Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Quebec City Restaurants

Buffet de L'Antiquaire

  • 95 rue St-Paul Map It
  • $
  • Canadian

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

Hearty home cooking, generous portions, and rock-bottom prices have made this no-frills, diner-style eatery a Lower Town institution. As the name suggests, it's in the heart of the antiques district. In summer it has a small sidewalk terrace where you can sit and watch the shoppers stroll by. It's also a good place to sample traditional Quebecois dishes such as pea soup and cipaille (a deep-dish layered pie using poultry, meat, or seafood). The sugar pie, crepes,

and other desserts are homemade and delicious.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

95 rue St-Paul, Québec City, Québec, G1K 3V8, Canada

Map It

Phone:

418-692–2661

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Quebec City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2013

Delicious Authentic Canadian Cuisine

really good, affordable peasant canadian food. Low key atmosphere, right along the river, in the heart of lower town, antiques district. Husband had the meat pie - it was a huge serving! I had the chicken kabob - very good also. The vegetables were my favorite. After being on a cruise ship for a week, it was the simple fare that tasted good! I wanted to try poutine, in theory, but not after all that cruise food!

By seafox

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2012

Great value!!!!

Here's the deal. Sometimes when you are travelling you just don;t want to think a lot during a meal. Especially breakfast. This place is great, simple traditional foo for great prices. It's like an old NYC style deli ala Quebec. Breakfast is great and the surprise of their home made strawberry jam can't be beat. Good price, good food and no thought...my kind of breakfast. We returned for lunch. The Poutine was yummy (hey, it's poutine, fries

gravy and cheese...don't over think it). Pea soup was perfect. And the layered potato meat dish mentioned in the review was excellent. The BIG down side, the canned vegetables (Peas...yuck).... The daily specials are reliably tasty as well! The wait staff are all having fun and they have the "service with a smile" thing down pat!

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2006

Skip this restaurant if you don't speak French

We were visiting Quebec from Florida (9-13-06) and do not speak French. We selected this restaurant from our Fodor's guide for lunch. We were seated quickly and given menus, however, after being ignored by the waitress for over 20 minutes, we left. While the restaurant was busy, everyone else was attended to and given food within 5-8 minutes of arriving. This included all of the parties that arrived after us. All of our attempts to signal the waitress

to our table were ignored. Not surprisingly we appeared to be the only English speakers in the restaurant.

Read More

By AV

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2005

CHEAP DOES NOT EQUAL GOOD

I am very disappointed in my fellow diners. My husband and I selected this place based on the fab ratings and comments. IT WAS HORRIBLE! Not only the worst meal on our trip but possibly one of the worst meals we have ever had. At least my meal was edible although tasteless. My husband's however, was not fit for my dog, as a matter of fact that might be approaching cannibalism. The prices were reasonable but not acceptable when the food is that

bad. Please guys, don't base your comment solely on price!!

Read More

By ek

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2003

A Great Neighborhood Bistro

This is what a good, cheap neighborhood bistro in Paris must have been like in 1903. My wife and I ate dinner here on our last night in Quebec City. The atmosphere is cozy, and all the other customers appeared to be locals. The food was delicious. We had soups to start with, and then ordered main dishes of halibut (very fresh-tasting) and coq au vin. We also tried the poutine, a traditional Quebecois food consisting of French fries doused in gravy

and bits of cheese. All of it was marvelous. And all for about USD $15 per person (including a glass of wine). The prices here just can't be beat.

Read More

By Brent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2003

Seek It Out

My wife and I ate lunch here twice and loved it. It isn't fancy. It's a little local diner that serves hearty Quebecois food -- meat pies, pea soup. You won't leave hungry and the food tastes great.

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2001

Diner a la Francais

A thoroughly enjoyable Quebecois Diner experience where the locals eat hearty home cooking. As a staff member of our hotel put it, " grandmother's cooking." Numbers 9 and 10 on the specials menu are always two of the typical, traditional regional dishes, and the prices are downright philanthropic! Our server was born to be a waitress - very helpful, accomodating, pleasant. All in all, a very authentic experience in a very touristy (albeit lovely)

part of town.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement