Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Alaska Travel Guide

Visitor Information

The Alaska Travel Industry Association (a partnership between the state and private businesses) publishes the Alaska Vacation Planner, a free, comprehensive information source for statewide travel year-round. Alaska's regional tourism councils distribute vacation planners highlighting their local attractions.

Get details on Alaska's vast public lands from Alaska Public Lands Information centers in Ketchikan, Tok, Anchorage, and Fairbanks.

British Columbia and Yukon

Tourism British Columbia (800/435–5622. www.hellobc.com.)

Tourism Yukon (800/661–0494. www.travelyukon.com.)

Regional Information

Kenai Convention & Visitors Bureau (907/283–1991. www.visitkenai.com.)

Kenai Peninsula Tourism Marketing Council (907/262–5229 or 800/535–3624. www.kenaipeninsula.org.)

Southeast Alaska Discovery Center (907/228–6220. www.fs.fed.us/r10/tongass/districts/discoverycenter.)

Southwest Alaska Municipal Conference (907/562–7380. www.southwestalaska.com.)

Statewide Information

Alaska Department of Fish and Game (907/465–4100 Juneau. www.state.ak.us/adfg.)

Alaska Division of Parks (907/269–8400. www.alaskastateparks.org.)

Alaska Public Lands Information Centers (866/869–6887; 907/644–3661 in Anchorage; 907/459–3730 in Fairbanks; 907/228–6220 in Ketchikan; 907/883–5667 in Tok. www.alaskacenters.gov.)

Alaska Travel Industry Association (907/929–2200; 800/862–5275 to order Alaska Vacation Planner. www.travelalaska.com.)

Online Travel Tools

Alaska.com is a subsidiary of the Anchorage Daily News and has travel features, photo galleries, and a service that allows you to order a variety of brochures and e-newsletters. Alaska Department of Fish and Game has tips on wildlife viewing, news on conservation issues, and information about fishing and hunting licenses and regulations. Alaska Geographic has links to sites with information on the state's public lands, national parks, forests, and wildlife refuges, as well as an online bookstore, where you can find maps and books about the Alaskan experience. Alaska Magazine posts some of its feature stories online and maintains an extensive statewide events calendar. Alaska Native Heritage Center has information on Alaska's Native tribes, as well as links to other cultural and tourism websites.

Contact

Alaska Department of Fish and Game (www.adfg.alaska.gov.)

Alaska Geographic (www.alaskageographic.org.)

Alaska Magazine (www.alaskamagazine.com.)

Alaska Native Heritage Center (www.alaskanative.net.)

Previous Travel Tip

Trip Insurance

Next Travel Tip

Alaska Itineraries

Advertisement

Advertisement

News & Features
Trip Finder
Store
Guidebooks

Fodor's The Complete Guide to Alaska Cruises

View Details
Travel Deals