Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Death Valley National Park Hotels

The Ranch at Furnace Creek

  • Hwy. 190 Map It
  • $$
  • Practical Base

Pros

  • Good family atmosphere
  • Central location

Cons

  • Rooms can get hot despite air-conditioning
  • Parking near your room can be problematic

Updated 11/18/2013

Fodor's Review

Originally crew headquarters for the Pacific Coast Borax Company, the four buildings here have motel-style rooms that are good for families. The best ones overlook the green lawns of the resort and the surrounding mountains. The property is adjacent to a golf course, and also has a general store and two RV campgrounds with 25 hook-ups and 35 non-hook-ups, as well as tent sites. The pool here is very popular, but the multi-sport complex also offers basketball, tennis, a

playground, and a small driving range. The family-style Wrangler Steak House and Forty-Niner Cafe serve American fare in simple surroundings.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Hwy. 190, Furnace Creek, California, 92328, USA

Map It

Phone:

760-786–2345; 800-236-7916

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 224 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 11/18/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Death Valley National Park

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 17, 2008

Great location

The rooms are OK-good, the bathrooms are great because they are redoing them. I enjoyed the warm spring fed pool and the tennis courts. there's dining right on the grounds and a reasonable general store. There's even a museum to the mining days there. We were there doing the 49ers encampment.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2008

they employ perverts!

I would highly advise everyone to not stay at this hotel, and especially not use the pool. My wife and I were there in March. While at their pool, we watched a creepy man take photos of my wife in her bathing suit, as well as take photos of a group of 13-16 year old girls. We later found out this man is an employee, and that "he's just not that smart". We complained and he was asked to leave the pool area, but then a few hours later we noticed him

back again! Security didn't ask him to leave, so we once again reported him again to the front desk. After was sort of asked to leave (they were pretty mellow about it), I talked to both the front desk staff and the head of security - none of them wanted to do anything about it - other than tell me "oh, he's harmless" and "he won't be back for 2 days, so don't worry". He wasn't repromanded (or fired...) and he is probably at the pool right now doing the same thing. Do not stay here, they knowingly employ perverts! I can't believe this (a) happened and (b) that the staff didn't really care. It ruined our vacation and we are never visiting a Xanterra-owned resort again. PS: To top it off the horse rides are 1/3 more expensive than advertised in their guest services book (again, when brought to their attention, they didn't care). Icing on the cake i guess.

Read More

By Stefano

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2005

My trip in Furnace Creek Ranch

Furnace Creek ranch is the worst hotel I?ve never visited in My life. The service absolutly in contrast with the price of the room. The rooms too small and with a bad smelling.

By Douglas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2005

Four Star Price for a One Star Room

Ahhh, the sparse beauty of Death Valley! After a day exploring the nooks and crannies of DV, I look forward to a nice relaxing meal and comfortable room. Furnace Creek Ranch offers neither. The restaurant offers good food, but the dining room itself is the LOUDEST place I have eaten since seventh grade camp. Quite a contrast to the serenity of a day spent hiking. The sleeping room was rather low end. It was clean, but old. I asked myself several times

"Why am I paying $165/night for a an old dumpy room?" Because it is one of only 3 or 4 properties actually in the park. I discovered Beatty, Nevada on my way out of the park and saw a new(2003?) Motel 6 that put the FCR to shame. The next time I went to Death Vally I stayed at the Motel 6 several nights for $39/night. I just packed my own linens as I don't care for polyester sheets and towels! Several reasonable restaurant are w/in walking distance from Motel 6, as is a convience store. Beatty is about 25 -30 mins out of the park. Save your travel money for the casinos!

Read More

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2003

It's a Ranch?

Time to remodel this place. The rates are too high to have the rooms not improve in the 15 years I have been coming here. I absolutely love the location and the Ranch is more affordable than the Inn, but why do I have the same bed and bedding I did when I first visited here 15 years ago?

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2003

No room at the Inn

We stayed here for one night as the Furnace Creek Inn located a mile or so away had not opened for the season.To be fair the location and facilities such as the outdoor heated pool and diner/restaurant are ok. The motel style rooms are disgraceful. As a back-packers hostel fine ,but at $159 I don't expect to worry about walking on the carpet after removing my shoes. If you find yourself stuck in the desert-sleep in the car.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement