Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Montreal Restaurants

Café Ferreira

Updated 07/30/2014

Fodor's Review

Chef Carlos Ferreira and his passionate team put Portuguese food on the Montreal map 18 years ago. A huge mural of antique pottery fragments decorates the pale-yellow walls of this room—an elegant setting for "haute" Portuguese cuisine. Chef Marino Tavares helms the open-concept kitchen, which is renowned for its fish and seafood including the roasted salted cod, seafood boullabaisse and a whole array of Portuguese-style dishes. You can also make an excellent meal from

appetizers like giant shrimp and grilled octopus, or the roasted sardines filets. If you're a wine connoisseur, the impressive list of Portuguese wines is something to behold. If you're dining late at night, the late-night set menu (after 10) for C$23.95 offers great value and has a number of options.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1446 rue Peel, Montréal, Québec, H3A 1S8, Canada

Map It

Phone:

514-848–0988

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch weekends. Closed Sun.
  • Reservations essential

Updated 07/30/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Montreal

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2006

A must when you visit Montreal!

Very interesting menu Dishes well prepared and delicious. Outstanding service!

By Elliot

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 10, 2006

Top Portugese

We have been to Cafe Ferriera on several occasions and love it. The food is outstanding--try the Cataplana fish stew, which some may know as Chappino. We have found the wait staff to be friendly and helpful--always suggesting great wines to meet the interests of our table. This is one of our favorites when we visit Montreal.

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 6, 2004

O alimento era maravilhoso

Found this Portuguese restaurant to be delightful. Have returned to it every time I visit Montreal and will do so again at New Year's.

By Sherri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2004

Unbelievable Resto in Dowtown MTL !

I am a Montrealer and this is one of the best restaurants in Montreal. Seafood, Steak, Salads and desert were all phenominal. I went with 4 other people and we all ordered different dishes. They were all unreal.

By dial

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 18, 2004

Too bad about service and attitude

or is that service with an attitude? They try to rush you; tables are too close together. Food is very good though - fish bisque, grilled sardines, grilled tuna done rare.

By Brad

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 30, 2003

Wow

everyone else from my office had returned home from the trip, so i was left to my own devices. i had wanted to try it all week and no one else would go. so i was dying to go, and still i was not disappointed. here was my lineup: warm vegetable salad, chilean sea bass, and lychee mousse with coconut sorbet. this was an excellent dining experience, but it doesn't come cheap ($90CDN for just me). highly recommended.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 17, 2002

We love this restaurant

Everytime we come to this restaurant, we are never dissapointed. The food is splendid (especially the seafood) and the service is excellent. The ambience only adds more to this restaurants charm. A must go!!! (This is our favorite restaurant in Montreal)

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 7, 2002

Disappointing...

Expecting the best in this highly acclaimed(and recommended)upscale restaurant, I was extremely disappointed with the sparse and limited menu (surely there's more to Portugese cuisine than just fish), not to mention the many fish bones in my grilled 'filet' of cod. The sauce would have been good if it wasn't too greasy. Dessert was flavourful, but unremarkable. The ambience was good, the decor chic, and the service tepid and snobby. For the exorbitant

price of 'boney' filet of fish, I would not return unless amnesia sets in.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement