Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Montreal Restaurants

Le Taj

  • 2077 rue Stanley Map It
  • $$
  • Indian

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

The lights are dim and the ambience is warm at Le Taj. This restaurant carries a piece of Montreal's history with its ornate and detailed three-panel mud wall originally made for India's pavillion at Expo '67. The focus here is northern Indian cuisine, which is less spicy and more delicate than that of the south. The Tandoor clay ovens seal in the delicious flavors and keep fish and meat moist. Thalis—full meal platters with a variety of different dishes—are a good

way to go if you want to sample different things. Vegetarians are especially happy here, although even meat eaters love the saag paneer (Indian white cheese with spinach). The all-you-can-eat lunch buffet is C$16 and the nightly "Indian feast" is C$40.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

2077 rue Stanley, Montréal, Québec, H3A 1R7, Canada

Map It

Phone:

514-845–9015

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Sat.

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Montreal

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2012

Le Taj Review

Been to 40 countries. I eat local food wherever I go. Vinod Kapoor runs Le Taj, he is always there, a real gentleman. The place is spotless, the food is fresh, plentiful, tasty "Northern Style". The waiters are alert, friendly, helpful and always polite. I eat there at least 2 x a month, never had better Indian food of this style anywhere. I was in Egypt 3 years ago, would not dare eat anything outside a hotel, but I enjoy Mid-East restaurants here

and elsewhere if they are clean. I have no other interest in le Taj, except to enjoy the food and the service.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 27, 2009

the worst restaurent

le taj is the worst restaurent i ever went to in the whole world. i went to its lunch buffet that costed 15 dollars with taxes, the buffet was consistant of only tandori chicken, medium quality and lente. the fruit was only grapes of very low quality. the service is zero, no one if bringing you water and no one is removing empty dished. really i felt very bad after visiting that bad place. i will never go there again.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2008

Best naan in town

I am a big Indian food lover and Le Taj Restaurant was the next restaurant on my list. Of all the places I have been to, I truly believe that you cannot find such deliciously handmade naan anywhere else in Montreal. If you already enjoy regular naan, wait until you try out the garlic naan: it is simply out of this world! Whatever the secret ingredient is, who needs to know when you get a generous portion of fluffy, golden, straight out the oven naan.

Even after a while, the naan stays crisp in your plate and doesn’t become soggy or oily. It accompanies everything wonderfully.

Read More

By Rich

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2005

Good food the buffet had am impresssive spread!

My wife and I went there for lunch just before we went to the airport. The buffet was easily the best Indian buffet I have had or seen. Wide selections of meat, seafood, vegetables, etc. Our favorite was the shrimp with spinach. I am sure if we ordered off the menu the food would have been good and probably better than the buffet. For such an impressive spread for $10.95 it is hard to turn down!

By Brandon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2004

Taj Tandori is Truly Tempting

wow...the tandori melts in your mouth, so does the nan! I've been to many many indian restaurants in eastern canada and the US...Taj has by far the best tandori i've ever tasted. it melts in your mouth and the flavor excites your taste buds. mmm mmm, cant wait for my next visit to Montreal!

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2003

I would definitely return

Delicious food, and excellent service.

By Julian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2002

Good, not great

I've been here several times, and always left with mixed feelings. The set menu for $23 gives you great value for the money (soup, appetizer, main meat, main veg, one nan, dessert & coffee), but though some dishes are delicious, I find others uninteresting. If you order a shrimp curry, don't expect more than 4-5 relatively small shrimp; but the nan is the best in the city. For a higher-quality Indian meal (IMHO), try the Restaurant Sitar on Queen

Mary. It's always empty (mainly a lunch place), but their food is invariably excellent. It also has a larger selection than Le Taj.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement