Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Tucson Hotels

Westward Look Resort

Pros

  • Horseback riding
  • Excellent spa and tennis
  • Pleasant nature trails
  • You can actually park near your room

Cons

  • No golf (privileges at private club 4 miles away)
  • Pool areas are rather plain

Updated 05/27/2014

Fodor's Review

Originally the 1912 homestead of William and Mary Watson, this laid-back lodging with gorgeous city views and desert gardens has Southwestern character and all the amenities you expect at a major resort. The Watsons' original living room, with beautiful, dried ocotillo branches draped along the ceiling and antique furnishings, is now a comfortable library-lounge. The couple probably never envisioned anything like the Sonoran Spa, with hot desert-stone massages and three-mud

body masks. Spacious rooms have wrought-iron beds and Mission-style furniture.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

245 E. Ina Rd., Tucson, Arizona, 85704, USA

Map It

Phone:

520-297–1151; 800-722–2500

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 244 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 05/27/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 28, 2009

Westward Loook was just right

Stayed 3 nights in early June. The room was spacious, newly remodeled, clean and had a large bath. It had a nice small patio complete with tables/chairs outside the room. The grounds were very clean and always bustling with workers. Our rate included breakfast at Gold, and the food and service were great. The main pool area was just the right size, with poolside food and beverage service. Most employees we encountered had a smile and a "hello".

We definitely will return.

Read More

By Celine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2003

hummingbirds in the morning

Stayed there 3 nights in May 2000 and I am still dreamning about this place. We had a very large room opening on a small, 90% private, garden. The bathroom and the sinks where in separated areas. The tiles around the sinks where very nice. The beauty products where great : I enjoyed the apricot scrub soap and aloe lotion. Big closet, bathrobes. The first morning we took our breakfast outside, there was hummingbirds around us and a small rabbit,

it was perfect. The hotel is surrounded by winding path with explanation about desert life, you can ask for binoculars at the hotel to enjoy the scenery. There was orange trees, cacti, big aloe... The swimming pool was a bit too small for kids to play in and adults to swim. We tried the restaurant only for breakfast which was very good.

Read More

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 19, 2003

Slowly Moving into the Sunset

This was my second visit with a group to this resort in the last 2 years. This visit was disappointing as we had a good deal of problems with the banquets/group staff. Things like the meeting rooms being dirty when we arrived and indifferent wait staff during group meals. It was not the quality that I expected and so I wonder if there has been a change in management or customer service philosophy.

By Katie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2003

Met My Expectations

I have just returned from a seven-night stay at the Westward Look. Paid $169 a night, even though some websites were quoting rates between $219 and $249. I made reservations directly with hotel. Asked to see several rooms when I arrived, and would recommend doing that since there is quite a range of views from the buildings spread out over the site. Rooms are very large, if a bit dark. I asked for and got a small refrigerator, where I was able to

keep juice, fruit, soft drinks, etc. A wonderful convenience! Staff is very accommodating and eager to please. Westward Look is well-located above and away from the busier parts of Tucson.Enjoyed a restful and relaxing stay and would definitely recommend this place, especially for non-golfers!

Read More

By Jo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2003

Room smelled like old ashtrays

We requested a non smoking room. Could not find where the stench was coming from until I realized it was from the bottom of the old waste paper cans with butts in them. Plumbing pipes was sticking out of the cracked tile walls. Carpet was torn. Poor service checked out after one day.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2002

Westward Look; Rooms with a View

The Westward Look is an incredible place. The rooms are magnificent with beautiful views. If you are a nature lover who hates to give up creature comforts, this is the place for you. The hotel goes out of its way to incorporate the natural surroundings into the hotel's grounds. The food is excellent too. Can't be beat! We can't wait for another excuse to be in Tucson again just so we can stay here!

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2001

Great family place... if you don't play golf

Actually, the fact that we don't play golf was one of the reasons we selected this place. The whole property is set in lush desert with a lot of nature trails. Also because the price was better than some of the glitzier resorts. Very low-key, but very complete. Three heated pools, lots of tennis courts, mountain bikes for rent, horses, a big telescope on the deck for night-sky viewing, a couple of FREE computers with Internet, a great view of the

city lights at night, and good (but not great) service. We had connecting rooms for our family, each with a generous sitting area and a patio with great view. Cost was $199/room during Christmas week (we just got back). We loved Tucson, and Westward Look was an excellent place to stay.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement