Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Montreal Hotels

Château Versailles

  • 1659 rue Sherbrooke Ouest Map It
  • $$
  • Clubby Atmosphere

Pros

  • Elaborate Continental breakfast
  • Huge rooms with fireplaces
  • Easy access to museum district
  • Free Wi-Fi

Cons

  • At busy intersection
  • Too staid for children—and possibly some adults

Updated 08/12/2014

Fodor's Review

Dignified clientele appreciate the luxury within the Versailles' two elegant beaux-art mansions, with high ceilings, plaster moldings, and antique furnishings. Marble fireplaces in many of the guest rooms and public spaces still work—a treat on chilly evenings. Wake up to an elaborate Continental buffet-style breakfast with frittatas, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, cheeses, and pâté. Don't forget to ask for your free passes to the contemporary art museum and the Canadian

Centre for Architecture.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1659 rue Sherbrooke Ouest, Montréal, Québec, H3H 1E3, Canada

Map It

Phone:

514-933–3611; 888-933–8111

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 62 rooms, 3 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 08/12/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Montreal

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2011

Château Versailles Review

Unfortunately, not the hotel it use to be. Uncomfortable bed, think sheets, few towels and not a great breakfast. Location is great, but for the price, i would recommend staying somewhere else until they improve the quality again.

By Brenda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 12, 2006

Chateau Bad-oh

The Chateau Versailles claims to be a top hotel. Our room wasn't as large as a Super 8! When we arrived on June 30, no air condtioning was on and the room was in the basement where you look out on the street and lots of noise and traffic. Our 1st morning only the bed was made, no clean towels or new shampoo. The reservation was made months in advance by our son and their room somewhat better but certainly not worth the price we paid.. Find another

hotel in Montreal

Read More

By Janine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 29, 2003

Paradise by the Basement Lights

We booked our room through Cheaprooms. We paid only $99 per night. It was obvious that our room was one of the 'you cheap bastard' rooms. When we were led down a stairway to what really appeared to be a basement I was rather apprehensive of the grotto-like room. Our windows were up high-like a basement and faced Sherbrooke avenue. My apprehension subsided once I appreciated the large size of our room, elegant decor and luxurious bathrooom. The

King bed was one of the most comfortable ever! Service was friendly although not terribly helpful. We simply wanted directions to a restaurant and our desk clerk kept referring us to the Concierge across the street at the 'Hotel Versialles'. I would definitely return but I would call ahead and request one of the room numbers listed in other reviews. You get what you pay for. Location is unbeatable!

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2002

Horrible

Stayed there in October. Put us in a room that smelled of body odor. When we complained we were told too bad. We checked out the next day.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 14, 2002

Excellent staff!!!!

From day one, 9/14 the service was impeccable. An extremely professional young woman greeted my husband and I at the front desk, and throughout our stay she provided invaluable help. We stayed in the Chateau--405. The room was very clean. We especially enjoyed our breakfast every morning, in the very comfortable room it was provided. We definitely would return. Oh yes, the bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2002

Horrible

We stayed in room 424 at the Chateau Versailles. The bathroom is the size of most hotel's closets. It smelled of body odor and cigarettes. When we complained to the staff, they were indifferent and seemed not to care. We went back to another hotel. The Hotel Nelligan is $20CA more and there is no comparison... even if our room had been clean.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2002

C'est Bon

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel, and our room, were immaculate and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The location is great - close enough to get to attractions, restaurants, shops without being in a congested area. I enjoyed the decor, a mix of old and contemporary. We would definitely stay here again!

By Dee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 20, 2002

Too Pared Down for Comfort

Interesting location and architecture has been "modernized" beyond belief. What was not too long ago a warm and fuzzy Victorian/Edwardian interior with antiques,etc, is now stark, and "trendy".Stayed in room with streetview, lovely large Victorian windows but room decor and service only average.Breakfasts adequate.A disappointment after visiting years ago when it was oozing with charm and antiques. Too bad things change.

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2001

Fine Accommodations, Excellent Service

Room 1455 - This executive suite was our choice because of a special offer by the hotel. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The hotel staff was extremely helpful, and friendly. At one point, the staff moved several cars just to retrieve my cell phone charger. They even charged it for me and returned it to my room when they were done. The restaurant and lounge are top notch, with the finest choice of food and liqueur. Overall, this was

the best value I have had in a restaurant in many years. Located a couple blocks from the metro, it is also conveniently close to the city, without being in the congested areas.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement