Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Whistler Restaurants

Araxi

  • 4222 Village Sq. Map It
  • Whistler Village
  • Contemporary

Updated 05/07/2012

Fodor's Review

Terra-cotta tiles, well-chosen antiques, and original artwork create a vibrantly chic atmosphere for what has always been one of Whistler's top fine-dining restaurants. Local farmers grow produce exclusively for Araxi's chef, who also makes good use of regional cheeses, game, and fish. The food is fresh and innovative, best described as Pacific Northwest cuisine with a nod to Italy. Seafood is a specialty, so while you can certainly order a superbly prepared beef tenderloin, it's dishes like alder-smoked arctic char or tagliatelle with clams, scallops, and mussels that steal the show. The multitier seafood tower is a must-try for seafoodies who love to graze and share. Wine aficionados take note: the wine list is 27 pages long. A heated patio is open in summer, and the lounge is a popular après-ski spot.

Restaurant Information

Address:

4222 Village Sq., Whistler Village, British Columbia, V0N 1B4, Canada

Map It

Phone:

604-932–4540

Website: www.araxi.com

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Oct.–May
  • Reservations essential

Updated 05/07/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Décor

  • Food

  • Value

Oct 20, 2014

Fine Dining with a View in Whistler Village

My spouse and I dined at Araxi for dinner on a Thursday evening in early August 2014. We made a reservation using the Open Table reservation system, which was a necessity because Araxi is one of the most popular restaurants in Whistler. Araxi is located toward the middle of the Village Stroll (in the Village Square), near the grocery store and the liquor store. Araxi is open for weekend brunch and daily dinner. Araxi is located in the Blackcomb Hotel

and offers both indoor and outdoor seating. The classy indoor seating area includes tables, a raw bar, and a long regular bar. White tablecloths, silver flatware, and glassware abounds. A raised flagstone patio provides outdoor seating. Umbrellas top the tables, and the restaurant provides heaters and blankets, too. Araxi is part of the Toptable restaurant group, which includes Araxi in Whistler and Blue Water Cafe, CinCin, West, and Thierry in Vancouver. The chef at Araxi is James Walt, who has cooked at the James Beard House in New York City and holds other notable commendations. Even though we had a reservation to dine at Araxi, we waited approximately 15 minutes before the hostess sat us. The hostess first directed us to a high-top table in the outdoor bar area, but we chose to sit at the outdoor bar itself, which provided disappointing service. We searched for the bartender to order drinks, then tracked him down to request the complimentary popcorn that he provided to the guests sitting at the indoor part of the bar, then located him to request our check, and so on. Because we actually sat AT the bar, he should have always been present. Immediately after the hostess seated us at a table on the edge of the patio, a server delivered crusty bread and oil to our table while we perused the menu. First, we shared a beet salad, which was a combination of red and yellow beets accompanied by mozzarella cheese, goat cheese, and pecans, and arranged beautifully on the long, thin rectangular plate. For one of our entrees, we ordered scallops, which the chef served atop bright orange carrots and vibrant green snap peas, accented by crispy prosciutto. Fabulous! Even more delicious (although not as colorful) was our second entree, beef cheeks accompanied by cauliflower and potato puree. The presentation of our appetizer and entrees was fantastic, and worthy of any fine-dining restaurant in any big city. For dessert, we shared Pemberton Farms cherries accompanied by house-made sour cream ice cream. (The ice cream was amazing! We can still taste it months later!) When our server delivered our, some mignardises accompanied it, which lent an air of sophistication to the restaurant service. Our meal at Araxi was one of the best meals that we ate during our 10-day trip to the Pacific Northwest. The food at Araxi was delicious, the presentation was stellar, and the service was good (which could have been great if not for that bartender!).

Read More

By cheezz

  • Service

  • Value

  • Décor

  • Food

Aug 19, 2011

Araxi Review

This was the best dining experience of the vacation! I had the most amazing beef tenderloin - truly tender, perfectly cooked. My daughter had the scallops and eggplant and all but licked the plate. The only bad thing I can say is that we ordered 2 petit fours from the menu to go. I was looking forward to 2 yummy cake & frosting squares but was surprised to find their version of "petit fours" was a tiny macaroon and one-inch long miniature sweet bread.

The chocolate dessert we had at the restaurant was fabulous, though. It was like a molten chocolate lava cake, served with earl grey ice cream.

Read More

By Ckeit6

  • Value

  • Décor

  • Food

  • Service

Dec 23, 2009

Araxi Review

All hype in my opinion. Maybe once they get the new chef..it'll be better. Out of 4 people at our table...3 of the fish dishes were awful..and the risotto was just ok. The smoked sable was terrible, tasted like it had liquid smoked pured on it and it was under cooked. No flavor but smoke. When you spend $30+ per dish..it should be great! I will give the service and wine a 5 though.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 21, 2008

Impeccable

The staff at Araxi provided us with some of the best service I have ever experienced; a pleasant surprise to find in a busy ski town where servers are typically seasonal foreigners. They were knowledgeable without being pretentious and friendly without being overbearing. The only drawback is the price tag, but as the saying goes, you pay for what you get.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

May 30, 2007

No question.

There are no seams involved with the food, service & value. Hands down, it doesn't get any better than this throughout B.C. A step beyond superior. You missed it if you did not dine here for an exquisite dinner. Pamper yourself, you deserve it if you're here!

By Hannie

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 26, 2007

Pretentious but good food

Champagne and bottled water were the first things suggested. While the quality of the food was good we felt that the atmosphere was pretentious and somewhat snooty and the service was somewhat lacking in attention.

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 4, 2007

Small

Portions were tiny! Designed for people who sleep in at the hotel, have lunch at 3, and dinner at 6, not people who bike Whistler mountain all day! Go to one of the trattoria's if you want a filling meal!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.