Los Angeles Restaurants

Advertisement

Anaheim White House

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Anaheim White House Review

Several small dining rooms are set with crisp linens and candles in this flower-filled 1909 mansion. The northern Italian menu includes steak, rack of lamb, and fresh seafood. Try the signature ravioli arragosta, lobster-filled pasta in a ginger-and-citrus sauce. A three-course prix-fixe low-calorie lunch, served weekdays, costs $23.

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
  • No lunch Sat.
Updated: 04-01-2014

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Décor  
    Food  
    Value  

    Work of Art

    If you're looking for fabulous food (try the short ribs slow cooked in red wine for 14 hours), presented like a work of art (truly gorgeous presentations) in a very romantic environment, this is the place for you. I can not understand the negative comments, but I will say that this is not the place for a "quickie" meal. It is very European (as is the owner), courses are well spaced and the speed is leisurely (as one would expect when every plate is like a work of art).

    by Golnarsarge, 2/21/07
  • Value  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Service  

    Oy Vey

    I do not understand how people can say that this is a great restaurant. The concept of a converted house into restaurant is neat. The naming of the rooms after presidents, alright if you need a gimmick. The place is a little old and tired and if they are making so miuch do a little repainting and replacing the nice chair covers. Exploring upstairs the hallway smell moldy/musty. Coit where are you? The service was attentive and nice but one of the seems like to many cheifs should tell them they need to be drycleaned and pressed more often. Now to the real disappointment. The "Italian"? menu and food. Okay so this great Lobster Ravioli. I am pretty sure they get that precooked packaged lobster you see at Bristol Farms or Santa Monica Seafood. You know the frozen, chewy slightly fishy kind. They insure me they make them there and they appear not like the oh so many restaurants with the prefab ones. The sauce is sweet lobster bisquey flavor. I guess if Olive Garden wows you then this would seem impressive but make no mistake it is not even one star. The salad oh my. A fried rice basket (wow I'm impressed) with a handfull of those soooo over boxed mixed greens w/ a passion fruit (Italian I ask) overly sweet dressing AND THAT IS IT. I give my rabbits a bigger variety in their salads. Then these weird leaning towers of fried dough??? Please less gimmicky presentation and more or any flavor. The short ribs were mushy bland and the horseradish sauce was bitter and I think had two ingredients-horseradsih and sour cream. The white fish was terrible - the little diced squashes tasted more of seafood then the fish & one piece served grey side up. The "Award Winning" Dessert Tray --what a joke. Decent wine list but why spend good money on good wine when it can't inhance the food. Another dud in the OC that people keep coming to. If it was in the midwest it may pass as ok but here ?????

    by foodcritic, 3/16/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    I'll be returning

    This place gets better everytime I visit. The escargot appetizer are great. The filet with gorgonzola is the best around (better than the surrounding steak houses), the souffle .. U can't go wrong. Service was exceptional and comfortable. I'll be returing for SURE!

    by Ciba777, 5/31/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Good food, a little kitschy, service could be improved

    We made a reservation months in advance for ten at the White House for our annual convention in Anaheim. Granted, we were a large group but honestly, I did not leave with a great impression overall. Upon arrival, we pulled into the drive and were absolutely enchanted by the grand house before us. Enveloped in white and resplendent with little white lights and a smattering of people lounging about in the front courtyard area, it seemed we had entered a fairyland. We gazed about and enjoyed the atmosphere as we walked through the courtyard and into the restaurant. The charm of the old house shone through, and the future looked bright as we headed upstairs to our table. And that's where the evening began to turn. We entered a 12' x 12' room off the staircase, gorgeous and well-appointed but positively stuffed with two long tables and the accompanying parson chairs completely filling the small room. I kid you not, COMPLETELY FILLING the room. We all sat down and settled ourselves, and immediately after the other table of ten were sat with us in the little room. Two problems emerged rather quickly: 1. The small room, filled with twenty diners plus wait staff, because inhospitably warm and the air conditioning could not keep the room properly cooled. It quickly reached about ninety degrees and showed no signs of cooling off. 2. Once all twenty of us were seated (our own party of ten and the other table of ten), there was no room for the wait staff in-between the two tables and there was no room on either side, either. Essentially, the wait staff only had access to the two people seated at one end of the table with no way of reaching any of the other diners, much less the opposite end of the table. Thinking this through, we quickly realized that the White House must intend for all of us to pass all dishes from the one end of the table down the length of the table, which might have been comically laughable in a mid-range dining establishment. However, in a restaurant which touts the fine-dining experience, this was a disgrace. We tried to make a go of it and realigned our table so that two people moved to each end of the table with four on each long side. No luck, still no room to maneuver. We persevered until the wine arrived and the staff was not able to reach the opposite end of the table to allow for the orderer to taste the wine. At that point, with menus being utilized as fans, we asked to be moved. We ended up moving to two separate tables of five within the same room in another area of the restaurant. The room was noticeably cooler and the evening began to progress from there. My beau and I split the Escargot con Aglio e Erbe and green salad to start. The salad was lovely, but the escargot was a standout - amazing, lush buttery sauce with a wonderful herbal complement...we needed additional bread to sop up every last bit of the garlicky sauce and it was gooooood. I then had the Vitello con Funghi - the veal melted on your mouth and the cognac, sage and Morel mushroom sauce was divine and oh-so-savory. The food almost made up for the initial issue, but unfortunately the superheated, overstuffed room left a pall on an otherwise nice experience. We will definitely try the Anaheim White House again, but if we come as a large group we'll request to be seated alone in a room, or just ensure that there is adequate room for the patrons and wait staff to move about the room sufficiently.

    by TheTripChick, 6/24/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Wonderful Anniversary Experience!

    This restaurant was amazing! My husband took me here for our 3 year anniversary. The house was so charming and elegant. Everyone there treated us like VIP's and the service was phenomenal! I order the special, the short ribs paired with a giant stuffed prawn and my husband ordered the NY steak. We couldn't get over how delicious it was. We decided to go big and order their famous Jackie O dessert. It was like something out of the Food Network. The presentation was awesome. Al in all it was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend this restaurant to everyone!

    by FullertonGal, 10/10/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Go somewhere else.

    I had eaten here several years ago on business meetings, but I wasn't convinced it was all that good, but decided to try, again for our 25th wedding anniversary. First, the cocktails were unimaginably poor - the cosmo was virtually tasteless, and my g. and t. had virtualy no gin flavor, and the tonic was flatter than my tap water. The salad was a handful of "European" greens, fresh from Costco. My entree of rack of lamb was OK, but nothing special, and it was served over a pile of flat-tasting mashed potatoes. My wife's veal dish was overdone, dry, tough and virtually tasteless,as was the paste-like sauce onm it. The wine (Groth sauvignon blanc) was fine, but the White House couldn't have screwed that up. For the kind of bucks this place charges, GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!! Doug S.

    by olddiver, 9/10/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Anaheim White House Review

    All I want to say is that this restaurant is the best! My best friend took me there for my birthday to celebrate and I was blown away by the menu. I am a huge seafood junkie and the options were amazing. I had a really hard time figuring out which I wanted to try first. I finally decided on the Seafood Ravioli Soup and it was beyond words. I am very happy with the service and the entire experience altogether. The restaurant itself is absolutely beautiful and we had a blast. Our waiter was very helpful and came often to check up on us and I don’t think my wine glass ever really got dry as he was always there to refill it before I even had a chance to reach for the bottle. Overall this was one of the best birthdays I’ve spent. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, no matter the occasion.

    by JadenKaleb, 5/3/10
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Anaheim White House Review

    This is one of the best restaurants I’ve ever been to. You feel like royalty just walking in, and that’s just the beginning. It’s such a beautiful setting and the service is outstanding. My friend took me to the restaurant for my birthday and I was blown away. The place is absolutely beautiful, it really felt like I was in a palace. Plus, the service was top notch. The menu has so many great choices, that it took me a while to really find what I was looking for. I chose a couple of things, however the Seafood Ravioli Soup blew me away. It was amazing. We also choice a nice wine and enjoyed the evening feeling like royalty. Our waiter was wonderful and regularly checked up on us and poured our wine without us even knowing it. This restaurant is truly five star, I have already recommended it to many friends and to anyone else looking to have a really classy experience.

    by caseykaden, 5/4/10
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Anaheim White House Review

    Anyone interested in really having a wonderful and luxurious dinner to remember for a lifetime, the Anaheim White House is definitely the perfect choice. My birthday recently passed and my friends took me to the Anaheim White House Restaurant. This is my first time going and I was completely amazed at how beautiful it is. It looks like a beautiful colonial home on the outside, and is beautifully furnished with classy antique furniture. It really takes you back in time. Aside from its amazing looks of luxury, the service and food were amazing too. Our waiter was great in helping me make my dinner choices. I chose a couple of different plates, however, the Seafood Ravioli Soup was spectacular! I had never tried anything of the sort in the past and was amazed at how delicious it really was. Our experience here really made my birthday one to remember. The entire dinner, from the location to the service and food was amazing.

    by subworks, 5/4/10
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Anaheim White House Review

    I am a very picky eater and rarely fully enjoy a restaurant experience because I always tend to find something that didn’t quite fit my taste. This past birthday my friends decided to give Anaheim White House Restaurant a shot to impress me. From the moment that we walked in the door I was absolutely stunned with how beautiful the restaurant is. We were seated quickly and the waiter was ready to assist us immediately. The wine list is great and we chose nice red wine that the waiter recommended. The menu is so broad that anyone can find something that will fit their taste. I definitely recommend the Seafood Ravioli Soup, it’s different and delicious. It was my first time trying it and was impressed. Very delicious. The food was served quickly and the waiter stood close by and filled our glasses quickly without disturbing us. The entire experience was great and I look forward to the next time that we dine there. I recommend it regularly to anyone interested in a classy place with delicious food and great service.

    by HarrisonLogan, 5/5/10
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Anaheim White House Review

    Outstanding food. Perfect. A nice way to make sure that your Special Night is really a hit. The White House is quite a pleasant experience; the house itself and the decor are all just simply amazing. The food was excellent and so was the service. The experience was simply great.

    by Mike_Sullivan, 5/15/10

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Anaheim White House

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums