Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Angeles Hotels

Mondrian Los Angeles

Pros

  • Pool, spa, and nighttime social scene mean never having to leave the property

Cons

  • Pricy valet parking only
  • Late-night party scene
  • Inflated prices

Updated 04/01/2014

Fodor's Review

A city club attitude pervades at the spendy Mondrian Los Angeles, where everything from the artsy headboards to the mirrors are for sale. Socializing begins in the lobby bar and lounge, extends through the new Herringbone L.A. restaurant, and then moves out onto the sparkly patio to the brand-new cabanas surrounding the pool. Hotel guests gain access to the Sky Bar—still a scene most weekend nights. Designer Benjamin Noriega completely redid the rooms, adding bamboo

floors and an oversize mirror that swivels to reveal a flat-screen TV. Bathrooms have a convenient wall of hooks, pocket door, and rain showerhead. Sheer curtains hide the closet. Windows are now double-pane for quiet—a good thing as street noise from Sunset Boulevard is constant to the north and the pool and Sky Bar echo with party people year-round to the south.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

8440 Sunset Blvd., West Hollywood, California, 90069, USA

Map It

Phone:

323-650–8999; 800-606–6090

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 54 rooms, 183 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/01/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Los Angeles

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Joey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 24, 2004

lived up to my expectations

stayed at sanderson in london and while it wasnt at funky it was still beautiful and clean. room was nice with a good view. asia de cuba is excellent as is the skybar/outdoor lounge. for the hip crowd. not for the family

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2003

Are you hip enough??

My wife and I love L.A. and this is a super location-- really has the feel-- we're in our 50's but young at heart. They still made us welcome. The room was freshly painted, couldn't get a move, but the windows open. The pool is too much a scene to swim in. Would probably stay here, but might try Argyle (almost next door) based on raves.

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 18, 2002

See and be seen but that's all!

Lobby, bar, pool and Asia De Cuba are everything you would expect. Terrific on all counts! Too bad the rooms don't compare. Carpets are old and bathrooms very dated. Not worth the room rates - you can do much better in LA.

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 25, 2002

Access Is Everything!

Stay here because it is your only way to get into LA's hottest bar, Sky Bar. Yeah the rooms are nice but the attraction is that you are at THE place everyone else wants to be at when the Sun goes down.

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 10, 2002

come for drinks but stay elsewhere

The public areas are great, but the rooms are small, and the bathroom is from a two star hotel, and that is a fact.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2002

Place to be seen.

Just returned from a weekend. The room was on the 10th floor and it was a suite with a balcony. The reason I agave the room a 2 is because the carpet should have been replaced about a year ago, and secondly but most importantly they should clean the bathroom floor more often. When I checked in there was a button from the previous guest shirt on the bathroom floor. Five days later the button was still there along with the stains that had been there

since I got there. The atmosphere is great. Asia de Cuba is excellent. I have been to the Asia de Cuba in New York and San Francisco and both could not compare to this one. The chef is definately doing something right. Because of the price of the room and it being somewhat below the standard of cleanliness I rated it average. If they would spruce up the room a little then it may be worth the price. The pool was great along with the service. Ask for Joanne a beautiful Puerto Rican beauty. She is the best.

Read More

By Peggy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2001

FUN !!!

I'll stay here again & hopefully again & again. This place is sooo much fun. Our service was great on all levels and we're nobody special.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement