Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Angeles Hotels

Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

  • 404 S. Figueroa St. Map It
  • Practical Base

Pros

  • Numerous restaurants including Korean barbecue
  • An Asian-theme spa with shiatsu or chair massage
  • Revolving rooftop lounge is a classic experience

Cons

  • Massive hotel might feel too corporate
  • Mazelike lobby and public areas

Updated 04/01/2014

Fodor's Review

To keep up with the energizing of downtown this historic, five-tower, 35-story property—L.A.'s largest hotel—recently underwent a $32 million renovation of its rooms and lobby. Inside the futuristic lobby are fountains, an indoor lake, an indoor track, and 12 glass elevators. Color-coded hotel floors and numerous signs help newcomers navigate the hotel, which takes up a city block. Standard rooms are on the small side, but the suites are expansive and come with practical

extras such as two-line speaker phones and ergonomic office chairs. All rooms have floor-to-ceiling windows, many with terrific views. The hotel is a favorite with NHL teams and business travelers.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

404 S. Figueroa St., Los Angeles, California, 90071, United States

Map It

Phone:

213-624–1000; 866-716–8132

Website: www.westin.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 1,354 rooms, 135 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/01/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Los Angeles

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2008

HIGHLY OVERRATED

Highly overrated. Lots of fancy promo buzz words, but the reality does not equal their esteemed opinion of themselves. This morning the Dish Network was not working. The desk is too high to be able to work on it. The chairs are more like the kind you'd find in a lobby bar, and unsuitable for working. The air conditioning is weird, a water system that only provides what they want to provide. Guest has no choice about heating or cooling or maintaining

a steady temperature. The electrical outlets for one's computer are not conveniently located. In order to use my computer, had to buy an extension cord. Plugs for power are way too far away from the table that's meant to be a desk. The hotel's Restaurants are very high priced, really accessible to expense account folks only. No hot tub with the swimming pool.   One can certainly do better elsewhere, and next time i will.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 14, 2008

Bonaventure IS A DUMP!!

The property is in bad shape, the food and service are inept and poor, the location stinks and the rooms were very bad. We were in a suite that we immediately moved - fridge on the floor, no room safe, carpet stained and gross, rotted counter top. Avoid this snake pit and stay elsewhere if you must be downtown (Biltmore or Wilshire Grand). How can Westin allow this disgrace to continue under its good name!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2007

Some antiques are here...

This hotel was proposed for participants at a medical congress. Arrived from France at 8'50 we were first proposed a room in the middle tower at the 14th floor...Beware, this is the tower where reign vending and ice machines and they are ANTIQUES with a NOISE that we've only a few time in our travel's life... We were removed to the 1051 in a lateral tower : a small room in size for 3 but they were sold out...And this is the 1st floor of the guest

rooms and so just above the ventilation machinery of the lobby : some little noise more.. As we request a room in a upper floor come the "sentence" : as you check in late you've got the last room...Even if I was a starwood member and mail of confirmation in hand- I've reserved the 1st day of the opening reservation site WITH A CONFIRMATION of the hotel... So, nice location, but a property which has its age, old... Erik.

Read More

By leesw8

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2006

a comfortable base in downtown LA

I have stayed at the Westin Bonaventure a few times - having always got a bargain rate through Priceline - and have never been disappointed. The only downside is the cost of parking at $25 per day - with only valet parking available. Rooms have floor to ceiling glass and are comfortable. Heavenly beds are heavenly. Yes, the hotel is probably showing its age now, and the design was of its day, but with Priceline rate's sometimes as low as $50-$60

per night - where can you get a better room!

Read More

By Gene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2002

Avoid like a plague!

I never stayed at a hotel that is so disgusting and overpriced. Rooms are small, dirty and stinky. At one time they must have had an in-room bar; the only thing left is crusted, iced over, empty refrigerator. They have no soda or snack machines. If you get hungry, try the overpriced room service for a stale salad. The “famous” rooftop-rotating restaurant is dump. You have no view at all because buildings that are way taller surround the hotel.

Walls are scratched; watered down drinks in cheap souvenir mugs will cost you more than 10 dollars. If you are coming looking for the famous “Heavenly Bed” you will be disappointed. The beds and the bedding are worse than in a cheap motel. The location is also far from the best. If you want to see Beverly Hills, get ready to shell out 20$ for a cab. The hotel has no gym to speak of just a tiny hot cramped room with a few aerobic machines. You will have to stand in line to get on one. If at all possible, avoid this dump and spend your money somewhere else.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 14, 2002

Not coming back

I won't stay at the Westin Bonaventure again. The whole experience is underwhelming. The check-in staff don't make eye contact and are not pleasant to talk to. The foyer smells of cigarette smoke. The rooms are run-down and badly need renovation. I found the restaurant waiters surly - as if my being there was a problem. The laundry prices are extortion. The car park attendants are good, however. Park you car here but stay elsewhere!

By Jamie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 14, 2002

spend the money to get a suite

This is a nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. However, the standard rooms are quite small and the beds aren't great. Spend the extra money to upgrade to an executive suite with heavenly bed.

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 19, 2001

Vastly overrated

How this hotel gets away with charging the rates it does is a mystery. It has about as much luxury as a pre-renovation Holiday Inn. Walls are thin, vending machines aren't refilled, wallpaper is peeling, housekeeping is shoddy. I have had to stay there 3 years in a row now for a conference and each year it gets worse. The mall concourse downstairs is largely empty, the businesses that remain are seldom open.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement