Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Montreal Restaurants

Chez l'Épicier

  • 311 rue St-Paul Est Map It
  • French
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

The menus at this classic French fusion restaurant are printed on brown paper, but the tables have crisp white linens and there's nothing down-market about the seasonal creative dishes: guinea fowl pie, gnudi with housemade ricotta, and the chocolate "club sandwich" dessert with pineapple "fries" that is a crowd favourite and ever-present on the menu. Chef Godbout is a master of his trade and a meal at Chez l'Épicier is a feast for all the senses. If you choose to splurge,

which is highly recommended, an C$80, seven-course menu is available. Take a moment to browse through the small section of shelves that showcase some fine terroir ingredients, from top olive oils to tasty spreads.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

311 rue St-Paul Est, Montréal, Québec, H2Y 1H3, Canada

Map It

Phone:

514-878–2232

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Mon.–Wed. and weekends
  • Reservations essential

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Montreal

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Yertuag

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 6, 2012

Catastrophic

On the recommendation of our hotel concierge, we chose this place to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Big mistake! It was to be an evening to remember, but not in the way we hoped. We sat down at 6.30pm and opted for the 7-course tasting menu. At 9pm we had still not got to the main course, and were kept waiting for 1 whole hour (!) between the 3rd and 4th courses. We finally got the dessert around 10.15 and managed to make our escape just

after 10.30. The food? We were long since past caring by then! Our special evening had been comprehensively ruined and we had paid CAN $264 for the privilege (comprising food for 2 with wine accompaniment for 1). Take it from us: when in Montreal, avoid L'Epicier!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 23, 2012

Chez l'Épicier Review

We usually dine at Bonaparte when in Montreal, but based on the the reviews here, we decided to try L'Epicier. What a disappointment. Firstly, it's not the "romantic" dining room we expected. It's noisy, and the tables are so close together, you can hear the conversations at all of your neighbor's tables. The service is attentive, but slow paced. After receiving our first course (my smoked salmon was exquisite, but my husband's salad was a pile

of lettuce), we waited an hour for the main course. About half an hour of waiting, I said to my husband "the main course better be outstanding". Well, when it finally arrived, it was less than room temperature. We complained, and the waiter brought me a new plate (I sat there while my husband was eating his filet). Well, on the second try, the meat was warm, but everything else was just rearranged, and colder than before. Beautiful presentation, but for the price, I honestly expected better flavor, and certainly appropriate temperature. We'll stick with Bonaparte for our special dinners out in the future.

Read More

By BillJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2011

Chez l'Épicier Review

This was our favorite of three upscale restaurants in Montreal. Our concierge got us a reservation at this very popular restaurant, bagging the last two seats at the bar. Turned out wonderful, as the bartender was a conversationalist, along with the diners on each side of us. We had a delightful time here. The food: Amazing. Presentation: Wow! We both had a lobster dish featured as a special for the night. “Quebec lobster with aromatic

butter garlic dill sauce. Paprika froth, salsify and herb potatoes.” I had a “Mars Bar” for desert, a concoction of chocolate ice cream, and various sauces. DW had a “Maple and Lemon Crisp donut stick.” Impossible to describe (but certainly not a donut), and very good. Recommend this place most highly. NOTE: Fodor’s restaurant map shows this restaurant incorrectly west instead of east rue St-Paul.

Read More

By aromes

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 7, 2009

Creative food!

FOOD ===== Started with the foie gras: not greasy at all and incredibly succulent. The accompaniments were a mix of hits (the fresh light taste of pear was an excellent and interestingly add-on to that succulent foie gras), but the few other accompaniments were just ok (at least you can see that they try pushing the limits of flavors/savors, which I truely liked). Main course was roasted scallop + braised pork: each bite of the pork was succulent

and the scallop was of perfect tenderness with perfect flavors. Apart the accompanying curry (nice try..but I wasn't enthusiastic about it since it turned out irrelevant here and kinda killed a bit of the awesome flavors of both the scallops and pork), the overall dish was of mouth drooling experience! I can't say enough about the dessert: I picked the chocolate club sandwich which was more of an elaborate symphony of multi dimensional palate-teasing flavors -> The accompanying pineapple fries were simply lovely, the creamy melon was utterly yummy, and the fresh mint added a perfect heavenly enriched flavor. I am fond of chefs who pushes the limits of our palate. Although the results can turn sometimes disappointing, sometimes great, they have the merit of being original and passionate. And l'Epicier, from my own personal experience, is an awesome lab of creativity. Overall, a definitely great inspired high end cuisine.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2009

Pefect for a foodie like me.

My daughter and I ate dinner here on Jun3 9, and it was wonderful. fun atmosphere, perfect service, and the food was delicious. I had mushroom pate and mushroom soup, and I wish I had the recipes.

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 6, 2006

Really surprising lunch!

We were walking in the area the other day window shopping and decided to drop in for lunch because the place was a bit busy and didn't look too touristy. Had to wait a few minutes for a table, but, had a little fun looking at some of the "groceries". The food was surprisingly good. The curried cauliflower soup was hot and fabulous. The braised lamb main course was tender, well sauced and garnished with beautiful little roasted potatoes. Dessert was

the four creme brulees. Great!!! Nice attentive service. A very pleasant lunch.

Read More

By Gordon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 7, 2005

Modern French Food in an Old Grocery Store

The food was creative and delicious. The service was great -well paced and unobtrusive, but the waiter was always there when you needed her. I will definitely return.

By Chantal

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2005

Too trendy for my taste

This restaurant is all about 'style' - gourmet, small portions, unique flavors (sometimes a bit too out there for me), and somewhat snobby service. If you are from NYC or LA you may love this place but it left me and my 3 friends (2 New Yorkers) less than satisfied and a bit disappointed. Just want to let you know what to expect if you pick this restaurant.

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2005

Walked out

Made a reservation based on recommendations in guidebooks. When we were seated, we asked for glasses of tap water since it was extremely hot and we walked 20 minutes to get there. The waiter apparently took this as a personal affront, since he disappeared for at least 10 minutes and came back with glasses of warm water, no ice. (This isn't Paris for God's sake!) While we waited for the water, we perused the menu, which was limited and weird, and the

wine list, which was very overpriced (I know my wines and what is a reasonable markup.) We both decided based on the apathetic service and unappealing menu, to walk.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement