Tours

Advertisement

Tours

For certain types of travelers, package tours in Alaska can eliminate some of the guesswork and logistics-induced headaches that often accompany a self-planned tour. For others, the grandeur of the 49th state begs to be explored without such a fixed itinerary. The choice, dear Alaska traveler, is yours.

Several cruise lines—including Holland America, Royal Caribbean International, and Princess Cruises —offer "cruisetours" that combine the comforts of cruise-ship travel with inland forays to luxury lodges. A host of smaller tour companies offer package tours as well. Standouts include Alaska Tours, which offers tours in almost every corner of the state; and Alaska Railroad Scenic Rail Tours, which operates a variety of train-based tours between the state's iconic destinations, including Seward, Denali, and Kenai Fjords. In addition, chances are good that there's a tour operation with itineraries to match your needs and interests, whatever those may be.

Organization

United States Tour Operators Association (212/599–6599. www.ustoa.com.)

Recommended Companies

Alaska Airlines Vacations (800/468–2248. www.alaskaair.com/shopping/vacations.)

Alaska Bound (231/439–3000 or 888/252–7527. www.alaskabound.com.)

Alaska Railroad Scenic Rail Tours (907/265–2494 or 800/544–0552. www.alaskarailroad.com.)

Alaska Tour & Travel (907/245–0200 or 800/208–0200. www.alaskatravel.com.)

Alaska Tours (907/277–3000 or 866/317–3325. www.alaskatours.com.)

Alaska Wildland Adventures (907/783–2928 or 800/334–8730. www.alaskawildland.com.)

Gray Line of Alaska (907/277–5581 or 888/425–1737. www.graylinealaska.com.)

Holland America Line (877/932–4259. www.hollandamerica.com.)

Knightly Tours (206/938–8567 or 800/426–2123. knightlytours.com.)

Princess Cruises (800/774–6237. www.princess.com.)

Royal Caribbean International (866/562-7625. www.royalcaribbean.com.)

Viking Travel, Inc. (907/772–3818 or 800/327–2571. www.alaskaferry.com.)

Special-Interest Tours

Ecotours

Contact

Alaska Wildland Adventures (907/783–2928 or 800/334–8730. www.alaskawildland.com.)

Learning Vacations

Contacts

National Audubon Society (212/979–3000; 800/274–4201; 907/276–7034 Audubon Alaska. www.audubon.org.)

Natural Habitat Adventures (303/449–3711 or 800/543–8917. www.nathab.com.)

Nature Expeditions International (800/869–0639 or 954/693–8852. www.naturexp.com.)

Naturequest (800/369–3033. www.naturequesttours.com.)

Sierra Club (415/977–5500. www.sierraclub.org.)

Smithsonian Journeys (877/338–8687. www.smithsonianjourneys.org.)

Native Tours

Contacts

Alexander's River Adventure (907/474–3924. fairbanks-alaska.com/alexander.htm.)

Cape Fox Tours (907/225–4846. www.capefoxtours.com.)

Goldbelt (888/820–2628 or 907/463–3412. www.goldbelttours.com.)

Northern Alaska Tour Company (907/474–8600 or 800/474–1986. www.northernalaska.com.)

Sitka Tribal Tours (907/747–7290 or 888/270–8687. www.sitkatours.com.)

Natural History Tours

Contacts

Camp Denali (907/683–2290. www.campdenali.com.)

Great Alaska International Adventure Vacations (800/544–2261; 907/262–4515 summer; 360/697–6454 winter. www.greatalaska.com.)

Hallo Bay Bear Camp (907/235–2237 or 888/535–2237. www.hallobay.com.)

Photography Tours

Contacts

Alaska Photography Tours (907/781–2208 or 888/440–2281. www.alaskaphotographytours.com.)

Joseph Van Os Photo Safaris (206/463–5383. www.photosafaris.com.)

Jividen's Naturally Wild Photo Adventures (740/774–6243. www.naturallywild.net.)

More Travel Tips

Advertisement

Trip Finder
Store
Guidebooks

Fodor's The Complete Guide to Alaska Cruises

View Details
Travel Deals
Forums