Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Montreal Hotels

Hôtel Nelligan

  • 106 rue St-Paul Ouest Map It
  • $$$
  • Clubby Atmosphere
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Cozy rooms
  • Great views from the rooftop terrace and restaurant
  • Lively bar right on rue St-Paul
  • Huge bath tubs

Cons

  • Weekend wedding traffic
  • Valet parking is $28 plus tax

Updated 08/12/2014

Fodor's Review

There's a cultivated air of refinement echoing through this ultraromantic hotel, a landmark on rue St-Paul named after Québec's most passionate poet, Émile Nelligan. The hotel, just a block south of the Basilique Notre-Dame-de-Montréal, occupies two adjoining buildings from the 1850s, with thick stone and brick walls. Penthouses have terraces with views of the river; others overlook the four-story, brick-walled atrium. All beds are king-size, and the bathrooms are big

enough to park your car. At the pub-style bar, Méchant Bœuf, try to snag a table near the window overlooking rue St-Paul and watch the world hustle by. And for breakfast with a view of the Old City and the harbor, head for the rooftop terrace.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

106 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montréal, Québec, H2Y 1Z3, Canada

Map It

Phone:

514-788–2040; 877-788–2040

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 44 rooms, 59 suites, 2 penthouses
  • No meals

Updated 08/12/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Montreal

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2012

Thank you all!

I am writing this review to specially thank the staff of the hotel for such a great work everybody did during my wedding reception. Everything was amazing, on time, detailed, and almost perfect. I could not been happier with the result of all my effort without the support of every member of the staff in this gorgeous hotel. The reception was beautiful. Thank you all. The hotel has big pros and cons. The big pro I found and that was the main reason

why we chose it for our wedding was the location: Vieux Montreal. It gives an amazing ambiance and a beautiful romantic atmosphere. However the big con was that the hotel was all booked so we had to put somewhere else a few relatives that came to town only for us.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2007

Incredible stay

We had a great time at the Hotel Nelligan. The room on the fifth floor was lovely (fireplace, king bed, double jacuzzi tub) and the service and the staff were superior. I can't recall a warmer staff. After reading some of the other reviews I was a little concerned but I saw nothing on what was mentioned. The hotel is in the oldest part of the city so the streets are narrow (although not alleys) and the sights and sounds of the city could be heard

(although not to the extent of being troublesome.) We went the day after Thanksgiving and the hotel was decorated for Christmas. Combine that with an early snow and the place was magical. If you want to stay in a small, intimate hotel in the center of old Montreal, the Hotel Nelligan is a perfect location.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 24, 2007

Starts well ~ ends poorly

The staff is extremely polite and pleasant. The bar staff is exceptional. The restaurant (Versus) is great. The location is good. Our window overlooked a small courtyard which really was looking at another brick wall, so there was no point in having a window, which makes it dark. The beds are hard ~ like sleeping on the floor. The pillows ~ bring your own! I need a massage after using them. Friday night was great. Saturday night there was a wedding

in the banquet room, which happened to be below our room on the second floor. We did not get to sleep 'til 2:30am and we specifically booked the weekend to relax and sleep. The hotel should add more sound proofing and/or put non-wedding guests on the top floors and/or not host weddings.

Read More

By Byron1

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 1, 2007

Overall good hotel

We stayed at the Hotel Gault two years in a row and decided to try the Nelligan this year. It has a "warmer looking atmosphere", the staff treated us well and the roof top restaurant was nice. We found our Loft Suite very nice but we do agree that you heard more noise due to the location compared to the Gault. Verses was ok.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 3, 2007

Good location - Hotel Not Luxurious

After a wonderful stay in a Relais & Chateaux property in Quebec City, we were looking forward to continuing our luxurious trip to Montreal. We were disappointed when we were shown to our Hotel Nelligan King Loft Suite that overlooked the alleyway and had a lot of noise that involved trash collection, etc. We asked if it would be possible to switch to a room with a different view, and the Front Office staff never got back to us. While the room

was large, the furnishings were not high quality. (Picture a cheap knockoff of Pottery Barn.) The Hotel did have beautiful Frette bathrobes; however, the bath towels themselves were a low-end Martex line and some were even threadbare. These inconsistencies show that the hotel has a lot of opportunity to improve. The food at Verses was okay. The waitstaff was friendly and very attentive. Unfortunately, overall, the hotel staff was rather young and not geared towards the more sophisticated traveller. Many of them were not familiar with the restaurants in Montreal that have received many accolades in Gourmet, Travel & Leisure, etc. The location is good and convenient. I plan to stay in another hotel on my next visit to Montreal.

Read More

By Dean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 14, 2006

A view in Vieux-Montreal

Top-notch across the board. The staff could not have been more helpful. The valet parking in Vieux-Montreal is a lifesaver. My wife loved the roof-top terrace.

By j

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2006

MY FAVORITE HOTEL EVER

I have stayed at Nelligan three times over the last three years and each time was absolutely perfect. I love everything about this hotel - the bed, the linens, the bathroom, etc. I always look to stay at the nicest hotel whenever we go anywhere, and unfortunately, I often have negative comments to say about many of the places that we have stayed. I often feel that they are just not up to my expectations or that the hotel quality is not commensurate

to what we are paying. However, I have never had anything but great things to say about this hotel and plan on returning again this summer.

Read More

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 18, 2005

Loved My Stay

This hotel is terrific. Great location. Wonderfully friendly and efficient front desk staff. Interesting rooms with a natural brick wall and lots of thoughtful amenities (like an umbrella in the closet or a personal oxygen canister). Oddly, the only amenity our room didn't have was a coffee pot! I found that odd. We faced an empty warehouse so our room was a little dark, but otherwise very comfortable and quiet. The hotel serves guests a complimentary

buffet breakfast each morning (boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, fruit, etc.). How wonderfully pleasant to sit by the large windows facing the street and watch the passersby. The hotel also offers guests complimentary wine and cheese each afternoon in the "library", which is really part of the lobby. Those leather sofas and huge lounge chairs are quite comfy. We had dinner in Verses restaurant one night and it was outstanding, by far the best meal I had in either Montreal or Quebec. Fresh venison with caramelized onions that literally melted in your mouth, baby arugula salad with lemon infused olive oil, and dessert of lemon semifreddo drizzled with rhubarb sauce. Pure heaven.

Read More

By Kristen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2005

A Delight in a Most Convenient Location

It's hard to find anything negative to say about the Hotel Nelligan. Spacious rooms (we were upgraded) with very large bathrooms. Nice linens, comfy beds, and tasteful decor. Two robes and a mini-bar with a separate liquor cabinet! The only downside was our room was on the street side and the trucks in the morning were noisy (otherwise very quiet). The location can't be beat. The restaurant was good, but not great.

By Joseph

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 18, 2004

Lovely hotel!

Great service, ambience and decor. Especially enjoyed sleeping in those comfortable beds! Highly recommended.

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2004

Beware F-1 Weekend!

We made the mistake of wanting to visit Montreal over the Formula 1 weekend. Big Mistake! All the hotels and restaurants hike their prices by 125%. Minimum reservations are at least three days! (Ouch!) We stayed in the most expensive room which was lovely except for its location, beneath the hotel's air conditioning system. It sounded like an airplane hanger with all the engine's running. They gave us another room and credited us the third night,

just like a bunch of thieves returning cab fare to you after you have been mugged! In their restaurant we paid $200 US for a merely good meal with six $15 glasses of merely good wine. Ouch! Beware!

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2003

Loved It

This was an absolutely memorable place to stay, the rooms are beautiful the restaurant was amazing, and the sevice is spectacular. Will definitely visit again.

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2003

The best!!!

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and absolutely loved this hotel. From the moment we walked in the lobby it was so warm and invited. The lobby was filled with comfy leather couches and a roaring fire place. Our room was perfect, complete with it's own fireplace. We both thought the beds were better than the westin's heavenly beds. A huge king size bed with down pillows and comforter. Ahhh. Then the bathroom. Wow. Huge stand

alone shower and a jacuzzi tub that could fit 4 people. Service was great too, especially the massages in the room! If we ever return to Montreal, we will definately stay there.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement