Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Halifax Restaurants

Economy Shoe Shop

Updated 11/15/2013

Fodor's Review

If you're looking for Birkenstocks, you're in the wrong place. But if you're hungry, that's another matter. Variety rules at this chaotic multiroom restaurant-cum-club. Start with an imported beer in the Belgian Bar, then head to Backstage to dine among the fake trees and other theatrical decorations before retiring to the private cave in the Diamond for after-dinner coffee. In summer there is also a street-front patio, which is invariably packed with locals. Although

food at the "Shoe" isn't haute cuisine, portions are generous, and it's very hard to leave. There's regular live music too, including jazz on Monday evenings.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1661–1663 Argyle St., Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3J 2B5, Canada

Map It

Phone:

902-423–7463

Updated 11/15/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By downer

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2012

Economy Shoe Shop Review

NYT's "hippest spot in town"? Our server seemed startled that we wanted to order food. When it did come, most of it tasted as if the cook was reading unfamiliar recipes by the same dim lighting: the $12 seafood chowder was half corn starch; pasta tasted like they substituted ketchup for sauce. Sure, Halifax restaurants close up early, but this place is a joke. Not even sure where the 'trendy' reputation is from - our hotel's free breakfast buffet

was chicer than this. I do believe this has the honor of being my worse dining experience courtesy of Fodor's & the Times.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2007

meh

If you want to show a friend visiting from out of town how "cool" Halifax is - bring them here - but DON'T let them eat the food. The food is mediocre at best and I wouldn't even say portions are generous for what you pay; the food is bland and even little things like salad dressing or mustard tastes like the junk you can buy from the grocery store...the worst of cooks could put this together at home. There really isn't anything redeeming when you

see/taste what you're paid for. (the smoked meat sandwich is probably the worst I've ever had...big let down, though that'll teach me to not to order smoked meat anywhere east of Quebec) They could really benefit from getting their menu redone by someone who knows how to cook or flavour dishes. Have you ever been some place where you read the menu and your meal arrives and you're delighted that the meal exceeds what you were expecting?...Not here..it's the opposite - and with the lack of tantilizing description in the menu, it seemed impossible to not beat it. I was really shocked that even the basic description wasn't met: "pickle on the side" = 2 thin circular slices of pickles on a toothpick on top of each half of the sandwich - um, gee, thanx for busting the bank on me. Otherwise, for sure if you're looking to catch up on old times and tie a few on, the place is great and spacious; tables aren't cramped in and the music is at a nice level, so there's plenty of privacy. The decor is pretty cool and if you like looking at hipsters, this is the place. Order a Hoegarden (bier), it comes in a ~30oz glass (seriously - huge - yum - $7), by the time you finish it your waiter will be back. (slow service)

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 12, 2007

The Nachos and Atmosphere make the night

Casually dining on the deck with nachos and a beer are a great night in Halifax. I've had a great experience each time I've been here.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2007

Skip It!

This restaurant is completely overrated. The food is mediocre at best. You can get much better food for the same price or cheaper at most places downtown. While the server seemed reasonably informed, he was super slow and did not check in with us at all. The atmosphere came across as super trendy and uncomfortable. My advice is to skip it and try somewhere else.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 11, 2005

Best nachos on earth

The Shoe shop's atmosphere is like no other place, but the nachos are what keep me coming back. There are plenty of other delicious things on the menu too - but for some reason I can't stop ordering nachos. It's like they've elevated the simple nacho to a new level of taste sensation. To die for!

By Lily

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2005

Great atmosphere, but not so great food.

The food lacked flavor and originality. With such dazzling decor, I expected a lot more. Uninspired and dull. Very dissapointing.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement