Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Angeles Hotels

Ramada Plaza West Hollywood

Pros

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to nightlife
  • Friendly staff

Cons

  • Street noise and soundproofing issues
  • Shaded pool
  • Parking fees

Updated 04/01/2014

Fodor's Review

Popular with tour groups, this Ramada outlet has a prime West Hollywood location, close to the Sunset Strip. Although the exterior is vibrantly colorful, inside the decor shows wear and tear and the guest room air-conditioners can be noisy. However, its location and its party vibe guarantee sold-out holiday weekends. Halloween is particularly raucous. Parking is an extra $27 per night—unusually steep for such a modest establishment.

Hotel Information

Address:

8585 Santa Monica Blvd., West Hollywood, California, 90069, USA

Map It

Phone:

310-652–6400; 800-272–6232

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 131 rooms, 45 suites

Updated 04/01/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Los Angeles

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By DavidZ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2012

Ramada Plaza West Hollywood Review

My wife gave birth three months ago by Cesarean section and we had our family in from Chicago staying around the corner, at the Ramada Inn West Hollywood on Santa Monica Boulevard. I am a pediatrician and teach on faculty at UCLA. When we stay at hotels in Los Angeles, we usually stay at The W in downtown Los Angeles, or in Westwood as we’re Starwood Preferred Guest members, but because my family couldn’t afford the W, we had them stay in the

most convenient and cost effective hotel in our neighborhood so that they could attend the joy of my daughter’s birth. Unfortunately, my wife had an experience this morning with the Ramada Inn West Hollywood that leaves me furious. She took a short walk with our infant in her stroller and had to use the restroom in a hurry. My wife has had complications after her C-section, including bleeding. She stopped in the Ramada Inn West Hollywood and saw a women’s restroom four feet from the front desk. She asked the Front Desk clerk (a blonde guy) whether she might use the restroom. This employee told her, “no, it’s for registered guests only.” My wife told him it was an emergency. She said that she had just had a baby. He peered around the corner to verify that there was an infant in her stroller. “Ma’am, there’s a Starbucks around the corner.” My wife told him she was bleeding. “If you’re bleeding, you’ll need to walk down to the Emergency Room at Cedars-Sinai hospital.” My wife begged him to use the restroom quickly and was told no. She took a step toward the restroom. The employee looked to his right and left and asked, “ma’am, do I have to call security?” My wife left in tears. After working up the courage to return to ask for the employee’s name, she was greeted by another Front Desk clerk named Amir. She asked for the blonde man’s name. “Adam.” When she asked for his last name, she was told that that information is privileged and for registered guests only. My wife told Amir that her sister-in-law and her family had just stayed in the hotel. “What’s their last name?” She told him my sister’s last name and he looked through his computer to tell her, “No, ma’am, no one by that name has ever stayed here.” She asked to leave a comment. He began to hand over a comment card sitting on the Front Desk, and then snatched it back. “Comments are to be left by registered guests only.” My wife left again terribly upset. She’s upset by the way she looks and feels after her pregnancy. She feels as if she was treated like an insane homeless person waiting to vandalize the restroom. Our family has stayed here in the recent past, but you can be sure that neither our immediate nor our extended family will stay here ever again.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2005

This is 3 star hotel in USA???????

I stayed there for five nights only two weeks ago - on the basis of a 'deal' made with Qantas airlines - there were a lot of angry Aussies huddled in the "restaurant" Panini every morning - it is not what they advertise. The '5 on-site restaurants' are actually on the street, not accesible from the hotel and they are a Starbucks, a Jamba Juice (juice bar), a Topz (like a Subway) and a cafe serving truly horrible food caled Panini (which is also where

the room service comes from.) The fifth restaurant WAS a proper restaurant and bar but was sold (by the new owners of the site) to a Wells Fargo Bank which now occupies the site - so they have simply failed to inform sites like this. Except for the concierge named Hugo (who was lovely and could not help enough), the staff were sullen and unhelpful, getting information from them was like blood from a stone. It cost us $13.70 to call home and say "Hi, I'm at the hotel, call me" The promised internet access in the rooms had been off for weeks and they could not tell me when it would be back on. The standard rooms are NOTHING like the pictures they have submitted to sites like this. Very low ceilings with dark grey dirty wall-papered-walls and the bathrooms had tiny, plastic baths with shower curtains which stuck to you when you try to shower. The room and bathroom are as clean as they can be but they are stained and in desperate need of renovation - particularly for the price we paid. If you are willing to pay their rates for 2 star MOTEL standard purely because of it's location (which is pretty good) then go for it - but just don't expect the same standards as, say, the Ramamda Plaza in Beijing - think a best Western that knows it's the only one for miles and doesn't have to try too hard.

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2003

Location... yes, but noise and heat, yikes!

Okay, the location is good, within walking distance of restaurants, nightlife (!) and even shopping at the Beverly Center, provided you don't have any heavily laden bags. But if you arrive earlier than the posted check in time, don't expect any sympathy from the front desk. There's insufficient parking on site for the number of guests (it's been like that on half a dozen different occasions I've stayed there). On a comfort level, there's a lot of

inter-room noise, even just from people tramping around in the room above or next door. And what's with those ancient GE air conditioners? The whole place is like an oven, and it extends to the rooms. You have to leave this lumbering, noisy machine running flat out on "cold" all night just to keep the room at somewhere below 75 degrees. At least it drowns out the noise from the other rooms!

Read More

By Jeremy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2002

Star Spotting in West Hollywood

Read many of the comments here before booking. Decided to stay albeit with trepidation due to all the things I had read. Spotted two 'stars' inside and outside the hotel - the only ones I saw on my whole trip of LA. The staff were friendly and the room was clean. The only real criticism was of the carpet - now where did they find that? and where did they manage to find matching bed spreads??

By Louise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 21, 2001

Mirrors everywhere, what the...?

This hotel has a real city feel although it is well away from the action, unless you are looking for gay action and then it would be perfect. As a family of four we had a pleasant stay. The pool is lovely and the service within the hotel is fine, the desk staff very helpful. Steer clear of Du-pars resturant unless you want to pay too much and be forced at penpoint by the rude waiter to tip well over 15%. We got a good breakfast down th eroad at the

local Starbucks and Jamba Juice bar. The room was quite small but with a full wall mirror on two sides which gave theillusion of space and was fun for late nite monkey business but certainly had the kids asking questions!! All up we really only slept here and the beds were fine.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 8, 2001

Pathetic is too good a comment

Our fun started when we were given keys to someone else's room when checking in. After we finally obtained keys to an unoccupied room, we found clothes on the floor left from a previous occupant (and housekeeping had already cleaned the room!) We brought the clothes to the desk clerk, who was busy flirting with another male, and explained that they were left by another guest. Would you believe that when reviewing my bill the next day (on the TV),

I discovered that they CHARGED ME FOR CLEANING THE CLOTHES. After 3 days of having to call for toilet tissue, towels or the like which housekeeping decided we didn't need, we checked out. Those were three days in hotel hell. The restaurant at the hotel was unbelievably bad. Our waiter could barely speak English, could not answer what the vegetable of the day was, only that it was green but did not know what it was called. Our food tasted like a frozen dinner that was partially thawed. We moved to the Beverly Hills Inn,which turned out to be comparable in price since breakfast was included with the room. It was classy and comfortable.

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2001

Great Location

Walking distance to the West Hollywood night life. Great location!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement