Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Lake Tahoe Restaurants

Evan's American Gourmet Cafe

  • 536 Emerald Bay Rd. Map It
  • Eclectic
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 02/25/2014

Fodor's Review

Its excellent service, world-class food, and superb wine list make this the top choice for high-end dining in South Lake. Inside a converted cabin, the restaurant serves creative American cuisine that includes catch-of-the-day seafood offerings and meat dishes such as rack of lamb marinated with rosemary and garlic and served with raspberry demi-glace. Some diners find the table spacing a tad close. Evan's is intimate, to be sure, but the food always pleases.

Restaurant Information

Address:

536 Emerald Bay Rd., Hwy. 89, at 15th St., South Lake Tahoe, California, 96150, United States

Map It

Phone:

530-542–1990

Website: evanstahoe.com

Restaurant Details:

  • No lunch

Updated 02/25/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Lake Tahoe

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By kimamom

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2007

Lovely Birthday Dinner at Evan's!

We chose Evan's for my birthday dinner while in South Lake Tahoe last week. The dining room is very pretty and we enjoyed the ambiance, the only one negative thing was that there were 2 large groups in the small dining room that at times were a bit noisy for those wanting an intimate meal. That being said, everything else was spot-on wonderful. We brought in a 1996 bottle of Silver Oak Cabernet Sauvignon which went perfectly with my Lamb Shank.

We also shared an appetizer of the prawns and the Duck Confit Spinach Salad with asagio cheese, both were delicious. My lamb shank was perfectly prepared, I don't order this too often, but it was amazing here and I will definitely order it again our next visit. For dessert we shared the Creme Brulee pie which was very good, presented with a candle which was a nice touch. A very nice fine dining venue in South Lake Tahoe.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 23, 2007

Simply Divine!

Our dinner at Evan's was, quite frankly, one of the top 10 best dinners we've ever had. The restaurant in housed in a small cottage, and has 10-12 tables. The ambiance is elegant but not stuffy, and very inviting. We were greeted warmly when we arrived, and treated like eagerly anticipated guests throughout the meal. Wait staff was friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Our meal was the absolute bomb! We were started off with an amusee of a small

crock of apple liver pate, which may have been the best I've ever had, and crostini. We wanted to try the soup of the day, which was a creamy three-mushroom soup, and ordered one bowl to share. When the soup arrived, they had already very considerately separated the order into two individual bowls for us...a very nice (and unasked for) touch. Following the soup, I had a fabulous and wonderfully unique salad of spinach, duck sausage, pancetta, shaved asagio cheese and pine nuts with a balsamic vinagrette dressing, which may have been the most wonderful salad I've ever put in my mouth. My husband had the pepper-seared carpaccio, with was to die for. For dinner, I had a wonderful duck with cherry sauce, and he had rack of lamb...both perfect. The crowning glory was my dessert of banana bread pudding brulee...Oh. My. Gawd. I just can't say enough good things about our dining experience at Evan's. The wine list was not huge, but had a lot of depth and excellent selections with a very reasonable markup. Our dinner, with two bottles of wine and a glass of champagne each, ran $195. We paid $600 for dinner at the French Laundry three months ago, and (in my opinion) the food was nowhere near as delicious (nor was the experience as warm and pleasant) as what we had at Evan's. Simply EVERYTHING was top notch. Do not miss this gem for fine dining in South Lake Tahoe!

Read More

By Lona

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 12, 2006

Order the "V" items

Dinner was fabulous! The appetizer pizza with "v" (venison) was so good...we're recreating it at home. The "v" (veal) was melt-in-your-mouth. The "v" (venison) dinner was a treat; loved the apple matchsticks on top. Service was impeccable. Dinner was not cheap but sure was worth it. One of our top 5 dinners ever!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 27, 2006

Brilliant Brussels Sprouts

We never miss dinner at Evan's on our annual week at Heavenly. Imagine a house in the woods near lakeside where you will experience new combinations of remarkably fresh ingredients and you will come up short until you go to Evans. Love Brussles sprouts? No? Wait until you have their shreaded Brussels sprout side dish that makes you want to skip the entree and have a whole bowl for dessert. Don't believe me? Try Evans and you'll see the errors

in your ways.

Read More

By Marc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2006

Finally a place with service in Tahoe

Evan's is a welcome change from the poor service we experienced in the area. The staff was attentive and the food was excellent. The carpaccio appetizer is a supurb dish and the wine selection is more than adequate for this fine gem on the south lake. The Halibut special was delectable and be sure to save room for dessert. The choices of desserts posed a slight problem due to the fact that we wanted one of everything. The creme brulee' won the

toss and the coffee was great to boot. If you are in the area do not miss this charming resturant. Oh by the way, the location indicated at this time is not correct. Call for directions.

Read More

By Howard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 8, 2006

Worth the trip

This romantic little place is tucked away in the woods about 5 miles north of the main population area of S. Lake Tahoe. The food is beautifully done and artfully plated, with friendly unpretentions service. The wine list is remarkable for a place this size, emphasizing California selections. Make the trip--you'll be glad you did! (And check out the horseradish potato cakes, carbs notwithstanding!)

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement