Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Quebec City Restaurants

Le Café du Monde

  • 84 rue Dalhousie Map It
  • Café

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

Next to the cruise terminal in the Old Port, this massive restaurant has a spectacular view to equal its food. The outdoor terrace in front overlooks the St. Lawrence River, while the side verrière (glass atrium) looks onto l'Agora amphitheater and the old stone Customs House. Etched-glass dividers, wicker chairs and palm trees set the scene for the Parisian-bistro-style menu, which includes such classics as steak frites, rotisserie chicken, calamari, and duck

liver pâté with raisin jam.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

84 rue Dalhousie, Suite 140, Québec City, Québec, G1K 4B2, Canada

Map It

Phone:

418-692–4455

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Quebec City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By seafox

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2012

This a "must miss"

Unlike others I was very disappointed with Le Cafe du Monde. The location and view are very convenient to the Lower Town, but it really feels more like a big tourist trap than anything else. The food is mediocre at best. I will say the seafood choices seemed to be the better option, but stay away from any of the standard bistro fare items, they are prepared ahead and generally overcooked. The table setting is that which I would expect from a seaside

restaurant in rural Greece.... that's not saying much.... The wait staff is friendly, but tired.

Read More

By BillJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2011

Le Café du Monde Review

We were ready for an early and reasonably simple dinner, so DW, our self-appointed restaurant guide, picked Café du Monde, just a short walk out to the docks. We sat next to a window that looked out on the seaway and watched a few ships pass before it got dark. DW had a steak with fries, and I had a scallop pasta kind of dish, both very tasty. DW’s deserts were a “trio” of ice creams, and I had profiteroles, one of my favorites. This restaurant

is more informal, and the cooks are very visible from the restaurant. A fun place.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2009

Le Café du Monde Review

Brunch, lunch, dinner, on the river terrace in summer, at the bar or in one of the dining rooms in winter, Le Cafe du Monde is a great choice in any season. While we enjoy a variety of Quebec's restaurants, Le Cafe du Monde is one we feel confident taking virtually any friends to. We enjoy it a deux, but it also shines for groups, including those with children in tow. The extensive menu accommodates many tastes and budgets and the waitstaff are

friendly professionals. Favorite dishes are the soupe de poisson and confit de canard.

Read More

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 4, 2005

Passed the test with our French dinner companion

Our friend Samy would prefer to eat at a French bistro for every meal. We all loved Cafe du Monde for the classic bistro cuisine and the open, lively atmosphere. We went in February during winter carnival, but I can imagine the outdoor patio is lovely in summer. The fish soup and steak frites are outstanding. Very good service, too. We went twice during a five day trip...so you know we liked it.

By Rafael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 27, 2004

Go for the food, and lot's of it.

Get the full course. Starter, main dish and dessert (very sweet ones). Great bang for the buck. Reservations help.

By Jose

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2004

Best place in town!

The place has an incredible view, the food was excellent and the service the best we had in Canada. Food comes in big portions. We had the goat cheese appetizer, it looked & tasted as it came from Gourmet magazine. All the main dishes wee good (veal, track of lamb & steak), and do not forget the desserts: go for the profiteroles! Reserve early, it gets crowded.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement