Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Montreal Restaurants

Milos

  • 5357 av. du Parc Map It
  • $$$$
  • Greek

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

Don't let the nets and floats hanging from the ceiling fool you: Milos is no simple taverna (a fact reflected in the prices, which some argue are exorbitant). The main dish is usually the catch of the day grilled over charcoal and seasoned with parsley, capers, and lemon juice, but appetizers like grilled vegetables or shrimp, or the sliced zucchini and eggplant with lightly fried saganaki cheese and tzaziki, are a good way to start. Fish are priced by the pound and often

displayed, along with the vegetables, in the restaurant's colorful, open-market interior. There are meaty options, too. If you're on a budget, consider the affordable fixed-price three-course late-night menu available from Thursday to Saturday between 10 and midnight for C$25.13; or the three-course fixed-price lunch menu for C$25.14.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

5357 av. du Parc, Montréal, Québec, H2V 4G9, Canada

Map It

Phone:

514-272–3522

Website: www.milos.ca

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch weekends
  • Reservations essential

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By eJabber

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 7, 2007

Fresh food fights back...

This is fabulous restaurant and not as expensive as you might have been led to believe (although its not cheap). Milos is all about fresh food standing up for itself. The philosophy is simple, fresh food tastes better, and sauces, herbs and spices are only used by those attempting to camouflage the bland and/or their incompetence. We sat at the back of the restaurant on a Saturday evening, there was a steady ebb and flow but it never seemed over

run. The wait staff was excellent, coming and going as required without interruption. The wine list is limited but if you do your homework before you go youll be better prepared to make the right decision for your budget. But regardless of staff and ambience youre here for the seafood. Yes the fish is served whole, so it should be shared. Two can easy work there way through the Sea Bass as we did. In terms of food, we ordered the Oyster Mushrooms (from Poland of all places), charcoal grilled and served with a slice of lemon, they were divine. Next up, the house special, lightly fried zucchini served with tzatziki, absolutely delicious. Greek salad arrived and was served by our waiter, who carefully ensured my wife didnt get any onions, not sure if this is house policy but it was a classy touch. Then came the nicest fish dish weve had in years, the black sea bass, naked bar the olive oil and lemon juice, was absolutely splendid. We had sides of chunky French fries (I know what your thinking but I couldnt help myself) and broccoli for a little color. The true test of course is whether or not we would return and the answer is unanimously a YES.

Read More

By Elisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2006

Excellent dining experience

Nothing negative to say... I don't understand the comment from the person in New Orleans.. I am a wine connaisseur and obviously they don't know how it works here in Quebec. Markup here is 2.5 to 3 times at most, industry standard if you ask me.

By Donald

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 1, 2006

The wine prices ruin the experience

The greek salad is very good, as is the grilled fish. But the prices are stratospheric and the pricey wine list insults your intelligence. The cheapest champagne is $125 a bottle, or $28 per glass. And nothing special. The wine markups must exceed 400%, which effectively ruins a good, albeit expensive meal. Service is formal, somewhat aloof. Avoid unless you like having your pocket picked.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2005

Save your pennies!

While the food was very good, the prices are outrageous. $21 for deep fried calamari. I've had better, much, much cheaper. Excellent service. Great women's washroom.

By Patti

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2003

Much more than just the food

What an experience - a tour of the fish case with seafood from all over the world, many I'd never heard of before. It was an education - and the finished product was wonderful. Friendly service, a lively atmosphere. Lots of fun! Would definitely return.

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 30, 2002

Be Prepared to Wait - even with reservations

I ate here in September, 2002. Despite having made reservations well in advance, had to wait almost 45 minutes for a table. Having said that, however, the food was exceptional. Wonderful fresh fish and the Greek salad is terrific. Waiter did try to get us to order more, but isn't necessary - portions are generous. Only drawback is service.

By Joseph

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2002

Perfect in it's simplicity!

Proves the point that perfect ingredients prepared expertly but simply, can result in an exquisite dining experience. The incredibly fresh fish here, which is simply grilled and served with only a touch of fragrant olive oil, a few capers and a pinch of chopped parsley is a real treat. Add to that a wonderful Greek salad, some grilled vegetables, and a delectable galactoburako or baklava...and you have heaven! Expensive, but worth every penny!!

By Terri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2001

Delicious, but exceedingly pricey!

Everything here gets the grilled treatment, and to marvelously tasty results! Fish, vegetables, even dirty gym socks would taste marvelous the Milos way. There is definitely magic going on in that kitchen; however, US$50 for one fish (slightly under 2 pounds including head and tail) is a bit too steep, in my opinion, even if it barely feeds 2 people. It doesn't come with a single thing, so you'd better order some side dishes. The crab cake appetizer

is the absolute crabbiest, moistest, best crab cake anyone in our party of 6 had ever tasted. The Polish mushroom appetizer is "to die for" but sparse. My mom wanted to order soft shell crabs as an appetizer, but felt that $21 (Canadian) for each crab was highway robbery. The young, arrogant, and not-very-knowledgeable waiter we had should have provided better service at these (or any other) prices. He was slow, not very attentive, smart-alecky, and knew nothing about wine, even after claiming that he did. If you go expecting all this and are willing to put up with it, then you'll enjoy fantastically fresh and heavenly seafood.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement