Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Quebec City Hotels

Fairmont Le Château Frontenac Hotel

  • Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, Upper Town

    Fairmont Le Château Frontenac

  • Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, Upper Town

    Fairmont Le Château Frontenac

  • Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, Upper Town

    Fairmont Le Château Frontenac

  • Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, Upper Town

    Fairmont Le Château Frontenac

  • Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, Upper Town

    Fairmont Le Château Frontenac

  • Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, Upper Town

    Fairmont Le Château Frontenac

  • Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, Upper Town

    Fairmont Le Château Frontenac

  • Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, Upper Town

    Fairmont Le Château Frontenac

  • Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, Upper Town

    Fairmont Le Château Frontenac

Pros

  • Historic aura adds romance to great river views
  • Pets are treated like royalty

Cons

  • It gets busy in the public spaces
  • Some rooms are small for the price

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

In this landmark building, the public rooms—from the intimate piano bar to the 700-seat ballroom reminiscent of the Hall of Mirrors at Versailles—are all opulent; guest rooms are just as elegantly furnished, like mini châteaux, with gold and green touches. This hotel is a tourist attraction in its own right, so the lobby can be quite busy. Reserve well in advance, especially for late June to mid-October. The hotel's chef, Stéphane Modat, now heads the flagship restaurant,

Le Champlain, which was extensively and luxuriously renovated, along with all the hotel's other restaurants and bars.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2012

Hotel Information

Address:

1 rue des Carrières, Québec City, Québec, G1R 4P5, Canada

Map It

Phone:

418-692–3861; 800-441–1414

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 618 rooms, 30 suites
  • No meals

Updated 07/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Quebec City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 27, 2006

Beautiful Canada

We stayed at Chateau Frontenac aug 12-18. Nothing but 5 star. Beautiful hotel. Good service. Pricy but fantastic and worth it. Rooms were clean. fantastic view. Did not like the room they put us in the first day. We told the front desk. The next day they moved us to a Very nice river view room for the same price as city view. Quebec is very clean and looking forward to going back some day.

By JB

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2006

A beautiful building ... in need of a bit of fix up

A beautiful hotel - service is very good and staff are friendly. Hotel is looking a bit worse for wear - but if you can get pas that and appreciate the historical significance of the building and where it is located in the heart of the City, you will enjoy yourself.

By Sonya

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2004

Don't miss Le Champlain!!!

For first ime visitors this hotel is a must. Splurge for a River view and enjoy the windows that open. This was our third stay and our first to dine at Le Champlain. The seven course meal with wines is perhaps the best meal we have ever had!!! It was just delicious in every way and the service was impecable. The best part - jumping on the elevator after all of that divine food and wine!

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 30, 2003

Go Concierge!

WE stayed on the concierge floor and I would never go another way again. The service was wonderful (as well as breakfast and happy hour) and everyone was extremly helpful and friendly. The rooms are rather small however the hotel itself is quite impressive.

By Jane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 2, 2003

Great mid winter break

Just returned from a fabulous weekend at this hotel. Even though I checked in with my little dog I was still given a wonderful spacious turret room with a view of the river and ice slide and Dufferin terrace. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and the hotel was a great place for my small dog as well. Nice pool and hot tub and very nice hotel restaurants. Quiet, gracious, comfortable and we''ll be back again and again.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 10, 2001

Location,Location, Location ! ! !

Its central location and grandeur keep the Frontenac at the top of the city, literally and figuratively. Although the rooms can be small, they are well appointed and maintained. Both its foraml dining room [Le Champlain] and its new, terrace bistro offer fine dining.

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2001

Truly a memorable experience!

One of the nicest hotels in the world.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement