Side Trips from Québec City: Places to Explore

Advertisement

St-Jean

The village of St-Jean used to be occupied by river pilots and navigators. At sea most of the time, the sailors didn't need the large homes and plots of land that the farmers did. Often richer than farmers, they displayed their affluence by building their houses with bricks brought back from Scotland as ballast. Most of St-Jean's small, homogeneous row houses were built between 1840 and 1860.

Array

St-Jean at a Glance

Restaurants

Elsewhere in Side Trips from Québec City

Advertisement

Trip Finder