Lake Tahoe Hotels

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Black Bear Inn Bed and Breakfast

At a Glance

    Pros

  • intimate
  • serene, woodsy grounds
  • within walking distance of good restaurants

    Cons

  • not appropriate for children under 16
  • pricey

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Black Bear Inn Bed and Breakfast Review

South Lake Tahoe's most luxurious inn feels like one of the grand old lodges of the Adirondacks. Its great room has rough-hewn beams, plank floors, cathedral ceilings, Persian rugs, and even an elk's head over the giant river-rock fireplace. Built in the 1990s with meticulous attention to detail, the five inn rooms and four cabins feature 19th-century American antiques, fine art, and fireplaces; cabins also have kitchenettes. Never intrusive, the affable innkeepers provide a sumptuous breakfast in the morning and wine and cheese in the afternoon.

    Hotel Details

  • 5 rooms, 4 cabins.
  • Rate includes breakfast.
Updated: 03-22-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Black Bear Inn Bed and Breakfast Review

    We just returned from a delightful long weekend at the Black Bear Inn in Lake Tahoe. This is certainly a five star establishment in every sense of the word. The main lodge has a soaring ceiling in the spacious main room. An enormous fireplace burns night and day….there are also fireplaces in the individual rooms with remote controls located handily by the bed. A floor to ceiling bay window gives a view of the park-like setting for the private cabins on the property. Several huge pine trees had to be taken down when they grew dangerously large. Instead of cutting the stumps to the ground, a woodcarving artist made beautiful and whimsical animals emerging from the tree stumps. Of course there is also a hot tub located among the animals.
    So many bed and breakfasts offer only muffins, juice , and coffee. The Black Bear offered us a choice of eggs benedict, served with fresh ham-wrapped asparagus, cheese grits, and fresh fruit or a breakfast with salmon. Since we don’t like salmon, we don’t know what came with it.
    The owners Jerry and Kevin certainly know how to make their guests feel welcome. It’s obvious that they enjoy meeting people and making sure that they have a good time. They brought out an assortment of cheeses and appetizers to go with the wine and encouraged folks to sit by the fire and have a chat or simply relax with a newspaper or book.
    We had dinner at the Black Bear on Saturday night. It was prepared by the talented chef and his wife who cook on a prearranged basis. Not only was the meal delicious, but the presentation was beautiful.
    The Black Bear is located on Ski Run Road which (as the name implies) goes directly up the mountain to the ski lift. We were told that during ski season, a shuttle stops in front to take skiers to the lift. Going the other way, we took the ten minute walk to the lake to work up an appetite before breakfast. This place is a little bit of heaven and we’ll be back. Jim and Debbie October 15, 2010

    by jfarmer, 10/16/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Black Bear Inn Bed and Breakfast Review

    I stayed at the inn Oct. 8-10th of 2010. We were a group of old friends that had not seen each other in 20 years. It was a remarkable experience and the Black Bear Inn was the reason. I have stayed at a Bed and Breakfast many times but always found the breakfast thin. Not here. We also ordered a five star dinner one night that was as good as it gets. The Inn is perfect. The owners, Jerry and Kevin, provided a warm, comfortable, and very stylish experience.
    I cannot wait for the ski season to start so I can return to the Black Bear Inn. Fabulous!

    by Charlie_Daboub, 10/12/10
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Perfect!!

    We stayed at Black Bear Inn in August 2008. From the moment we arrived until our too-soon departure, all was exactly as we had hoped. The breakfast each morning was not only to-die-for but also picture perfect too! And the wine and hors d'oeuvres gathering in the afternoon was a wonderful way to end the day in beautiful Lake Tahoe. The restaurant recommendations for dinner each night (we chose Cafe Fiore', Mirabelle and Evan's) were all 5-star, each different in atmosphere but all delightful and delicious. The location of the Inn is convenient to many activities, a short walk or drive, but is in a secluded area away from the hustle and bustle of the main streets. We stayed in one of the cabins and felt like we were in our own private antique-furnished cabin in the woods. We also toured the rooms in the lodge which were equally tranquil and beautifully furnished. Jerry, Kevin and their staff strive to make their guests feel at home and they truly succeed. We will definitely visit Black Bear Inn again...and again...and again.

    by BanksTX, 10/6/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Absolutely WONDERFUL!

    We stayed at the Black Bear Inn in last weekend and I can say, without a doubt, this was one of the most wonderful experiences we've had while travelling. Jerry and Kevin, the innkeepers, have created a beautiful oasis in South Lake Tahoe that, in my opinion, rivals some of the best hotels in this country. The Inn and rooms are furnished with beautiful antiques and everything was spotless. We stayed in the Fallen Leaf room which has a small balcony overlooking the beautifully manicured grounds. The bathroom was large & well equipped. The room had a large television and a DVD player - you can choose from what appears to be over 100 DVD's from their library to watch during your stay.
    The evening wine & appetizer hour allowed us to meet the other guests each evening - we looked forward to returning to the Inn each evening simply for the company! It was like coming home to see family (ok, better than family) after a day of sight seeing. The breakfasts each morning are incredibly delicious - served on china with beautiful table linens. I highly recommend buying their cookbook as you will want to recreate these meals at home - they were THAT good.
    The attention to detail at this Inn is top notch. Every detail has been thought of you and you are made to feel like you are a very special guest. You really do need to experience it first

    by HavKidsWillTravel, 9/22/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Cozy Retreat

    I was looking for a cozy, tranquil get-away, and I certainly found it! Everything about this inn is impeccable. Whether I was sitting on the deck enjoying the beautiful grounds or curled up in a comfy leather chair enjoying a book, I couldn't have felt more peaceful and relaxed. Jerry and Kevin were wonderful and always helpful with recommendations. I'm still raving about the breakfasts I enjoyed there--simply out of this world!! I'm already planning my return; it was one of the best vacations ever!

    by baylorbetty, 7/19/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    the best of the best B & B

    We have stayed at the Black Bear Inn several times since discovering it in 2000. Each stay exceeds our expectations. The rooms (both the cabins and in the main lodge), the lodge, the food, the atmosphere all make your stay unforgettable. Your every need has been anticipated. Our most recent stay was to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Snowshoe Thompson cabin and had total privacy. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evening as it gave us a chance to meet the eclectic group of guests and compare adventures. Kevin and Jerry were most accommodating; from greeting us upon arrival to helping us locate the perfect restaurant for our anniversary dinner. We loved each breakfast so much I bought their cookbook. We look forward to our next visit to Tahoe and the Black Bear Inn.

    by tomftworth, 7/11/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    It's the only place we stay in Tahoe

    We’ve traveled the globe, and this is our favorite B&B anywhere. Hosts Jerry and Kevin provide a luxury setting and make you feel right at home. Part of the charm of staying at a B&B is feeling like you are staying in a home instead of a hotel, and this one is stunning. Lots of wood, stone, and western antiques. Each evening there is a wine and cheese happy hour, so fellow travelers can gather and compare notes on their day’s adventures. And their breakfasts are over the top. If you love good food and being pampered, we recommend the Black Bear Inn.

    by dallaspair, 6/26/08
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    The best bed and breakfast....

    For two teachers, our October break was made totally perfect by the lovely stay we had at the Black Bear Inn. We were greeted by Jerry, whom I soon found to be very charming, and next we met Kevin, who showed us to our room, and both charmed us with their talents in the kitchen. After two lovely days and nights, we found ourselves totally relaxed, rested, and nurtured by the atmosphere at Black Bear Inn. The room was perfect with a comfortable bed and a fireplace and balcony and a huge bathroom. Each breakfast was out of this world, so much so that I bought 3 cookbooks! I longed for nothing as we relaxed and got acquainted with the other guests. The dining area is very conducive to a very warm conversation with others, or not! The stay was too short and we are already plannning another trip!

    by dsiroky, 10/16/07
  • Room  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Romatic Getaway

    Perfect place for a romantic escape. Stayed in one of the finely detailed cabins, very comfortable beds, awesome breakfast, great service, and all around a very fine place to stay. Would definately recomend Black Bear Inn to anyone wanting to stay in a quiet place in South Lake Tahoe. Be sure to bring along a camera, the location is beautiful.

    by sldrp, 6/20/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

View more trip reports

· News & Features

View more blog stories