Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Grand Canyon Hotels

Maswik Lodge

Pros

  • Larger rooms here than in older lodgings
  • Good for families
  • Affordable dining options

Cons

  • Rooms lack historic charm
  • Tucked away from the rim in the forest

Updated 05/23/2014

Fodor's Review

Far from the noisy crowds, accommodations at this lodge are nestled in a shady ponderosa pine forest, with options ranging from rustic cabins to more modern motel-style rooms. The lodge, named for a Hopi kachina who is said to guard the canyon, is 0.25 mile from the rim. The cabins are the cheapest option but are available only spring through fall. Rooms in the South Section have the fewest frills and resemble what you'd find at a typical budget chain property (though

with wall-mounted fans instead of air-conditioning). The North Section rooms cost nearly twice as much but are larger and have brighter, newer furnishings, air-conditioning, and plenty of extras—refrigerators, coffeemakers, and safes. Families appreciate the pizza pub, a casual spot with a big-screen TV. Kids under 16 stay free.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Grand Canyon Village, Arizona, 86023, USA

Phone:

888-297–2757-reservations only; 928-638–2631

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 278 rooms
  • No meals

Updated 05/23/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Grand Canyon

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2010

Maswik Lodge Review

Visited Grand Canyon "South Rim" In June 28 - 30th.Had 19 people(8 adults & 11 kids)with us.Rented 4 cabins $98.00 per night per cabin.Got in at 10pm. They were so BAD,so SMALL,the beds were so HARD like sleeping on a board,the rugs had big black stains all over them So bad we put down the few towels they gave us to walk on.We were so tired from our drive from Las Vegas,I didn't say anything until the next morning.In the morning when Sun came

up I found you had to walk by the cabins they rented to the staff.There was trash & furnituresetting outside the cabins.I know this because when I went to the front desk to complain I was told it was employee housing I had to walk by.I knew the cabins didn't have AC.that was the only thing the web site was right about,but with heat during the day it had an odor from being closed up.When I got to the front desk the manager was 5ft.away & never once came over,just told the girl to give us the second night free or we could check out. I told the clerk I didn't wont the rooms even if they were free & where were we going to stay at the last moment @ peak of tourest season. The clerk went again to the manager and came back & put us in 4 rooms in what I guess was the north hotel rooms.They were very nice and very clean.My advise to any one thinking about renting the cabins."DONT" pay the extra $10 or $15 and have a good nights sleep. & I was so embaressed

Read More

By Stephie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2007

Nice enough, good location

Our room at Maswik was nicely appointed but a bit tight for 5 of us and our luggage, but I was pleasantly surprised at the appearance, I didn't expect much for a fixed priced national park lodge. The location close to the rim and bus stop & other hotels/restaurants is a bit farther than other hotels, but not so bad that we couldn't quickly drive somewhere or walk a few minutes. It is hard to park at hotels/restaurants near rim, good parking at Maswik.

The cafeteria is convenient with good choices. Check in was quick & easy. I would recommend this place but would also recommend trying to get Bright Angel or El Tovar for their rimside locations first if possible.

Read More

By Ritch

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2004

Cheapest rooms in the park

Nice sized rooms. Short walk to the rim. NO AC. Nice cafeteria. Not fancy but good anough. Note: Call if rooms are shown unavailable online.

By Sasha

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2004

The Canyon is Better than you Could Dream!

I visite the canyon last winter and it is very nagical in the cold weather. The Maswik lodge was really cool, I like the Cafiteria, good reakfast and snacks. A miniute walk to the rim for drama. You can catch the buses right in front of the lodge and the Hermit's Rest shuttle a tiny stroll away. Great!

By Christa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2003

yeah....

Spent one night here in May 2000. Had a basic motel type room for about $70, reasonable deal. The room was fine, double bed, ensuite, TV etc. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Had dinner and breakfast here, thought it was good value for basic food. No complaints about the staff, it was extremely busy the day we arrived and we had to queue for quite a while to check in to our pre-booked room. Enjoyed our stay at the Grand Canyon and the Maswik Lodge

served it's purpose just fine.

Read More

By Isaac

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2002

The canyon is great, but......

Do not take this as a judgement about the canyon. It is amazing, a must see for everyone. But this place is the pits. The room itself is fine but the service is awful, the staff is less than helpful on any substansive request. Its surprised me because we came from Bryce Canyon Lodge which is managed by the same company and the experience was night and day. My advice would be to book far enough in advance to stay at the El Trovar. I am sure it

is better than Maswik

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement