Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Tucson Restaurants

Pinnacle Peak Steakhouse

Updated 05/27/2014

Fodor's Review

Anybody caught eating newfangled foods like fish tacos here would probably be hanged from the rafters—along with the ties snipped from city slickers who overdressed. This cowboy steakhouse serves basic, not stellar, fare: mesquite-broiled steak, ribs, chicken, and grilled fish with salad and pinto beans. The restaurant is part of the somewhat kitschy, family-friendly Trail Dust Town, a re-creation of a turn-of-the-20th-century town, complete with a working antique carousel, a narrow-gauge train, and Western stunt shows staged outside nightly at 7 and 8. Expect a long wait on weekends.

Restaurant Information

Address:

6541 E. Tanque Verde Rd., Tucson, Arizona, 85715, USA

Map It

Phone:

520-296–0911

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 05/27/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2007

Standard Steak - Pro Military Owner

I've eaten here several times for military functions, as the owner of Pinnacle Peak restaurants as well as many of the other businesses in this "little town" are very pro-military. This is much appreciated, though the food is standard American fare. You'll get a decent steak and sides here, but don't expect to get wowed. The atmosphere is very fun though!

By EJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 24, 2006

Customer Churn is faster than homemade butter

Crowded, too many screaming kids, harried staff; they practically throw the plates at you. If you just want to get in and out for a decent steak this place is for you but if you want a pleasurable meal that won't raise your blood pressure go somewhere else.

By Eric

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2006

Great Steak good fun

One of my family's favorite places to eat. I love their generous sized staeks and the beans are not bad. my only real complaint would be the plain bread they serve. Be prepaired for the possibility of long waiting times (like most popular restraunts in town). Trail Dust town is a good place to walk off you meal with several shops and a wild west show. It a great place to take the family and a must see for out of town relatives.

By Jackie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 9, 2005

I think they own stock in Sunbeam Bread.

The steak was excellent. The salad was tiny and plain--only one grape tomato with iceberg lettuce. The beans were tasteless--we had to smother them with steaksauce. The bread was plain sliced white bread--it looked like they opened a loaf of Sunbeam bread and put it on the table. The atmosphere was great--they even had an old west saloon where we got a drink during our 15 min wait. Don't miss the Gunfight Show! The times were 5:30, 6:30 and 8:30

(in March). The three stuntmen were of Hollywood caliber. The show is free--but DO tip them at the end of the show. We gave $5 each--it was well worth it!

Read More

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2004

Fun, Easy, No-Frills Steakhouse

Ambiance is the key to this steakhouse set in Trail-Dust town. This is a fun, laid back restaurant with plenty of stuff to see and do while you wait. Very casual scene, don't expect a "Anthony's" type of dining, as this is a cowboy steakhouse. The servers wear flannel shirts and jeans. Very accomodating to large parties.

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2004

The food was cold just like inside the restaurant.

Had dinner this past Monday evening (6 of us). Arrived at 6:30 and was told it would be a 30-45 minute wait. 1 hr 10 minutes later we were finally seated. Meanwhile, we froze to death inside before being seated. When we were finally seated, we were placed by a table of 20+ people. The noise level inside was very bad, as well as one of the loud, obnoxious gentleman seated at this 20+ table. Getting a waitress was another wait, as well as to get

our food (35 minutes later). When it arrived, one person in our party's food was cold (mashed potatoes and meat)as I'm sure it had been setting out. Another ordered hamburger and bun was "cold." The steaks had a lot to be desired; much grissle (sp?)and also barely warm. One person did tell the waitress and she said she would "tell them about it in the kitchen." That's the last we heard. By the time the food finally got to us,after our nearly 2 hour wait from the time we arrived; my husband was sick. So, he was unable to eat. Needless to say, it was a very bad experience and would NEVER return to the restaurant. Not taking reservations for a party of 6 is ridiculous. People were arriving and being seated as we still sat there, waiting for a table for 6.

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2000

The Pinnacle of Cliche

If you want a disney-like experience and consider quantity more important than quality, head on over...There are better steaks all over town, but you go for the atmosphere...

By Lou

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2000

Steak and only Steak

I first ate here in 1980 and returned to see if my tie was still nailed to a rafter and the steaks are still as good as I remember. It is and they are! Steaks cooked on the biggest open pit barbeque I have ever seen. Vegetarians enter at your own risk.

By Lee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2000

Quality slab of Meat

cheap, quick, excellent, need I say more?

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement