This neoclassical beaux arts structure showcases more than 22,000 traditional and contemporary pieces of Québec art. The original building houses 5,635 objects, including works by Jean-Paul Riopelle (1923–2002), Jean-Paul Lemieux (1904–90), Alfred Pellan (1906–1988) and Horatio Walker (1858–1938) that are particularly notable, as well as legions of other artifacts. The museum's dignified building in Parc des Champs-de-Bataille was designed by Wilfrid Lacroix and erected in 1933 to commemorate the 300th anniversary of the founding of Québec. Incorporated within is part of an abandoned prison dating from 1867. A hallway of cells, with the iron bars and courtyard, has been preserved as part of a permanent exhibition on the prison's history. A new, modern wing is set to open in the fall of 2015.