Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Quebec City Restaurants

Aux Anciens Canadiens

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

This establishment is named for a 19th-century book by Philippe-Aubert de Gaspé, who once resided here. The house, dating from 1675, has servers in period costume and five dining rooms with different themes. For example, the vaisselier (dish room) is bright and cheerful, with colorful antique dishes and a fireplace. There's a more modern menu and a good wine list, but people come for the authentic French-Canadian cooking, like Lac St-Jean tourtière (meat pie), and maple-syrup pie with fresh cream. One of the best deals is a three-course meal, starting at C$19.95, available until 5:45 everyday.

Restaurant Information

Address:

34 rue St-Louis, Québec City, Québec, G1R 4P3, Canada

Map It

Phone:

418-692–1627

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Mon.–Wed.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Quebec City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By seafox

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2012

Great lunch on a cold day!

Having read the prior reviews we stopped in for lunch on a cold day. The warm country Canadian atmosphere warmed our cold bones quickly. The meal was perfectly portioned and the Canadian wines complimented the food nicely. Yes, the food has lots of meat and has pastry and yes pastry can be difficult, but this is a great stopover for a hearty luncheon that you will remember positively!

By cxw3111

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2010

Aux Anciens Canadiens Review

My partner's Lac St Jean meat pie was literally slopped onto the plate, presentation =0; it was fatty and tasted of cheap meat. Best described as bringing back memories of almost inedible Refectory food. The crust was soggy and fatty. My Salmon was better and fair value given the price but nothing to rave over. Other diners' plates appeared much the same. sorry but I reckon give this place a miss

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2007

I will return .............

Great food, great atmosphere ........... we went for lunch on two occasions. Get there early and be first in line.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2007

FInd a local diner instead.

Food is boring at best....not like any home made Quebecois food I've eaten before. Tasted like hospital/cafeteria food. Cute dining room. Servers, mostly students, did their best.

By Bento

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2007

Fine overall dining experience

Just came back from dinner and everyone in our party was delighted with the food, service and atmosphere. We shared a meat pie appetizer and it was delicious. I had pheasant, my wife turkey, and my son duck. All were delicious. Our best dining experience so far during this week in Canada.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2007

Authenic French-Canadian Microwave?

We were looking forward to experiencing authentic French-Canadian food on our trip to Quebec City. It was to be a special night as we experienced unique regional cuisine so close to home. However, we were somewhat disappointed. I ordered a dish featuring the meat pie and the filling was delicious. However, the crust was obviously microwaved and was rock hard by the time I started eating it. My husband ordered a dish with a puff pastry shell and

that pastry had also been microwaved. These problems would have been tolerable if it hadn't been for the assistant server filling my lap with hot coffee--an unpleasant ending to the evening. Just one more thing--if you want authentic atmosphere and own a restaurant, get rid of the Josh Groban CD!

Read More

By mmtrio

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2007

Go for lunch

We should have listened to others and gone for lunch. Food is authentic and atmosphere nice, good service, etc., but for most people the food is way too meaty, way too much in quantity. The lunch portion of the traditional meat pie with the maple pie for dessert is probably perfect. My dinner portion was a meat and gravy slab topped with a not-too-crisp thick crust. This was the only restaurant with which we were not impressed in Quebec City,

though I believe tourists still should not miss it for the authentic touch (at lunch).

Read More

By anna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 4, 2006

quebec's best bet

we were looking for authentic quebec food and we found it here. we opted for the game pie and quebec meat pie. the pies were moist, with an authentic game taste. the meat was flavorful and had a tasty sauce within it that brought out the various game flavors. the side dishes served were a large grapefruit size potato perfectly round and soft as a mashed potato. there was also a cabbage side dish sweetened with the authentic maple flavor that

was delicious. if you are looking for hearty food with an authentic quebecian taste, this is the place. the house is one of the oldest in quebec city, and the authentic wood carvings and wood plank tables add to the authentic atmosphere. the wait staff were friendly and accomodating. i am not able to have any dairy products, so they substituted the cream soup of the day with a non-cream sauce soup. a must dining spot for an authentic quebec experience.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 3, 2005

Meat starter folowed by a meat entree with a side of meat and a meat dessert...

We dined here on a snowy winter evening, and the food was just the ticket to beat the cold. I couldn't help but think that this was exactly how the French Canadians kept themselves warm through the long winters. We followed the waiter's reccomendations and ended up with a meal that consisted of wild boar, pheasant, duck, pork and beef. Everything was wonderfully prepared, but should be eaten sparingly. The atmosphere was very cozy, with the small

individual dining rooms, each with a fireplace.

Read More

By leslie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2004

Some great choices; others not

Decided to try the lunch table d'hote here based on Fodors and Frommers recommendations, as well as advice of 2 Quebec residents. My teenage son loved his pheasant served with baked beans, potato etc. I had a bland (canned?) zuchinni tomato soup and the veal. Agree with previous comment that wine was watery. Maple pie was fantastic!

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2003

Loved it!

This was a real treat, definitely worth it. They treated us royally for 2 hours. Excellent service. Didn't rush us, and very helpful in explaining items on the menu. Food was delicious. I had one of the meat pies. I can't wait to go again sometime! Go before 5:45 p.m. so you can order from the fixed price menu (about half price), and make reservations so you can get in!

By ek

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 30, 2003

A Fantastic Lunch Bargain

I don't know what's wrong with those reviewers who say the lunch table d'hote isn't a good deal. They must be extraordinarily picky. My wife and I visited in August 2003, and the lunch was fabulous. We ordered meat pie and a salmon dish, and both were perfectly done. The maple pie is also a must. And it's only CAD$ 14.95 per person at lunch, including a glass of wine or beer, and coffee. You would be nuts to skip this place on your trip.

By cy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2003

Just what I wanted

After reading a variety of reviews and wanting to try some traditional Quebec food we tried Aux Anciens. Great service and a very good food experience. We noticed a a number of restaurants in Quebec have young attractive high school girls standing in front of their establishments in attempt to get your attention and business. We never did try those places as we senced tourist traps. Aux Anciens Canadiens did not have the greeters but did offer

a great meal at a very reasonable price.

Read More

By Jesse

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2003

Great Price, So-So Everything Else

It's cool and all that this is the oldest house in Quebec but...this is not a great restaurant. The atmosphere was cute, but not done as well as it could have been. We ate lunch for two which was $15 CAD/person, but the food was only decent. I had the meat pie, which was extremely dry without much flavor. The service was quick, but brought out the incorrect order a couple of times (perhaps a language barrier?--I gave an extra point for that).

Overall, the food just wasn't that good. Oh, apparently the Maple Pie is delicious (I didn't have that though :< .

Read More

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2003

Made Room for Us in the Inn

Due to a mistake on my part, we arrived a month early for our reservations. The matre'd and the wait staff were so wonderful, they set up a little table for the four of us and served us a delicious meal.

By Brent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2003

So-So

This restaurant gets more praise than it deserves. The building that houses the restaurant is apparently the oldest in Quebec. That's neat. But the food here is only average and the place seems like a bit of a tourist trap -- with wait staff dressed in colonial garb. It was like eating in Sturbridge Village or Williamsburg.

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2002

Romantic setting with an adventures taste

Great place to wine and dine for couples who can actually stand each other. A little pricy. I forked out $140 CAD for 2. The Caribou, stag an Bison mixed grill was great. My girlfriend especially enjoyed the apple cheese cake. If you want wine, fork out some extra cash and get youself a nice bottle. The house wine we had was very acidic and meaty.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement