Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Quebec City Restaurants

Le Cochon Dingue

  • 46 boul. Champlain Map It
  • Café

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

The café dishes at this cheerful chain, whose name translates into the Crazy Pig, include delicious mussels, steak with fries, thick soups, and apple pie with vanilla cream. At the boulevard Champlain restaurant location, sidewalk tables and indoor dining rooms artfully blend the chic and the antique; black-and-white checkerboard floors contrast with ancient stone walls. The best-kept secret in Québec City is the full breakfast, served here all week. Meanwhile, a few

doors away, you'll find a fresh pastry, sandwich, and pizza shop: Le Petit Cochon Dingue.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

46 boul. Champlain, Québec City, Québec, G1K 4H7, Canada

Map It

Phone:

418-692–2013

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No dinner.

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Quebec City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By mvamor

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 18, 2009

Great place to eat

I really enjoyed the pulled pork sandwich. I also asked for a side of goat cheese, which they happily obliged. That was delicious as well. Cute decor. A pleasure to be there. Crowed tables in certain areas, and could use ventilation on hot days. Totally worth going.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2008

illinilass

Five of us had a delicious lunch here last week. Salads, soup, sandwiches. The Tarte Au Sucre was excellent. It's a Canadian sugar pie, great to share as it is rather rich.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2007

Nice resturant

This resturant was good, we all enjoyed. Music loud enough so one could not converse at the table.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2003

You don't have to be crazy to eat here, but it helps.

Over-rated tourist trap with mediocre food form nice servers.

By Brent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 7, 2003

Go Crazy

This is a small chain. It's a great place for lunch. I don't know about dinner. Feels a bit like a European cafe. Lively and inviting. We had a couple of good sandwiches on freshly baked bread with salad and fries.

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2002

OK with the Teen Scene

We received the best service here - our waitress was extremely efficient, but managed to remain cheery - the food was very,very good, my finicky teenage daughter loved the chicken pot pie - we were both tickled by the jug of petite pickles! - and the prices can't be beat.

By Bridget

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2001

Bistro Cuisine - Yumm!

Professional service;friendly;excellent food. Croques Monsier/Madame were excellent & pork medallions tasty. Good portions-excellent value.

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2001

JUST O.K.

My steak frites was burnt on the outside (even though I requested it cooked Medium) and the frites were disappointing. My sister loved her goat cheese and vegetable pot pie, which our server said was his favorite dish on the menu. I wouldn't go out of my way for this place, but you could do worse elsewhere.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2000

Good Cheer and Good Food

in a comfortable atsmosphere. We went to the location about 1/2 mile outside the old city walls. Lots of local patrons made us feel comfortable. I love moules any-way and our picky teenage son found plenty else to choose from. Very good salads, nice choice of wine/beers. Cheerful service.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement