Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Quebec City Restaurants

Aux Anciens Canadiens

  • 34 rue St-Louis Map It
  • Upper Town
  • Canadian

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

This establishment is named for a 19th-century book by Philippe-Aubert de Gaspé, who once resided here. The house, dating from 1675, has servers in period costume and five dining rooms with different themes. For example, the vaisselier (dish room) is bright and cheerful, with colorful antique dishes and a fireplace. There's a more modern menu and a good wine list, but people come for the authentic French-Canadian cooking, like Lac St-Jean tourtière (meat pie), and maple-syrup pie with fresh cream. One of the best deals is a three-course meal, starting at C$19.95, available until 5:45 everyday.

Restaurant Information

Address:

34 rue St-Louis, Québec City, Québec, G1R 4P3, Canada

Map It

Phone:

418-692–1627

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Mon.–Wed.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Quebec City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By seafox

  • Value

  • Décor

  • Service

Oct 27, 2012

Great lunch on a cold day!

Having read the prior reviews we stopped in for lunch on a cold day. The warm country Canadian atmosphere warmed our cold bones quickly. The meal was perfectly portioned and the Canadian wines complimented the food nicely. Yes, the food has lots of meat and has pastry and yes pastry can be difficult, but this is a great stopover for a hearty luncheon that you will remember positively!

By cxw3111

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Sep 27, 2010

Aux Anciens Canadiens Review

My partner's Lac St Jean meat pie was literally slopped onto the plate, presentation =0; it was fatty and tasted of cheap meat. Best described as bringing back memories of almost inedible Refectory food. The crust was soggy and fatty. My Salmon was better and fair value given the price but nothing to rave over. Other diners' plates appeared much the same. sorry but I reckon give this place a miss

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Sep 2, 2007

I will return .............

Great food, great atmosphere ........... we went for lunch on two occasions. Get there early and be first in line.

  • Service

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 8, 2007

FInd a local diner instead.

Food is boring at best....not like any home made Quebecois food I've eaten before. Tasted like hospital/cafeteria food. Cute dining room. Servers, mostly students, did their best.

By Bento

  • Value

  • Décor

  • Service

Jul 19, 2007

Fine overall dining experience

Just came back from dinner and everyone in our party was delighted with the food, service and atmosphere. We shared a meat pie appetizer and it was delicious. I had pheasant, my wife turkey, and my son duck. All were delicious. Our best dining experience so far during this week in Canada.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

May 31, 2007

Authenic French-Canadian Microwave?

We were looking forward to experiencing authentic French-Canadian food on our trip to Quebec City. It was to be a special night as we experienced unique regional cuisine so close to home. However, we were somewhat disappointed. I ordered a dish featuring the meat pie and the filling was delicious. However, the crust was obviously microwaved and was rock hard by the time I started eating it. My husband ordered a dish with a puff pastry shell and

that pastry had also been microwaved. These problems would have been tolerable if it hadn't been for the assistant server filling my lap with hot coffee--an unpleasant ending to the evening. Just one more thing--if you want authentic atmosphere and own a restaurant, get rid of the Josh Groban CD!

Read More

By mmtrio

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Feb 27, 2007

Go for lunch

We should have listened to others and gone for lunch. Food is authentic and atmosphere nice, good service, etc., but for most people the food is way too meaty, way too much in quantity. The lunch portion of the traditional meat pie with the maple pie for dessert is probably perfect. My dinner portion was a meat and gravy slab topped with a not-too-crisp thick crust. This was the only restaurant with which we were not impressed in Quebec City,

though I believe tourists still should not miss it for the authentic touch (at lunch).

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

X

No Thanks

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.