place for twentysomethings
  • Staff big on attitude rather than service

Updated 04/01/2014

Fodor's Review

Hotelier André Balazs created this playful Sunset Strip hotel with '70s kitsch out of a former retirement home. Tokens of the '70s aethestic include pop art, shag carpets, and ultrasuede sectionals in the lobby, and beanbag chairs, surfboard tables, and Warhol poppy-print curtains in the rooms. After a decade of heavy use, rooms show the wear-and-tear, and service issues and staff attitudes are commonplace. DJs spin nightly and lobby socializing begins at the front desk

and extends to the newly reimagined pool deck outside. At this writing, the hotel was adding a new restaurant.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

8300 Sunset Blvd., West Hollywood, California, 90069, USA

Map It

Phone:

323-650–9090

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 137 rooms, 2 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/01/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Los Angeles

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2007

If you want to be treated badly....

...then stay at the standard. The rooms are like dorm rooms. The service is the worst I have ever had anywhere. The atmosphere is ok. Don't ask for anything to be brought to your room unless you want to call them 3 times to get it and you might not get it anyway. If you decide you can't take it anymore and want to change hotels...they could care less. I guess the only good thing is they don't charge you anything for checking out early!

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2002

Vacuous Staff are Dumber Than They Look!

I've stayed at the Standard twice. It is not somewhere to stay for comfort, but a place to stay to be in the scene. However, on my second stay, the service was EXTRAORDINARILY bad. It couldn't have been worse if someone were orchestrating it to be bad. I am still trying to sort out charges on my credit card that they placed fraudulently. My advice: go there for a drink to see it once, and then go to a hotel that subscribes to a HIGHER standard.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2001

Go ahead and pay money NOT to sleep

A hotel? Try a dorm for the too cool for school. The fact that this establishments bills itself as a functional hotel is astonishing. The lobby is a teenager's funhouse. If you can raise your voice above the endless music and dodge the disco ball, perhaps you can check in. And once you do, look forward to the putrid smelling rooms. And once you open those windows to air out what ever was there before you got there, look forward to thr dulcet

tones of Sunset Boulevard traffic. Or the Standard DJ expressing himself at 2 AM. Still not rested? Perhaps the upstairs funkster grooving to his hotel supplied BAD music at 4:45AM will bring you that hip-hop kind of peace...If you value your sleep and your ear drums, avoid this sham.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2000

you bet your bippy the 60's are back!

This could have been the set for a "Laugh In" episode, the public spaces were so great and made the whole reason I chose to leave the Ramada and move here more evident. You can stay at a Ramada anywhere in anytown but when in LA chicness counts. This hotel was not plush by any means but provided enough for guests to feel comfortable. The linens pillows and matresses were far superior than the Ramada. I had a room on Sunset Blvd that contrary to another

reviewer was actally quieter than my room at the Ramada. The restaurant had above average food and the service was acceptable. When I called Housekeeping for additional towels, they arrived within 5 min.

Read More

By Harry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2000

Tragically, Hip

Cool as they come? Undoubtedly. Unfortunately that includes the staff, whose coolness verged on frigidity in August 2000. Perhaps it was the thought of Sarah Jessica Parker who was there to shoot an episode of Sex & the City which caused their lack of interest in anybody else. I do hope so. This hotel should have it all. Location is outstanding, rooms a good size, price reasonable, and the beds as comfortable as Fodors suggests. Who cares if the bathroom

is basic, the funky furniture and fabrics an acquired taste, it was the noise levels that finally drove me out. I had booked a room there for two nights, but checked out after one. Having a hot West Hollywood bar on the ground floor is great if you're grooving there, but not if you want a night's sleep. I don't know which was worse, the guests shouting outside my room, my phone ringing in the middle of the night with nobody at the other end, or the boisterous crowds leaving the bar. It was a relief to check out the next morning, bleary-eyed, and relocate to the equally stylish and far more comfortable Avalon Hotel in Beverly Hills. Bottom line: The Standard could be great, but tragically, it's hip.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement