Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Grand Canyon Hotels

El Tovar Hotel

  • $$$
  • Design
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Historic lodging just steps from the South Rim
  • Fabulous lounge with outdoor seating and canyon views
  • Best in-park dining on-site

Cons

  • Books up quickly

Updated 04/24/2014

Fodor's Review

The hotel's proximity to all of the canyon's facilities, European hunting-lodge atmosphere, attractively updated rooms and tile baths, and renowned dining room make it the best place to stay on the South Rim. A registered National Historic Landmark, the "architectural crown jewel of the Grand Canyon" was built in 1905 of Oregon pine logs and native stone. It's usually booked well in advance (up to 13 months ahead), though it's easier to get a room during winter months.

Three suites (El Tovar, Fred Harvey, and Mary Jane Colter) and several rooms have canyon views (these book very early), but you can enjoy the view anytime from the cocktail-lounge back porch.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Desert View Dr., Grand Canyon Village, Arizona, 86023, USA

Phone:

888-297–2757-reservations only; 928-638–2631

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 66 rooms, 12 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/24/2014

Advertisement

What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Grand Canyon

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2010

El Tovar Hotel Review

The hotel it self is great, your going there for the history. But the rooms are a little overpriced, outdated. The food is great. I would suggest staying at the thunderbird or kachina lodge, there right next to the hotel. Basic rooms like staying in a motel, but you can get a canyon side room for cheaper than you could get a basic room at the el tovar. I would go there just to eat, they also have a bar and gift shop. Unless you have a lot of money.

Also if your driving, keep your car parked once you find a spot. Parking is limited, take the free shuttle bus, it comes every ten mins. or so.

Read More

By cheatoe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2008

nice but needs some attention

This is a nice old hotel with a spectacular South Rim view of the Grand Canyon, but the bedding and pillows need replacing with something more comfortable. The bathrooms have recently been redone and are very nice. Hotel guests compete for parking with everyone visiting Grand Canyon Village and seating in the bar and the lobby is limited by the number of non guests visiting the hotel. It is a very busy place.

By bjyates

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2007

Elegantly historic!

We traveled thru Arizona starting in Tucson, on to the Grand Canyon then to Sedona and home from Phoenix. The El Tovar was just as we had imagined. So Very conviently located on the rim with stunning views on the property. Our room was a corner suite on the third floor. Although we did not overlook the canyon we had a good amount of space. A little on the tight side because our daughter was traveling with us so a rollaway was needed. Still lovely

restored bathroom and comfortable beds. Great dinners and breakfasts in the dinning room. Food was very good and ambiance was historical, large with lovely windows and I loved the fireplaces. Wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else. Would stay again. Got great photos of the Condors which were flying over the Hopi House. Will visit again!

Read More

By Marie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2004

In the Heart of the Canyon

We stayed at the El Tovar last summer. Our room was located on the street level. Though it was small, it was quite clean and comfortable. Location is the best. Just walk out the Lobby and you're there. The restaurant is a must! Make reservations before leaving home. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

By R

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2004

Grand Hotel at The Grand Canyon

I'm writing this after the fact. I stayed at this hotel for a night in April 2002. The location cannot be beat. It was the classic Victorian hotel, big, gran, with a cheerful staff who were VERY focused on the guests. The hotel restaurant (I can't remember the name)was EXCELLENT, but make reservations for the restaurant the same time you reserve your rooms. The room was well appointed. I wouldn't call it luxurious - but it was traditional, comfortable

and apropos for an historic lodge. It really was great to have a hotel as grand as the canyon. It ensured a perfect visit to a breathtaking park.

Read More

By Ben

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 2, 2003

Bring your own pillows!

I had heard to bring my own pillows but didn't take it seriously. Requested extra pillows at 9:30, finally told at 11:30 that pillows would not be available. Front desk staff not helpful in resolving the problem.

By Bobby

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 3, 2002

View of what?

We were "lucky" to find a cancelation for a room with view "down into canyon" for $320. The El Tovar suite. And I guess this is an amazing opportunity, but the sliding door to the patio that acually has the view did not work properly, and most everything in the room was original to 1904 or so... and the service was just awful. Checking in the attitude of the agent was just the worst. This was our second trip to the El Tovar and Canyon, and may be

last. It is just a rip off to think they can get people to book two years out for this kind of room and terrible service.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 4, 2002

Over-rated

Great location, but dingy rooms, bored staff, noisy hallways. . .the feeling is Soviet. Next time I'll camp and eat at the restaurant

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2001

Hotel With An Attitude!

I have recently stayed at the hotel and had mixed feelings with this famous destination at the Grand Canyon. The hotel is booked up well in advanced year-round and I have gotten an ill feeling upon my visits of an attitude with the staff. The front desk staff in numerous visits expresses an I don't care attitude of any problems with reservations or rooms here. They know they have people willing to stay there so if you leave they have no problem filling

that space. My room was a nice room with a comfortable bed and was quiet. Everything was in working order and the view -although it looked out on the main canyon street - was nice. The room service food and service made the stay here!! Dinner was hot and delivered on time - and the tray was picked up upon request timely too. This hotel is not a ritzy fancy place but more of a laid back nice place to stay that seems everyone has on there list to stay at the Grand Canyon. My recommendation here is confirm your reservation in advance down to the room (double or single bed) ect. and rate and arrival and departure dates.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 2, 2001

On The Edge of the World

El Tovar will always be worth the extra cost compared to some of the other Grand Canyon properties because of its location on the edge of the Canyon. However, there are some areas that could definitely use improvement. We booked two rooms -- the Queen was a perfect size, the Double was a joke. Both rooms were dingy but had decent bathrooms. We spent most of our time in the lobby enjoying the rustic atmosphere, or in the lounge having a drink and a

chat. We did not eat dinner in the dining room, but we were less than impressed with the overpriced and ice cold breakfast. The lounge had a lousy appetizer list -- with four choices, we had a hard time finding anything to eat. Despite it all, I would recommend El Tovar simply because of the general atmosphere and location.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement