Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Victoria and Vancouver Island Restaurants

Cafe Brio

Updated 09/16/2013

Fodor's Review

This intimate yet bustling Italian villa–style room has long been a Victoria favorite, mainly because of its Mediterranean influence in both atmosphere and mostly organic food. You might find local rockfish pan roasted and paired with chickpea polenta, grilled albacore tuna with an olive vinaigrette, or braised duck legs with a red wine risotto. Most dishes come in full or half sizes, which are ideal for smaller appetites or for those who want to sample the menu more

widely. However, the Family Meal (C$24/person) is the choice for sharing, comprising six chef's choice-of-the-day dishes. Virtually everything, including the bread, pasta, charcuterie, and desserts, is made in-house. The 400-label wine list has a top selection of B.C. choices.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

944 Fort St., Victoria, British Columbia, V8V 3K2, Canada

Map It

Phone:

250-383–0009; 866-270–5461

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch

Updated 09/16/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Victoria and Vancouver Island

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2008

A Phenomenal Dining Experience - perfect for your wino!!!!

Five nights in Victoria and this was was by far the best dining experience of our visit! The food was creative and yummy, the service was fabulous. But the wine list made the evening. If you enjoy wines, make sure to ask for the owner to come help you out. He has an absolute passion and fantastic knowledge of the wines in his stock (if he recommends it and you don't like it, he'll open a different bottle!). The Okanagan Valley Syrah he recommend

blew us away! Located a fifteen minute walk from the Empress, we HIGHLY recommend it and will be back!

Read More

By richsf

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2008

Victoria's foodie restaurant

Wow -- surprisingly good food in Victoria. The charcuterie appetizer options were excellent. Ditto for the hand-made pasta and warm goat salad. Excellent, reasonably-priced wine list with good BC options. We ate here one night after having the prix fixe at the Empress, and it blew the Empress away.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2007

A Great Dining Experience

A lovely dining experience. Food was fresh, well prepared and presented. The grilled sweetbread appetizer was wonderful. Good service.

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2001

Great food and value for the (US) dollar

We loved eating at Cafe Brio. The food was exceptionally good (try the confit duck) and the service was very friendly. We had a great time and would go back again. We took our 12 year old daughter, which worked fine. The waiter even had the bar mix her a special kiddie (fruit juice) cocktail. She loved it and we appreciated the extra effort.

By Liz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2001

Anniversary Treat!

Loved it, amazing food, try the jerusleum artichokes with gnocchi, service was great and we had our 2 10 & 11 year old daughters with us that had amazing pasta dinners with a twist. Great wine list and wonderful atmosphere, lots of great local art as well. Can't wait to return next spring for another memorable feast!

By Terry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 25, 2001

Duck Confit Rules

This place is incredible. The food and the service are excellent. (OK, on an off day the food is merely very, very good) It is a great place for an intimate meal for two, or for getting together with a small group of friends. If duck confit is on the menu in any form, get it!

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2000

Adults are people too

When we go out to eat at what is called by Fodor's and others "a romantic restaurant" we don't want to hear toddlers tantrums. This place seems to think kids rule the world.

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 4, 2000

Kid-Friendly

I've used Fodor's recommendations many times and hardly go wrong, but this was the WORST place you have recommended-ever. There were unsupervised kids running and screaming all over the place, and it wasn't exactly the setting for a honeymoon dinner in Victoria. And the meal was no better than average.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement