Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Anchorage Restaurants

Double Musky Inn

Updated 08/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Anchorage residents say eating at this award-winning spot is well worth the one-hour drive south to Girdwood and the inevitable wait for dinner—you can usually find a spot at the bar, order some halibut ceviche, and choose from the extensive martini menu or local draft beers. It's very noisy, and the interior is completely covered with tacky art and Mardi Gras souvenirs of all types, but the windows frame views of huge Sitka spruce trees. The diverse menu mixes hearty

Cajun-style meals with such favorites as garlic seafood pasta, rack of lamb, French pepper steak, and lobster kebabs. For dessert lovers, the biggest attraction is the gooey, chocolate-rich Double Musky pie.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Mile 0.3, Crow Creek Rd., Girdwood, Alaska, 99587, United States

Map It

Phone:

907-783–2822

Restaurant Details:

  • Closed Mon. and late Oct.–mid-Dec. No lunch
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 08/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Anchorage

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2006

Superior Everything!!

I am visiting Anchorage from Charleston, South Carolina. I have been to many restaurants, and the double musky inn is the best restaurant I have ever eaten at by far. Yes there was about a 40 minute wait, but it was more than worth it. The food is spectacular, the wait staff was fantastic, and the food was out of this world. Do not leave anchorage without taking the most beautiful drive in the world to the most superior restaurant!

By Therese

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2006

Great food,drinks,atmosphere

Visited the Double Musky.We had a great time, lots of good stuff on the menu, crab cakes,good steaks too. We were happy,and will definatly be back.

By Lily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2006

Always a treat!

Come prepared with an appetite and the Double Musky will be sure to please. Excellent service, fun festive atmosphere, and delicious food. I have been eating there for years and it is better than ever. Delicious new specials. Worth the drive for Anchorage locals, and a must-stop for out of towners.

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2006

Owners comments on Double Musky Reviews

For the kind reviews I thank you and for the critical reviews I thank you. I assure you that nothing has changed over the years and we are as dedicated as ever to being the best that we can be and I apologize for the times we have fallen short. All of the reviews will be discussed with the kitchen as well as the wait staff including the hostess as we seek to address the concerns of some of the writers. Thanks, Bob Persons

By Brad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2006

let the good times roll!

If you haven't been to the double musky, you're missing out. It's cajun cooking at it's best. The steaks are great, so's the crab stuffed halibut. Oh and don't forget about desert. The food and atmosphere are unique and enjoyable. One of the best places to eat in anchorage.

By R

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 28, 2005

Seen it's better days

Food is great while the atmosphere could use some help. Service is often good but usually slow service with sometimes snippy servers. It seems to have gone down hill as I remember it being much better just 10 years ago. No reservations taken so get there early or plan to wait for 45 minutes or more. The French Pepper Steak (NY Strip) is the best I've ever had. Many Cajun dishes are tops as well. The Cajun Delight is a great desert. The bar

is always over-crowded and requires payment of the tab before moving to the dining room. I never understood this and it has always seemed anoying. For several years we went often but have stopped going so much recently due to better places closer to home in Anchorage. On a recent visit we noticed that a very large percentage of the patrons appeared to be tourists or traveling workers.

Read More

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 12, 2005

The best kept secret!

The crawfish cheese dip with pepper cheese bread appetizer was awesome. Just a little spicy but full of large lumps of crawfish. The seafood pasta had enough fresh seafood (salmon, halibut and shrimp) that it was hard to eat all the pasta. the sauce was delicate and flavorful. The peppersteak was tender enough to cut with a butter knife. Who had room for their home made desserts? We did!!!!!!

By Andrew

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2005

A Destination On Every Anchorage Trip

I try to eat at the Musky each time I'm in Anchorage - the most recent was entertaining for business and we had a great time despite the long wait. Great New Orleans food and festive atmosphere - count on it being loud and crowded, especially on weekends. Previous comments about service are accurate, don't go for a "fine-dining" experience. Go for the great food & drinks and experience. You can't order from the dinner menu in the bar, so several

times we've ordered from the appetizer menu and made that our dinner!

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2003

Double Musky Miscues

Okay, the food was good and the amount you get for the money makes it a great value. . .at least in Alaskan terms. But the atmosphere is nearly ruined by the noise level. And the wait staff we had seemed to merely be going through the motions. They weren't unfriendly, but they didn't make eye contact well and seemed rushed. When the noise level is too loud and the wait staff seems bent on getting you out fast, it's hard to rate the place high

despite good food. This is one place I've always felt was overrated.

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 17, 2002

Great Service, Great Food

We loved this place and highly recommend it. After a paraglide arrival from the top of Mt. Alyeska (yes - they will land here for you!), we had a fabulous dinner - appetizers, main courses, dessert - all were outstanding. We will definitely return here if our travel plans include Alaska again!

By Liane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 26, 2001

Locals & Tourists will agree this is the best restaurant in Alaska!

I am from NY and now live in Anchorage. The Double Musky is my all-time favorite restaurant. The food is excellent and you get plenty of it. You must try the pepper steak and the steak bernaise, both are awesome! Double musky pie and cajun delite are my favorite desserts, but all the desserts are wonderful. A couple of tips: 1) The restaurant is closed on Mondays 2) To avoid a long wait for a table (especially in the summer months) try to get

there when it opens - I think at 5 p.m. 3) If you are going later in the evening expect and be prepared to wait. You can give you name and take a walk or a drive. Sometimes the wait can be as long as 2 hours! 4) They do NOT take reservations. 5) Don't fill up on appetizers because the entrees are so filling you can't possibly eat it all. 6) This place is DEFINATELY worth it all! Enjoy

Read More

By Betsy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2000

I Died and Went to Food Heaven

Double Musky would be one of the best restaurants in any city. The petite filet was a true medium rare and was melt in your mouth tender. Friends told us Double Musky steaks could be cut with a fork and it was true! We're going back again to try the famous pepper steak. Portions are Alaskan, so no need for dessert, although took some on the plane with us, which didn't make it home!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement