Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Whistler Restaurants

Araxi

Updated 05/07/2012

Fodor's Review

Terra-cotta tiles, well-chosen antiques, and original artwork create a vibrantly chic atmosphere for what has always been one of Whistler's top fine-dining restaurants. Local farmers grow produce exclusively for Araxi's chef, who also makes good use of regional cheeses, game, and fish. The food is fresh and innovative, best described as Pacific Northwest cuisine with a nod to Italy. Seafood is a specialty, so while you can certainly order a superbly prepared beef tenderloin, it's dishes like alder-smoked arctic char or tagliatelle with clams, scallops, and mussels that steal the show. The multitier seafood tower is a must-try for seafoodies who love to graze and share. Wine aficionados take note: the wine list is 27 pages long. A heated patio is open in summer, and the lounge is a popular après-ski spot.

Restaurant Information

Address:

4222 Village Sq., Whistler Village, British Columbia, V0N 1B4, Canada

Map It

Phone:

604-932–4540

Website: www.araxi.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Oct.–May
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/07/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By cheezz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2011

Araxi Review

This was the best dining experience of the vacation! I had the most amazing beef tenderloin - truly tender, perfectly cooked. My daughter had the scallops and eggplant and all but licked the plate. The only bad thing I can say is that we ordered 2 petit fours from the menu to go. I was looking forward to 2 yummy cake & frosting squares but was surprised to find their version of "petit fours" was a tiny macaroon and one-inch long miniature sweet bread.

The chocolate dessert we had at the restaurant was fabulous, though. It was like a molten chocolate lava cake, served with earl grey ice cream.

Read More

By Ckeit6

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 23, 2009

Araxi Review

All hype in my opinion. Maybe once they get the new chef..it'll be better. Out of 4 people at our table...3 of the fish dishes were awful..and the risotto was just ok. The smoked sable was terrible, tasted like it had liquid smoked pured on it and it was under cooked. No flavor but smoke. When you spend $30+ per dish..it should be great! I will give the service and wine a 5 though.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 21, 2008

Impeccable

The staff at Araxi provided us with some of the best service I have ever experienced; a pleasant surprise to find in a busy ski town where servers are typically seasonal foreigners. They were knowledgeable without being pretentious and friendly without being overbearing. The only drawback is the price tag, but as the saying goes, you pay for what you get.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 30, 2007

No question.

There are no seams involved with the food, service & value. Hands down, it doesn't get any better than this throughout B.C. A step beyond superior. You missed it if you did not dine here for an exquisite dinner. Pamper yourself, you deserve it if you're here!

By Hannie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 26, 2007

Pretentious but good food

Champagne and bottled water were the first things suggested. While the quality of the food was good we felt that the atmosphere was pretentious and somewhat snooty and the service was somewhat lacking in attention.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 4, 2007

Small

Portions were tiny! Designed for people who sleep in at the hotel, have lunch at 3, and dinner at 6, not people who bike Whistler mountain all day! Go to one of the trattoria's if you want a filling meal!

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2005

Better Than All Others In Whistler

We enjoyed our first dining experience so much that we reserved for another night. We tried the other top Whistler recommendations, Barefoot Bistro, Rim Rock Cafe and La Rua none of which were as good as Araxi.

By Ronda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2003

Best Restaurant in Whistler

The food was outstanding, the service wonderful, the wine excellent. We had our best dining experience in Whistler at Araxi and our most expensive but it was worth it! I can't say that about some other restaurants in Whistler which were listed as excellent. They didn't compare. The spinach salad with calamari and roe was delicious, the tenderloin with portobello slices in red wine sauce was wonderful, and the chocolate (bomb) dessert melted in

your mouth. We loved this restaurant. No wonder Wine Spectator rated it so highly.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 22, 2002

Seafood Tower Will Never Topple

This restaurant was one(if not the) of the best places I hae ever eaten in the world. That is saying a lot, considering I live in New York City and have been to all of the top restaurants here. The seafood is second-to-none, and it doesn't hurt that Araxi is located in the greatest destination in the world-WHISTLER!!!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement