Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Angeles Hotels

Peninsula Beverly Hills

  • 9882 S. Santa Monica Blvd. Map It
  • $$$$
  • Luxurious Retreat
  • Fodor's Choice
  • Courtesy of The Peninsula Beverly Hills

  • Courtesy of The Peninsula Beverly Hills

  • Courtesy of The Peninsula Beverly Hills

  • Courtesy of The Peninsula Beverly Hills

  • Courtesy of The Peninsula Beverly Hills

2014 Hotel
Award Winner 2014

Pros

  • Central, walkable Beverly Hills location
  • Stunning flower arrangements
  • One of the best concierges in the city

Cons

  • Serious bucks required to stay here
  • Room decor might feel too ornate for some

Updated 08/05/2014

Fodor's Review

This French Rivera–style palace is a favorite of Hollywood bold-face names, but all kinds of visitors consistently describe their stay as near perfect—though expensive. Recently renovated rooms still overflow with antiques, artwork, and marble; high-tech room amenities, room temperature, and flat-screen TV are controlled by a bedside panel. Service is exemplary and always discreet. Soak up the sun by the fifth-floor pool with its fully outfitted cabanas or sip afternoon

tea in the living room under ornate chandeliers. Belvedere, the hotel's flower-filled restaurant, is a lunchtime favorite for film-business types. A complimentary Rolls-Royce is available for short jaunts in Beverly Hills.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

9882 S. Santa Monica Blvd., Beverly Hills, California, 90212, USA

Map It

Phone:

310-551–2888; 800-462–7899

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 142 rooms, 37 suites, 16 villas
  • No meals

Updated 08/05/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Los Angeles

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 20, 2012

Wonderful getaway!

We loved everything about this hotel! The location is great walking distance to Rodeo Drive and area. The service at this hotel is top-notch. We have never experienced such service! They call you by name. They always had a complimentary car available to us. The rooms are spacious and equiped with everything you need. Very comfortable and quiet. Turn down service is great. They even personalized the pillow cases with our initials! Food was great! Pool

and poolside service was great! I have not one complaint. You will feel like royality here. It was so depressing to have to leave.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2009

Underwhelmed

Went for a special one night birthday treat, stayed in a villa room with fireplace. The room was cozy and nice, but not spectacular, nor as immaculate as it should've been, though it was definitely the highest price I've ever paid for a hotel room... Nice, but not nearly as nice as the Beverly Hills Hotel, where the room was nicer and service was also so much friendlier ... I definitely felt the treatment was at the Peninsula was a bit condescending

because I was a "nobody". (Have never gotten that feeling from other 5 star hotels.) All in all, wished I would've stayed somewhere else. Not sure why it's supposedly one of the world's best...

Read More

By Libby

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 2, 2006

Not worth $475 a night!

We were able to get a "discounted" rate of 475/night here for a two night stay, what a waste of money! The hotel is nice, but the rooms need updating. I noticed that carpets had stains, the room had a smell of stale smoke, just not what a 5 star hotel should be. Next time, we will go back to the Beverly Hills Hotel.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2005

Sweet Suites don't come cheap.. but you get what you pay for

Truly first class and special. My wife and I are reluctant to check into large suites at hotels we don't know.. if we pick the wrong place we have a poor trip and squander alot money in the process. This hotel was a *very* pleasant surprise. We couldn't find alot of current reviews relating to the suites, probably because their clientelle don't get chatty on travel message boards. How expensive is this place? Large suites with extra rooms for the

kids will set you back many thousands each night. We had little choice of configuration because several guests apparently stay in these suites months at a time! What does their discerning clientele see in this hotel?.. The subtle touches that are very difficult to find elsewhere, or to put your finger on. Terrific food and unique snacks everywhere in the room and through room service, large comfortable spaces furnishings/fixtures that feel like a luxury home, not a hotel. A staff that ignores you to provide privacy, but then hops to attention like a personal army or task-force when you need assistance. Ample security. We travel with 2 young children and this place was perfectly accomodating. They knew when we needed them and knew when to leave us alone. Hotel people were everywhere. If you are the type of person who gets tummy-butterflies when you get the bill you may find some reason to gripe; but if you really don't care what it costs and you want to be treated perfectly, then THIS is "the" Beverly Hills hotel for you.. if you are lucky enough to find a large enough room that is. We asked to reserve the suite above ours to be closer to the pool for our next stay, however the guest in that suite is staying for a year. 'That' speaks volumes in our opinion.

Read More

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2003

World Class but Showing its age

This is often rated the top hotel in the country for service. You'll notice it right away as you pull up to the front door. The service on our four night stay was exceptional but you will see the hotel showing its age in quite a few places. The Peninsula magazine had a feature that they were about to begin some needed remodeling. The carpet is worn, the drapes are tired and what was once a world class spa is so cramped there is hardly room to move

about. The location, walking distance from Rodeo drive almost makes up for it. I'm sure it will soon warrent 5 stars across the board again.

Read More

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2002

The Peninsula Beverly Hills is Tops

My wife and I are lucky in that we have stayed in some of the nicest hotels in the world. However the Peninsula in Beverly Hills is tops, from the elegant rooms to the beautiful arrangement of flowers and fruit delivered on your arrival. The roof top pool is like a little oasis and my massage at the spa was probably the best I've had. In addition the staff bend over to be helpful and are always extremely friendly. Yes the price of admission is high

but you get what you pay for. Oh did I mention the chauffered courtesy Rolls Royce limos.

Read More

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2002

We won't be back soon.

This place was a paradox and therefor, very difficult to rate. Let me try to explain briefly. The room was very nice and very well appointed, though it lacked a view. However, the carpet, although appearing clean, was faded and worn in both our room and hallway. A shock to me for a "5 star" hotel. The service was excellent, top-rate, no question, as good as I've ever experienced (and we get around). I challenge you to call for your car and beat it

to the door! However,I had a camcorder & CD player stolen from inside my closed but unlocked suitcases by a member of their staff. So how can I rate the service the 5, which it otherwise surely deserved. Neither was the hotel's response to the theft entirely satisfactory. The workout room was cramped and barely adequate. Given our experience, we'll try another hotel the next time we're back in L.A.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2001

Stay here. Even if you hate L.A. Stay here.

We just returned from a getaway weekend trip to the Peninsula Beverly Hills. We were completely amazed. Everything, from the resturants, the lobby, to the rooms, health club, and pool were amazing. The rooms were so well made and clean it was amazing. It seemed if you were staying a penthouse on 5th avenue. I never saw a hotel room look so well made and cared for than this place. There are bed side controls to control light, alarm, nightlights,

and they have buttons for Do Not Disturb and Clean Room. The bed was huge and so so comfortable with the best linens. The couch was really comfortable and the french doors were really classy. The pink marble bathroom was beautiful with a glass-enclosed shower and a huge bathtub. The rest of the hotel was also really beautiful. The lobby was very small and intimate, the library was really pretty with very comfortable couches, the bar was excellent, and the belvedire had the best breakfast I ever had. Even the health club and pool were beautiful and so very well kept up. The service was excellent. Even better than the Four Seasons. The front desk, the concierge, the health club attendees, and the restaurant staff were very excellent. What was also a plus was that they had a complimentary rolls royce service to rodeo drive. We really loved that. Also the 24 hour room policy was a great idea! You seriously do not want to leave the hotel at all. Even though the hotel is expensive, it IS worth the money. To sum it up, it is a beautiful, perfect hotel.

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2001

SIMPLY TOPS!

This hotel is hard to beat. I travel the world and this is up at the top with a few others. The rooms are nice and spacious - get the grand deluxe, or villa - and the staff very attentive. The beds are the most comfortable I have slept in anywhere in the world, I just melt into sleep with those fabulous linens and wonderful bed. The restaurant is excellent and the room service very good. For a break, the spa is fantastic. The pool is nice, but

can get crowded on the weekends in good weather. Simply stated from someone who travels the world, this is in my top 5!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement