Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Quebec City Restaurants

Casse-Crêpe Breton

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

Crêpes in generous proportions are served in this simple, busy café-style restaurant. From a menu of more than 20 fillings, pick your own chocolate or fruit combinations; design a larger meal with cheese, ham, and vegetables; or sip a bowl of Viennese coffee topped with whipped cream. Tables surround four round griddles at which you watch your creations being made. Crêpes made with two to five fillings cost less than C$12. This place is popular, and there can be lines

to get in at peak hours and seasons.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1136 rue St-Jean, Québec City, Québec, G1R 1S4, Canada

Map It

Phone:

418-692–0438

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Quebec City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2013

Finally! Affordable crepes in Old Town

Yum!!!! We looked forever for a reasonable crepe place and they were all charging $18 for one crepe! I had about given up and was just going to make them when I got home, and then we stumbled upon this place. Still a little more expensive than Mcdonalds - but it is a holiday. :) And so delicious! You order your own however you like it. DH and i each ordered one main dish one (comes with a salad) and then split a dessert one - strawberries with

chocolate sauce - and it was enough food for dinner. We highly recommend this place - very cute atmoshpere and waitresses, too.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2008

We ate piles of Crêpe here in a week.

My favorite was cherry with vanalla ice cream. Well worth it

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2008

Not Ready for Prime Time

Went there on 4 July in the midst of the celebrations for Quebec's 400th birthday. The service staff were rude. They were overstretched. They were messing up the crepes. The hygiene was bad (bare hands all over the crepes and no hand washing!). Service took forever. We were there 20 minutes without any service. Staff were so disorganized. They were simply not trained enough to cope with the demand. This was generally true of all the places we tried

in Quebec City. The people are nice but just were not ready for prime time.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2007

Seconds Please

This place was really worth the wait! Quality of ingredients was outstanding and the service was great. We had lunch one day and went back for breakfast the next. Don't miss it!

By Kent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2004

A Real Québec Treat

Thoroughly enjoyed -- very reasonably priced, real Québeckers chatting, reading, lingering over bowls of coffee.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2004

Catch a Crepe!

Int the 4 days we were there, we stopped here twice! Crepes were delicious-especially the chocolate crepe with fresh strawberries. We waited in line about 25 minutes to get in the door-but it was worth the wait!

By Val

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2004

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!

After reading reviews on this site, I took my family to breakfast. Wasted 3 hours (1 hour waiting in line, 1.5 hours waiting for food, 30 min. to eat). The food was terrible, their "famous" crepes were like rubber, no wonder they give you steak knives. Dirt and flies are everywhere. The food is handled by their dirty hands. Can't understand all the hype about this place. For good breakfast, go to Tutti Frutti Dejeuners or Chez Cora where you can

also get breakfast until 3:00 p.m.

Read More

By leslie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2004

Magnigique!

My 17 year old son and I had 2 breakfasts and a lunch here. Food and service were wonderful, ambiance was pleasant and cost was unbelieveably cheap (Breakfast of 3 item omelet, syrup and coffee was 5.47CAD. Contrary to fodor's listing they do accept VISA and Mastercard. Highly recommended!!!

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2003

Good price, good food

Not sure it's worth a long wait (there was a line at the door) since crepes are served all over the city, but they did have a good choice and are very affordable! Service was a bit on the slow side due to them being so very busy, but they were extremely pleasant. Great place for breakfast or lunch.

By ek

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2003

Great for Breakfast!

My wife and I visited Quebec City in August 2003, and ate breakfast here every day. The savory crepes are cheap, big, tasty and filling. Make sure to try either the Viennese coffee (mocha with delicious cream), or the Liegiois coffee (mocha with ice cream). A great bargain. The earlier reviewer who noted the traffic is correct. We sat in a window seat each day, and often there were big trucks just outside on the street. It didn't deter us, but

others might want to be aware.

Read More

By Steven

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2002

Chummy and convivial...once you get in

I live in Maine, and make forays to Quebec at least once or twice a year...and I always eat breakfast here the day I leave. Crepes are enormous, and you choose your own fillings from an extensive selection. That said, get here early and be prepared to wait, because as others have noted the lines can get a bit ridiculous. There ARE better creperies in town (Au Petit Coin Breton, for example), but in terms of value, atmosphere, and overall friendliness,

this is the place to go. If anybody wants to know anything more about Quebec, feel free to e-mail me.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2001

Only place we had to wait and wait

Once we got in and got served the food was rather good. They may need to get additional help though because the wait outside and in is a little long. Go if you have time.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement