Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Quebec City Hotels

Hôtel Le Clos St-Louis

Pros

  • Period interiors
  • Cheery breakfast room
  • Great location near wonderful eateries and shops

Cons

  • The Victorian ruffles around the beds won't appeal to everyone
  • No elevator to whisk guests up to their rooms

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

Winding staircases and crystal chandeliers add to the Victorian elegance of this central, four-star inn made up of two updated 1845-era houses. All rooms have antiques or reproductions; some have romantic four-poster or sleigh beds, and eight have decorative fireplaces. A bar and massotherapy room round out the highlights.

Hotel Information

Address:

69 rue St-Louis, Québec City, Québec, G1R 3Z2, Canada

Map It

Phone:

418-694–1311; 800-461–1311

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 16 rooms, 2 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 07/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Quebec City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2011

Hôtel Le Clos St-Louis Review

We cannot say enough about this hotel. This is our second time at this hotel, both over New Years. The hotel and rooms are beautiful. I've stayed at very expensive 4-5 star hotels all over the world . . and this is our favorite. Our hosts, Gyslaine and Paul were charming, filling our many requests for dinner reservations, activities, whatever it took to make our stay more pleasurable. Do not miss this fine small hotel, you will not regret the

decision.

Read More

By dbreid

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2009

Exactly what I was looking for!

I am from California, though I grew up in Maine, and for Christmas and New Years, I wanted to take my girlfriend to the East coast for some winter fun (Snow, skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling, etc). We thought about going to Europe, but decided Quebec City was just as good, and would allow us to stretch our money further. I had never been to Quebec City before, so I did the usual searching for info on the city, what to do, where to stay, etc.

Of course the first thing you see is the Chateau Frontenac. VERY pretty hotel, but also somewhat cluttered, and not really what we were looking for. So I looked around using addresses of Hotels and B&B's that mapped within the old city (inside the city walls is the place to be!) and came up with the Clos St. Louis. I looked over their rooms, and saw that they had an old world charm to them, so I booked two nights over new years with them. That was the best decision of my trip! We (my girlfriend and I) fell in love with the hotel and especially the owner (Ghyslaine) and Jean Paul! Heck, we even became friends with the Maid! They all were incredibly gracious the entire time. They greeted us as guests in their home (right down to the handmade slippers you wear around the house) and helped give advice on all things. For example, we arrive early on the 31st, and Jean Paul immediately asked where we were having dinner. We hadn't made a reservation, so he immediately took care of getting us into an Outstanding restaurant, just a block or so away (it is Cold in Quebec in the winter, so you don't want to walk TOO far. :)... Le Cremarie. And because Grace and I expressed interest in outdoorsy things, he made us a reservation to go dogsleadding and arranged a car to take us right to the place! All of the staff of Le Clos Saint - Louis always made us feel right at home! Even down to the custom cooked breakfast and hot choclates in the morning! The room was superb as well. I write this as a person who has stayed in hotels of all sorts all over the world. I always try for something a little different, and at times, staying in a renovated older "period" home is a gamble. Sometimes homes built over a century ago are drafty, or have tiny, unusable bathrooms. Not so here!!! We stayed in the Maid's Room on the top floor (I asked for top floor specifically) and the room was GREAT! All redone, with modern amenities nestled into old world architecture. A completely redone bathroom with whrilpool somehow fit right in with the antique fixtures and ornate bedspreads. There were modern hotel trappings like Wireless Internet (gotta have that!) and in room safes, combined with pieces from Ghyslaine's own tea serving set collection. All in all, one of those rooms that when you walk in, you say "Wow! This is JUST what I wanted!" We also really got along with many of the other guests. We often chatted with them coming and going, and it was as if we were all guests in the same home. One couple got married while we were there, and others were honeymooning. VERY romantic! I recommend this hotel HIGHLY (why else would I have given it the rating I did?). If you are looking for something affordable with old world charm in the PERFECT location, look no further. One last comment on this was that most of the folks staying there had also looked at the chateau Frontenac, and ALL of us were glad to be staying right where we were. Better location, a block's walk to the Chateau for pictures, and kept away from the bustle of the crowds and the tourists. This hotel is truly a gem, and I will return there likely this summer. Grace and I want to come back and see the city when it is green, not just white! Thanks again!!!! -Dan

Read More

By Andrey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2008

Charm, romance and hospitality

My wife loves romance in all its flavors. So when I was planning our next getaway I naturally chose the Quebec City as the destination. The next task was to find the right hotel. And I was very lucky to discover the website of Le Clos St-Lois - and even more fortunate to reserve a room for the two of us. Our first impression was just great - the 19th century-style lobby, friendly and well-informed portier, clean and cozy room. Then we took a little

tour at the hotel admiring the imagination of it designers. Every floor has some unique trait - an old mirror, a shining chandelier, a small exhibition of children toys... even the computer room has not your standard office furniture but a fitting old table and some 19th-century style maps. To the end of our stay we didn't have any problems. The stuff was ready to help us anytime, the room was well-kept, an early breakfast was promptly served when we needed it. The only thing that I like and Le Clos didn't have - a breakfast buffet. The breakfast is served by waiters. However, I should say it did add to the unique ambiance of this charming little hotel located in the heart of the romantic old Quebec City. Merci beaucoup, Le Clos St Louis. :-)

Read More

By Keltie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 27, 2007

Perfect location for a romantic getaway.

Nestled inside the old city wall we discovered the true charm of Quebec City. The Hotel le Clos Saint-Louis, an intimate 18 room town house which dates back to 1844, takes guests to a time when life moved a little slower and more delicately. Each room has been decorated meticulously by owner M. Ghyslaine Donais, from the lady like Isabelle Julia Racey (deluxe guest room #5) to the more masculine Gratia Leclerc (Deluxe guest room #7). It is hard

not to fall into the romance of this hotel. But even when surrounded by the lures of steamy baths and soft beds, one will appreciate the courtesy of wireless internet in the rooms (at no charge) and the television carefully hidden in the wardrobe. Arrangement can be made through the hotel for bookings at the nearby Restaurant La Crémaillère. We found ourselves dizzy from luscious Merlot, duck in hidden beneath light layers of phyllo, and pork wrapped in sweet maple prosciutto. Celebrating their 35th anniversary as one of the most loved restaurants in the old city, this is a must dine. This is real Quebec fine dining, the menu is only in French, but have no fear as the impressive staff are fantastic guides for the evening. If you are fortunate enough to find yourself destined to this magical city we would most definitely recommend a stay at the Hotel le Close Saint-Louis. As we are letting our friends know Paris is just a bit closer then before.

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2006

Charming Hotel!

Prior to our trip I had spent a lot of time admiring the Hotel le Clos Saint-Louis via its marvelous website. My significant other had stayed there before and assured me it would be a wonderful place to stay, and he was right. It was gorgeous! We were warmly welcomed and even though our room was not quite ready (we arrived at noon), the staff helped stash our luggage and sent us to a lovely spot for lunch. When we returned our room was ready,

and I was amazed at the overall beauty and elegance of the lobby and of our room. Our room was filled with fine antiques, high quality reproductions and a most comfortable four-poster canopy bed  and a thoroughly modern bathroom -- surely the best of all worlds! The hotel staff was very helpful in recommending places to dine and made reservations for us. The breakfast served every morning was lovely (dont miss the banana bread). The hotels location could not be better: just a few blocks up the street from the Chateau Frontenac. The gracious and charming owner, Ghislaine Donais, treats her guests as family. When we return to Quebec City, we will stay at this hotel or change our dates to fit the hotels vacancies. Its that good!! We highly recommend the Hotel le Clos Saint-Louis.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2005

Overall, Just a flawless stay at the Clos Saint-Louis!

Amazing & attentive service, probably the best in Quebec City! Stayed at this Romantic hotel during the Canadian Thanksgiving holidays with my wife. Absolutely lovely! The experience and treatment we received at the Clos Saint-Louis was worthy of a 5 star hotel. Very luxurious accommodation  room and bath were beautiful with a service that was beyond excellent from all employees. Excellent breakfast at 9am and first-rate advises for restaurants

and activities in town. This is the only small hotel to stay at in Old Quebec city for people searching for romance, tranquility, and intimacy.

Read More

By Angela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2005

Amazingly perfect for romance!

My husband and I spent our 20th wedding anniversary at the hotel le Clos Saint-Louis base on this site great reviews and Trip Advosor's. We had the most incredible stay at this perfectly located small Victorian hotel. I can't imagine how it could have been better. The ambience and decor were unparalleled. The service was highly professional, and all our needs and wants were anticipated. The concierge Paul arranged great, trendy dinners for us

every night. We had the chance to meet the owner Ghislaine one morning, she truly is the finest hostess. The location is unbeatable ? walking distance to all major attractions. A great way to enhance the Quebec experience. In my opinion you can do no better for a romantic weekend. After staying at the 5 major hotels in quebec city. This is by far our number one choice. We just felt like we were going home at night....more sophisticated ! Bravo!

Read More

By Carl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2005

Exceptional service with a true smile!

Back in early June of this year we went to Quebec City for a photography workshop with a small American group of professionals. After reviewing all the overwhelming choices of amazing hotels in Quebec, we decided on the hotel le Clos Saint-Louis from many recommendations. It is in deed a superb romantic Victorian hotel! The owner Ghyslaine was unbelievably accommodating and charming. The perfect definition of what a hostess should be. This small

town house hotel is very peaceful and personal. We found the rooms to be spacious, spotlessly clean, with every possible convenience, from multi-channel/language TV, to free Internet access and even a computer room for the guest to look at Emails or send postcards from the hotel. So, summing up - you cannot beat The Clos Saint-Louis for many reasons. I am already planning to return for the Christmas/New Year holiday. We all truly enjoyed it! Merci!

Read More

By Monica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2005

Superb Staff, location and value!

We have been to Quebec City several times and we stayed at the Chateau Frontenac, The Dominion and the Saint-Antoine, however, this small Victorian hotel experience gave us something we rarely find, a home away from home! It?s small size and excellent personalize customer service made Le Clos Saint Louis a warm and welcoming place for English speakers from around the world. In fact we met couples from, Australia, England, Italy and France during

our 4-day stay. This hotel has elegant decor throughout. Lots of antiques and great paintings on the walls. This Victorian style hotel is very peaceful and the staffs are very attentive, polite and helpful, nothing is a problem to Paul or Jocelyn. They will find the perfect solution for you. We received a nice post card from the owner Ghyslaine a week before our arrival. We were lucky enough to take advantage of their summer promotional special. The room was perfect; the bed was perhaps the most comfortable of any hotel bed I've ever slept in. I absolutely loved this hotel, and we agreed that we were never stay anywhere else in Quebec City again; we'll always return to the Hotel le Clos Saint-Louis. I suggest you do the same! Look at their new website, in no doubt one of the best in the hotel industry.

Read More

By Philip

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2005

This is the most Romantic Hotel in Quebec City!

My wife & I (ages 41&45) spent the first 5 days of our honeymoon at this magnificent hotel this memorial holiday. I did extensive web research before selecting the Clos Saint-Louis, and was very proud of my selection. No complaints whatsoever!. I have travelled through Canadian cities many times over the past 20 years, and so have experience with the always unique accommodations from time to time. But this goes down in my book as highly reliable hotel

that we will return to the next time we go to Old Quebec City for pleasure or business. My wife failed in love with this hotel and even wanted to purchase it. The hotel Le Clos Saint-Louis contributed dearly to our wonderful memories. The owner is simple charming and so knowledgeable about the area. The room, the flowers, the chocolat and the Champagne were heavenly! Thanks to the owner and her staff that made our honeymoon something out of the ordinary. Merci to all the wonderful Staff

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2005

Quebec city First class hotel !

Shopping for a hotel online can be confusing at the best of times! I had heard about the Hotel Le Clos Saint Louis in magazine and from friends and all said that this is the best victorian small hotel in old Quebec city. They were right! Everyone in my family of 4 is waiting for our next opportunity to gater at the Clos Saint-Louis. Staff were prompt, funny, professional-wonderful! A dream team. Everyone worked together so well and did a phenomenal

job during our stay of 4 nights in this well located hotel. Merci Jocelyne, Paul-Emile, and Luck for making our stay very magical an authentic! see you all next year! Dr. M. McKinnon, London England.

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2004

Another wonder stay in old quebec!

Hard to imagine better value for your money! The rooms were clean, the loction great, the staff courteous at all time. This hotel is very European and simply perfect for a couple looking for real romance. Do not hesitate, book now you wont regret!

By Louis

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 13, 2004

"premium location with first class service"

The hotel le Clos Saint-Louis was even more amazing than we emagined. The reviews were all right. We will never stay anywhere else as we visit the old Quebec again! Simply Perfect!

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2003

Can't wait to go back

The room was only surpassed by the service. A special thanks to Paul who was more like a friend of the family than a concierge. His restaurant recommendations and thoughtfulness were appreciated. You don't normally get this level of treatment in a hotel of any level. And of course the rooms, and ambience of the hotel in general, were five star, even though the price was not. We will be back.

By Jesse

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2003

Quaint, Quiet and Wonderful

All in all we loved this hotel. It was incredibly charming and quaint (the doorman is the reception, serves breakfast, etc.) We went to the hotel during the Winter Carnaval which was a blast, especially for families or for the young at heart. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was wonderfully decorated, although it was a bit smaller than we expected (Room 26). If you are interested in a hotel with all the charm of the city, I would

definitely recommend this hotel. It is wonderfully located (two blocks away from the Funiculaire or stairs to go to lower town). The staff, especially Angela, was sooooooo friendly, assisting us in every aspect of our stay, including recommending and booking restaurants. Basically, if you are looking for a small, friendly, and quiet hotel where you will be treated on a first name basis, this place is for you.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2002

Great Value, Excellent Location,Wonderful Staff

Just stayed at this property for two nights. We had room 21 and could not have been happier. The Pierre Etiene, the night clerk, gave us a personal wake up call at 3:45 AM, had juice and hot coffee waiting for us, and the taxi ordered to pick us to make our 6:00 AM flight on the morning of our departure. Location in Old Town in great. We were told the owner is remodeling (started just after we left 09/22/02) bringing some of the other rooms up to

the level of the one we stayed. Decent breakfast ( hard boilded egg, ham slices, breads, juice & coffee or tea).Spent 10 days in the Atlantic provinces and this hotel was a great place to end our trip.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement