Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Angeles Hotels

Beverly Hills Hotel

  • 9641 Sunset Blvd. Map It
  • Grande Dame

Pros

  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Legendary, retro 20-seat Fountain Coffee room is a fun spot for dining with the stars

Cons

  • Pricey fare at the Polo Lounge

Updated 04/01/2014

Fodor's Review

Remarkably still at the top of her game, the "Pink Palace" continues to attract Hollywood's elite after 100 years. Celebrity guests favor the private bungalows; most others come for the "royal" treatment by staff and the chance to dress up and play the part of celebrity. Recently upgraded standard rooms are also nothing to sneeze at, with original artwork, butler service, custom-made linens and duvets, walk-in closets, and huge marble bathrooms. Swiss skin-care company

La Prairie runs the hotel's swanky day spa, which specializes in de-aging treatments. The Polo Lounge remains an iconic Hollywood meeting place. Bar Nineteen 12 is a most contemporary addition. The splashy new pool, cabanas, and Cabana Cafe are the place to be on warm L.A. afternoons. Canine guests are also pampered here; 24-hour dog-walking service is available.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

9641 Sunset Blvd., Beverly Hills, California, 90210, United States

Map It

Phone:

310-276–2251; 800-283–8885

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 145 rooms, 38 suites, 23 bungalows
  • No meals

Updated 04/01/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Los Angeles

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 5, 2007

a special vibe

this was our 3rd stay at bhh. we love it here. this hotel has a very special vibe that's hard to describe. the service is practically flawless (no matter who you are) and the environment is elegant and serene. we spent two nights here and two nights at the wilshire. two very different experiences (both good) but i have to say I prefer the bhh.

By Ken

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 7, 2006

Celebrity Central!!!!

We booked one of the bungalow suites for our Los Angeles leg of our honeymoon (the week after we flew to Maui) very costly $1,100 a night but within three days of arriving at the hotel we saw actor Sean Penn and Ozzy Osbourne with his wife Sharon. I guess this place to see and be seen in LA.

By Todd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2006

If You Can, Then You must

Oh, my - What a place. Get the Deluxe Suite, with the fireplace, and you'll never want to leave. The service here was the best I've ever encountered. The hotel itself is an elegant, tropical oasis in the heart of residential Beverly Hills, a 10-minute walk through the mansions from Rodeo Drive. It's very well-maintained, and posh without being too formal or stuffy. And you truly feel like royalty with each and every staff encounter, even if you're

not pulling up in a Bentley or Aston. Yes, it's quite pricey - but so are the Regent (not unlike most upscale hotels in NYC), the Beverly Hilton (Rat Pack chic), or the Chateau Marmont (shabby, and not chic, unless you really want to pay for a glimpse of Lindsey Lohan). Trust me on this one. You actually get MORE than you pay for.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2006

One of the best hotels in the world

The Beverly Hills Hotel is stunning, even in their standard guest room, they offer top quality amenities. I stayed here for a week to visit a friend at UCLA, and from the moment I arrived, to the time I left, they treated me like royalty. Of course, you'll pay for all this service, rooms START at $430 a night and go up to over $5,000 for the presidential suite.

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2005

As Good As It Gets!

This hotel is flawless, staff treat everyone like royalty and every whim is catered to. We stayed in a suite for two nights, which was VERY expensive, but very nice, we decided to treat ourselves for our 20th anniversary. The suite was $990 per night, plus the high sales tax which was almost 16%, so for two nights and a room service dinner we got a bill for $2,510. But hey you only live once!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2004

More than just a hotel...

This place has real atmosphere along with all the luxuries of a 5 star hotel. The service here is tremendous, the rooms are pretty and beautifully kept, the landscaping and location are gorgeous! We stayed for our anniversary and found chocolate covered strawberries and good champagne on ice waiting for us in our room! This really is a great hotel!

By Alan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2003

Better Than 5 Stars

This hotel is heaven on Earth, and I don't say that lightly. I have stayed at the George V Four Seasons in Paris, Savoy in London, Peninsula Hotels and Mandarin Oriental Hotels and The Beverly Hills Hotel equals and perhaps even tops them all. The rooms are large, gorgeous and very comfortable. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a large private patio that was as big as the room itself. It had a marble fireplace and plasma-screen TV. The staff

was GREAT. Before arrival I was concerned that it might be a snobbish place, but it turned out to be nothing of the sort. Staff treated us warmly and did everything we asked for. Since my birthday occurred during my stay, two friends called the hotel and ordered a birthday cake and bottle of champagne to be delivered to my room as a surprise. When it was delivered they sang happy birthday to me. The hotel's pool is beautiful - and what history! Every star has sat around this pool at one time or another. The pool guys are handsome, friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend renting a private cabana ($175/day) for the best pool experience. There are only about a dozen, so call ahead to reserve one at busy times. You get a private cabana with two changing rooms, stocked with fresh fruit and bottled water, and you get four pool chairs for your private use (and umbrella if you want to be shielded from the sun). The people on the other side of the pool are not supposed to come into this private area. The hotel has a complimentary limousine service between 9am to 7pm daily, on a first come first served basis. Note that they only deliver you to a destination within 3 miles (getting back to the hotel is up to you). The hotel is expensive (want a shirt pressed? It's $11.00!) but on the whole I felt it was worth every penny and cannot wait to go back. It's heaven.

Read More

By Vicky

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2003

Watch out for, Emory, the snooty desk girl

I'm a flight attendant that escaped the cold of Boston with my 4 children. We stayed only 1 night and 1 full day, and were treated very nice by pool staff, maids etc. My only complaint was , Emory, a desk attendant in the lobby. I was quite unimpressed with how she embarrassed her co-worker in front of me at check-out. Clearly, her co-worker was new and had some monor problems on the computer with our bill. Emory was summoned to help, and totally

berated her co-worker's computer "mess" in front of me and my 8 year old daughter; the new employee was humiliated. Very unprofessional and downright mean. Besides this episode, we enjoyed the hotel, the perfect weather, my kids got a "VIP" card to flash around the hotel and received free soft drinks (very exciting) and upon check-in our room was all ready for their bedtime with teddy bears and cookies awaiting them. Cabanas are expensive to rent (175.00/day) and there were no chaise chairs in them, just sitting chairs. All in all, a VERY nice place, but perhaps will try The Four Seasons next time to be closer to shopping.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2002

Didn't stay here, but went to conference

I didn't stay here (stayed at Regent Beverly Wilshire, which was first class all the way)... but was surprised at how Beverly Hills Hotel seemed to need updating. The place is legendary, but seemed to me overrated. The conference room and facilities were outdated; and even worse, had faded upholstery and a backed-up, inoperative toilet in the VIP room. In general, it seemed like a country club who's heydey was 20 years ago.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2002

A classic hotel, worth the extra bucks!

This hotel is steeped in history and charm but is not as pretentious as one would imagine. Sure, there are lot's of Hollywood types and tons of wannabee's running around, but the hotel stands on it's own merit with outstanding service and attention to detail (they clearly took a page from the Four Seasons book). If you have the money and want to make the most of your LA/Hollywood experience, I think this hotel is worth it.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2000

Simply the best!

I have stayed in many first class hotels around the world, however, the Beverly Hills Hotel is in a league of its own, it has something special.

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2000

I felt like a celebrity

We stayed in the gardens in a bungalow suite. It felt like a slice of paradise in the middle of Los Angeles. Celebrities were everywhere you looked. We tried not to "gawk" and just blend in. The service was a level I has never experienced before.

By bonnie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2000

when i win the lottery . . .

absolutely one of the best hotels and best examples of quality service in the u.s. when i win the lottery i'm moving into the beverly hills hotel

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement