Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Montreal Hotels

Auberge Bonaparte

  • 447 rue St-François-Xavier Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Luxury car service to airport for $50
  • Free access to two local gyms
  • Dazzling solarium
  • Perfect for theater lovers—the Centaur Theatre is next door

Cons

  • Downstairs restaurant can be a bit noisy on weekends
  • Not suitable for rambunctious kids

Updated 08/12/2014

Fodor's Review

Stately and distinguished, Bonaporte feels like a private library tucked inside a 19th-century building, with a romantic inn upstairs; keep heading upward and you'll find the newly expanded rooftop terrace, with great views. Wrought-iron or Louis Philippe–style furnishings fill the rooms, which all come with with free WiFi. The rooms in the rear (some with balconies) have views over the private gardens of the Basilique Notre-Dame-de-Montréal. The main level has a lively

restaurant and 14-place bar. You can enjoy the ample three-course breakfast downstairs or nibble on croissants in your room. Both are included in the room price.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

447 rue St-François-Xavier, Montréal, Québec, H2Y 2T1, Canada

Map It

Phone:

514-844–1448

Website: www.bonaparte.ca

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 30 rooms, 1 suite
  • Breakfast

Updated 08/12/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Montreal

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 7, 2006

"In the night there is peace for the old and hope for the young." and at the Bonaparte there is

a wonderous dreamy pillow to rest your head. What a little piece of paradise in the heart of Old Montreal. Fastidous, romantic, happy are just some of the words that come to mind when thinking about our weekend. We loved the place and location. We will always stay here when visiting this wonderous city.

By cko

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 28, 2006

Great Value

This is by far one of my favorite hotels to stay in. We stayed here for only 2 days (2 days elsewhere because they were already booked but would have made it 4 if we could have). Rooms were small but quaint. Staff was very helpful. Free breakfast downstairs was wonderful! Actually, the best hotel breakfast I've had. We had dinner there one night there which was also excellent. I'd say this is the hotel to book if you visit Montreal.

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2006

Best of the Best

Great staff, comfy but elegant rooms, charming quartier!

By Devi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2005

Treated Like Royalty for a Beautiful Anniversary Evening

The service was impeccable. The entire staff was charming and welcoming. The food was absolutely fabulous. Get the five-course tasting menu! It's a steal at $62 per person, and the offerings are world class. The whole experience was breathtaking. We will definatly be visiting there again!

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 24, 2005

Magnifique Montréal

Coming to Monteal in the spring time was very exciting, but staying at the Bonaparte was even more spectacular. From the moment the owner, Michael Banks, greeted us in the lobby to the moment we left, everything was perfect. If you are so lucky to get a room at his lovely 31 room Bonaparte, or even at his second smaller more rustic Auberge around the corner called Sans Souci, your stay will be as unforgetable as ours. Nous revendront!

By T

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 11, 2004

Great hotel in a great location!

We stayed there our first two nights in Montreal and liked it so much we came back for our last night. Breakfast is included in the room rate and it's more than just a continental breakfast (crepes, french toast, omelettes, oj, coffee or tea, and toast and croissants).

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 21, 2004

Perfection!!

Last week, my husband and I decided "spur-of-the-moment" to spend our anniversary in Montreal. We wanted a small, romantic hotel in the older section of the city. Luckily, we found the Auberge Bonaparte and were able to book a room. We splurged on king deluxe accommodations and it was worth every penny! From the moment we drove up to the hotel, I knew it was exactly what we were looking for. Our room, #402, was beautifully decorated without that awful

"corporate" feeling that so many hotels have today. There are even real locks on the doors- no swipe cards! Both the bedroom and bathroom (with a two-person whirlpool tub) were immaculate and we had a charming view of rue St. Francois-Xavier. Looking out my window and seeing the cobblestone street and lanterns and hearing the clip-clop of the horses made me feel as if I'd been transported to another time. And I can't say enough about the service. The Directeur commercial, Michael Banks, went out of his way to make reservations for us at a wonderful restaurant called Holder. Although the restaurant was booked solid, he was able to get us a table. The meal and servgice were as great as he said they'd be. The delicious breakfast, included with the room, was a wonderful end to a great stay. If you're looking for an historical, charming, beautiful hotel that's small enough to feel intimate yet large enough so that you still have privacy, I highly recommend the Auberge Bonaparte. I'm already looking forward to my next visit!

Read More

By Diana

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2004

Incredibly Charming!

The room was quaint and elegant, the service was impecable and the "perks" (especially breakfast at the Bonaparte Restaurant)made the whole trip worthwhile.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2003

Charming and Comfortable

With harwood floors and lovely views, the rooms have a lot of character. The prices are a very good deal for old Montreal. The place has a Buenos Aires/Parisian feel to it. My only complaint is that our bathroom was quite small though very elegant.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2003

It Feels More French Than France Itself

Can't imagine a nicer place to stay and dine than the Auberge Bonaparte. Service throughout the inn and dining room was first rate. We had a room facing the back, which happened to give us a great view of the fireworks on the eve of Canada Day. And the restaurant cooking is superb! The concierge recommended another restaurant for our second night there, which we had not seen listed in any of the guide books. It was called Laloux, and lived up

to his recommendation. A taxi driver asked us how we--obviously American tourists--had heard of the place, and seemed impressed that the hotel had sent us there. As for Auberge Bonaparte, five stars all the way!

Read More

By Janine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2003

A Relaxing Stay

Book early for this hotel! We really enjoyed our two-night stay in Vieux Montreal. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2003

Great hotel... Vulnerable parking facility

Stayed there in September, 2002, in a wonderful, quiet room on the 5th floor facing Notre Dame parking lot and garden. Perhaps the nicest room we've had anywhere for beauty and comfort. With one exception (the night clerk who was to be watching the parking lot on the video monitor) the staff was extremely helpful. The restaurant, for both breakfast and dinner, is terrific. Wait service very friendly and helpful. We will return to the hotel, but not

if we are driving through. Our car was broken into.

Read More

By Delaine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2002

fantastic

An absolutely beautiful european style hotel in the perfect location. A great breakfast served by a wonderful staff. I'd stay here everytime if I could afford it. A fantastic experience.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 20, 2002

Great place !

The Bonaparte was charming, romantic and quaint. The room was immaculate and the king size bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was really good (plus it was included) Dinner was fabulous. It was a really great place for the value. We did find the waiters not to be extremely friendly though. Maybe because we were there during their Thanksgiving holiday (Oct 14) and they weren't too happy about working.

By Lucas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 28, 2002

RE: Tres romantique

This is in reply to another posting regarding room 304. I work for the Auberge and I would like to make it clear that the "weird noise" in room 304 was caused by a problem with the air conditioning that HAS BEEN FIXED. Anyone wishing to stay at the hotel should rest assured that there is no longer a "noise" in the room.

By Rene

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2002

C'est si bon

The Bonaparte is lovely. It's in the best part of Montreal (Vieux Port). It's far enough from the action where you don't hear the noise, but it's close enough for a short walk to the action when you want it. Service was good and the rooms are immaculate. Would book again.

By SZ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2002

Tres romantique

A beautiful little inn on a great street in the prettiest section of Montreal. The rooms are clean, new and simply decorated. One complaint: like another Fodors poster, our room (304) had a weird noise which woke us up several times. The staff feigned ignorance but were fantastic about giving us another room (the blissfully quiet 506) for next night. Breakfasts were great. The fruit salad seemed tiny at first, but it turned out to be the perfect size.

Everything we had -- crepes, French toast, eggs -- was fantastic and the restaurant's ambience was perfect. We'd definitely stay here again (though not in room 304).

Read More

By Dee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 30, 2001

Great Little Hotel

We found this small European style hotel perfect for our weekend in Montreal. Our room and bath was large and very, very clean. The hotel staff were extremely helpful. When we asked for a wine bistro, they sent us a few blocks to a perfect courtyard wine bistro that we really enjoyed. When we asked for a lunch restaurant and desribed what we wanted, they also knew the perfect place. The restaurant in the hotel deserves a rating of 5s as well.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement