Québec City Restaurants

Advertisement

Guidebooks

Aux Anciens Canadiens

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Aux Anciens Canadiens Review

This establishment is named for a 19th-century book by Philippe-Aubert de Gaspé, who once resided here. The house, dating from 1675, has servers in period costume and five dining rooms with different themes. For example, the vaisselier (dish room) is bright and cheerful, with colorful antique dishes and a fireplace. People come for the authentic French-Canadian cooking; hearty specialties include sliced duck breast with a maple sauce, Lac St-Jean tourtière (meat pie), and maple-syrup pie with fresh cream. One of the best deals is a three-course meal, starting at C$19.95, available until 5:45 everyday.

    Restaurant Details

  • Reservations essential.
  • Credit cards accepted.
  • Closed for lunch weekdays in the fall and spring.
Updated: 08-12-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Great lunch on a cold day!

    Having read the prior reviews we stopped in for lunch on a cold day. The warm country Canadian atmosphere warmed our cold bones quickly. The meal was perfectly portioned and the Canadian wines complimented the food nicely. Yes, the food has lots of meat and has pastry and yes pastry can be difficult, but this is a great stopover for a hearty luncheon that you will remember positively!

    by seafox, 10/27/12
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Aux Anciens Canadiens Review

    My partner's Lac St Jean meat pie was literally slopped onto the plate, presentation =0; it was fatty and tasted of cheap meat. Best described as bringing back memories of almost inedible Refectory food. The crust was soggy and fatty. My Salmon was better and fair value given the price but nothing to rave over. Other diners' plates appeared much the same. sorry but I reckon give this place a miss

    by cxw3111, 9/27/10
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    I will return .............

    Great food, great atmosphere ........... we went for lunch on two occasions. Get there early and be first in line.

    by JonNormandin, 9/2/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    FInd a local diner instead.

    Food is boring at best....not like any home made Quebecois food I've eaten before. Tasted like hospital/cafeteria food. Cute dining room. Servers, mostly students, did their best.

    by GaryKeith, 8/8/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Fine overall dining experience

    Just came back from dinner and everyone in our party was delighted with the food, service and atmosphere. We shared a meat pie appetizer and it was delicious. I had pheasant, my wife turkey, and my son duck. All were delicious. Our best dining experience so far during this week in Canada.

    by Bento, 7/19/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Authenic French-Canadian Microwave?

    We were looking forward to experiencing authentic French-Canadian food on our trip to Quebec City. It was to be a special night as we experienced unique regional cuisine so close to home. However, we were somewhat disappointed. I ordered a dish featuring the meat pie and the filling was delicious. However, the crust was obviously microwaved and was rock hard by the time I started eating it. My husband ordered a dish with a puff pastry shell and that pastry had also been microwaved. These problems would have been tolerable if it hadn't been for the assistant server filling my lap with hot coffee--an unpleasant ending to the evening. Just one more thing--if you want authentic atmosphere and own a restaurant, get rid of the Josh Groban CD!

    by peoria_girl, 5/31/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Go for lunch

    We should have listened to others and gone for lunch. Food is authentic and atmosphere nice, good service, etc., but for most people the food is way too meaty, way too much in quantity. The lunch portion of the traditional meat pie with the maple pie for dessert is probably perfect. My dinner portion was a meat and gravy slab topped with a not-too-crisp thick crust. This was the only restaurant with which we were not impressed in Quebec City, though I believe tourists still should not miss it for the authentic touch (at lunch).

    by mmtrio, 2/27/07

Add your own review

Advertisement

Travel Deals in Québec City

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories