Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Anchorage Restaurants

Moose's Tooth Pub & Pizzeria

  • 3300 Old Seward Hwy. Map It
  • Midtown
  • Pizza

Updated 08/19/2014

Fodor's Review

Always the top pick when local newspapers rate Anchorage pizzerias, Moose's Tooth is packed all week, despite the ample seating (on the order of 300 guests). The reason for the popularity is obvious: creative pizzas and handcrafted beers from its own brewery. More than a dozen ales, ambers, porters, and stouts are the order of the day, and homemade root beers, cream sodas, and ginger ales are also available. You can match these brews with a seemingly endless roster of pizzas topped with standards like mushrooms and roasted red peppers or inventive options like jalapeños, cream cheese, halibut, or capers. If you're so inclined, check out the daily pizza specials for some pretty exotic topping combinations, such as southern pork barbecue and Samui shrimp. Those who prefer non-pizza fare can choose from soups, sandwiches, and salads. No delivery, but there is a streamlined pick-up counter for those who call ahead. To avoid the cattle call blues, show up 45 minutes before you want to eat, grab a beer at the bar and chat with locals in the outdoor waiting area.

Restaurant Information

Address:

3300 Old Seward Hwy., Anchorage, Alaska, 99503, United States

Map It

Phone:

907-258–2537

Restaurant Details:

  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 08/19/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Anchorage

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2010

Moose's Tooth Pub & Pizzeria Review

They've never been to Brooklyn In Alaska, they forget that there's supposed to be more Tomato sauce than cheese and the best pizza is made with the best olive oil and the best mozzerella. This place, however, takes poor taste to the extreme. You barely see any red areas on your dried-out dough who's under-side is covered in garlic salt. Even with SPECIFIC requests, they fail. Ask for a pie wih extra sauce, ricotta cheese and

basil and they serve you a disc completely covered with ricota, topped with sliced up, UNCOOKED basil leaves. While you're waiting at the bar, where they have absolutely no foreign or domestic beers to complement their wannabe cool "micro-brews", you can get a dose of rudeness. Now that smartass bartender has no idea who I am or if I'd be inclined to smack him or wait for him after he leaves work. I won't be wasting my hard earned cash in that silly spot again......... In fact, I may just take my retirement bucks and open a REAL pizza joint in Anchorage............. Three Mexicans with a Chinese cook could take their business away overnight. Be smart, DiGiorno is even better than this garbage!

Read More
  • Value

  • Décor

  • Service

Mar 29, 2008

I could go for some right now

I can assure the individual that wrote "disappointed" that his experience may be an uncommon one. I worked at Mooses Tooth as a busser, host, expo, and a server and am fully cognizant of how the management and employees handle situations regularly. I viewed situations as both an employee and a customer and can tell you personally that although mistakes do happen, as in any restaurant, your experience is not the one I've seen and handled on many

occassions. The Moose's Tooth is a fine dining experience, and a heck of a place to work. I ate pizza five nights/days a week and never got sick of it.

Read More
  • Value

  • Service

  • Décor

Mar 22, 2008

THE #1 place to go for Pizza in AK!!!

Don't listen to what that other person said about the service. That can happen at any restaurant anywhere. The fact of the matter is that this place ROCKS---food, beer, everything! Of course the place is usually packed but that's a good sign, right? On top of the awesome beers they brew on site, they even brew their OWN Root Beer and Cream Soda! There is also a medium sized banquet room you can reserve. I had my baby shower there and it was

well worth it! If you are visiting Anchorage, DON'T MISS THE MOOSE'S TOOTH!

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jul 4, 2007

Disappointed

My last visit to The Moose's Tooth was a hugh disappointment, so much so that I won't return for a long time, if ever. This trendy, fun place has been one of my favorite pizza places since it opened. I've frequented it a few times a week and on birthdays, special occasions. etc. On this particular visit we encountered a hostess with big ATTITUDE. She was rude, condescending and incompetent. Granted this is not fine dining, but the attitude

and friendliness of the hostess sets the tone for the evening at any restaurant. Management needs to be especially cognizant of how hostesses greet as first impressions matter very much. The wait staff do a great job and the food and brews are excellent, especially the salads. My particular complaint is that that the hostess screwed up on our seating. After waiting an hour, I discovered for some unknown reason my name was no longer on the waiting list. Subsequent discussions with the hostess got a lot of shrugged shoulders and indications that somehow it was my fault. I asked to speak with the manager who's only response seemed to be, "I am sorry" not what could be done to resolve the issue. The hostess indicated my name would need to be listed again with perhaps another 30 minutes wait. I looked at the list - there were no names on it and the restaurant was half empty at that hour since many wait staff had left work. After more shrugs and rolling of the eyes from the hostess, the manager did what she should have done in the first place instead of carrying on an extended discussion at the reception desk. She seated us. Again the food was good, but the experience was something I and guests don't want to encounter again. I have noticed since the new addition was built, that the atmosphere appears to be different - not as Anchorage friendly and the service is on the skids.

Read More
  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 21, 2007

Oh yeah -- the BEST!

If you go to Alaska and don't go to Moose's Tooth Pizza, you have seriously missed out on an Anchorage tradition! Even though they've quadrupled the size of the restaurant, it is still always busy (which tells you something about the place). The prices may seem a tad bit high if you compare them to your local pizza chain, but Moose's Tooth is anything BUT your normal everyday pizza and is well worth the price. If you'd rather eat your pizza or

incredible halibut tacos with a movie, check out their 2nd location in Anchorage called the Bear Tooth Theatre. Both of their places are top notch!

Read More

By amdc

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 11, 2007

Fav Pizza Place!

Love the pizzas and salads! Service is always top notch! The wait is worth it. Receive a beeper during the wait so we can wander outside if it's warm enough or hang out indoors. No need to be within earshot to hear them call your name. Just go inside when the beeper signals that your table is ready. Enjoy the casual, hippie-like atmosphere. Servers with earthy styles - tie dyed shirts, dreadlocks, etc. Everyone can feel at home here, young and old

alike. My only complaint after the remodel is the large (new) room. It's loud, over stimulating, and has no privacy. I prefer the older part of the restaurant. More quaint and less noise. Tables aren't right on top of each other.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.