Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Montreal Restaurants

L'Express

  • 3927 rue St-Denis Map It
  • French

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

L'Express is the closest thing Montréal (and maybe even Canada) has to a Parisian bistro. Service is fast and efficient—most of the waiters have been here for 20 or 30 years—prices are reasonable, and the food is good, even if the tiny tables barely have room to accommodate the crowds. The city's celebrity chefs congregate here for dinner after hours and breakfast before hours, which speaks volumes about the quality and authenticity. The steak tartare with french

fries, salmon with sorrel, and calves' liver with tarragon are marvelous. Don't expect the menu to change—diners would have a conniption. Jars of gherkins, fresh baguettes, and aged cheeses make the pleasure last longer, as do the reasonably priced bottles of imported French wine. Kids are warmly welcome.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

3927 rue St-Denis, Montréal, Québec, H2W 2M4, Canada

Map It

Phone:

514-845–5333

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By aromes

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2009

Just ok

What a cute typical bistro with a retro feel. I started with a good octopus and lentil salad (tasty). Then I ordered the lobster risotto (did appreciate the good quantity of lobster) -> nice smell, well cooked, but it lacked the rich creamy mouthfeel that I like in my risotto. Enoughly good and tasty, nevertheless. Dessert (orange panna cotta) did not live up to my expectations: average taste. Overall: good enough. I will certaintly give another

try to some more on their menu

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2007

My favourite bistrot in Montreal

Home away from home as far as I'm concerned. I have been there for over 20 years and in my opinion, it's the most consistent restaurant in Montreal. You can't go wrong with the celeri remoulade, the bavette echalotte, the steak tartare or the veal kidneys. Ask for the private imported wine list. You might find a bargain.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 7, 2006

Of all sad words of tongue or pen,The saddiest are these: "It might have been."

Oh I wish we did not take this reccomendation. Our last afternoon in Montreal and our lunch was anything but memorable. Food was okay. Our waitress was courteous but too rushed. As far as atmosphere I could have been in any bistro in the world. Nothing memorable at all.

By Padraig

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2006

Brilliant Food

Is it better than Nuances or Toque or Pied du Couchon? All different in their own right but a meal at L'Express is an experience. Ate at the bar - bartender was very knowledgeable not only about wine but also the food. The lamb was mouth watering as were the desserts.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2005

C'est magnifique!

We just spent 4 days/3 nights in Montreal and L'Express was our favourite meal. We had lunch at the bar and felt we were transported to Paris. Superb. We highly recommend L'Express.

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2002

Montreal waitress stereotype rude French snob

Although I have to admit the food was good, I found the menu limited and very obscure and the service beyond rude. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone unless they like to believe that the French experience must be snobbish.

By Jen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2002

Not as loud as expected...worth stopping by

Really enjoyed dinner here - what a SUPER value. Great wine list and excellent choice of bistro dishes...all well prepared.

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 11, 2002

A Montreal Must!

This restaurant is truly a jem worth discovering. But be advised that this is a classic french bistro, so go if you love french food, service and atmosphere, and eat and drink til your heart is content! prices very reasonable

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement