Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Tucson Hotels

Arizona Inn

  • Arizona Inn, Outside the Park

    Arizona Inn

  • Arizona Inn, Outside the Park

    Arizona Inn

  • Arizona Inn, Outside the Park

    Arizona Inn

  • Arizona Inn, Outside the Park

    Arizona Inn

  • Arizona Inn, Outside the Park

    Arizona Inn

  • Arizona Inn, Outside the Park

    Arizona Inn

  • Arizona Inn, Outside the Park

    Arizona Inn

Pros

  • Unique historical property
  • Emphasis on service

Cons

  • Rooms may not be modern enough for some
  • Close to University Medical Center but long walk (1.5 miles) from the main campus

Updated 05/27/2014

Fodor's Review

Although near the university and many sights, the beautifully landscaped lawns and gardens of this 1930 inn seem far from the hustle and bustle. The spacious rooms are spread over 14 acres in pink adobe-style casitas—most have private patios and some have fireplaces. The resort also has three luxurious two-story houses with their own heated pools and full-hotel service. The main building has a library (high tea is served here), a fine-dining restaurant, and a cocktail lounge where a jazz pianist plays.

Hotel Information

Address:

2200 E. Elm St., Tucson, Arizona, 85719, USA

Map It

Phone:

520-325–1541; 800-933–1093

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 72 rooms, 20 suites, 3 casitas
  • No meals

Updated 05/27/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2006

Hidden Treasure in Tucson

I took a chance and booked this hotel after seeing only their plain-looking website - I am so glad I did. The service was amazing from beginning to end! The front desk staff was the most professional and accommodating I have ever seen. The reading room and piano bar in the lobby were relaxing. The pool was world class - the pool staff brings iced water with lemon to every guest! The room was beautifully decorated, yet completely comfortable. They

even have free high speed internet. The cushioned loung chairs on the patio were an extra treat. I will surely stay at this Inn every chance I get to tucson.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 1, 2005

Nice stay

Though a bit pricey (summer rate $189) it was a very nice place. Quiet and private. Restaurant not so great, however.

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 8, 2004

Frayed around the edges

We stayed at the inn over Christmas. Pros: Lovely overall atmosphere in the common areas and grounds, convenient location to town. Cons: the room was absolutely nothing special, and in fact was a bit drab and frayed; the worst concierge service ever experienced - they were unresponse to calls, knew nothing about golf, a major pastime in Tucson, including the fact that the hotel literature says it offers special deals (the staff need to be informed

of this!). The staff elsewhere (front desk, restaurants) were great, but we won't go back.

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2003

Simply Incredible

A great place.I wasn't expecting much, but I was dead wrong. The hotel does not look very pretty from the outside. In fact, when I arrived at the front entrance, I was a little disappointed. This feeling did not last long. The grounds are gorgeous, and the room was close to perfect. If I ever return to Tucson I will stay at the Arizona Inn.

By Melissa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 24, 2002

Desert Oasis

Travelling with two friends and looking for the best of both worlds: our own space when we wanted but also a common space to relax and talk. Found the perfect spot at the Arizona Inn. Our room or should I say rooms were perfect. Spacious is an understatement, clean and so beautifully decorated with mahogony furniture, a fireplace and screen doors to let the fresh air in. It was probably the most comfortable hotel I've ever stayed in. Believe it

or not: three pillows for each bed each with a different degree of firmness. Now that's luxury. The only complaint: a little too quiet during lunch and dinner. Felt like we always had to whisper. Maybe some soft backround music to break the silence. The staff was very accomodating and Tucson is a great city.

Read More

By Will

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2002

A living legend!

It's all true, the Arizona Inn is peaceful and beautiful. I find that it's a great place to read. In fact, a relaxing stay there is a little like getting lost in a favorite classic novel. That is, memorable, personal and deeply satisfying. And the history of this unique hotel is wonderful too.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2001

Heaven

I want to go back to Tucson just to stay at the Arizona Inn. Heck..I'd go all the way out West just to spend a few days in this hotel. I felt like I was staying in my own little desert hideaway, not a hotel. I had the pool all to myself during the day. I didn't want to leave!!

By Allen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 24, 2001

A Downtown Resort

One of the finest resorts we have visited. Beautiful setting but right downtown. The staff treats you like family. Well worth a visit.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement