Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Victoria and Vancouver Island Restaurants

Camille's

Updated 05/09/2012

Fodor's Review

Working closely with independent farmers, the chef at this long-established favorite concentrates on such locally sourced products as lamb, duck, and seafood; quail and venison often make an appearance, too. The menu is based on what's fresh, but might include spot-prawn bisque with lemon and ginger; wild salmon with beet papardelle; or organic beef tenderloin. The wine cellar–like backdrop, on the lower floor of a historic building on Bastion Square, is candlelit and

romantic, with exposed brick, soft jazz and blues, and lots of intimate nooks and crannies hung with local art. The wine list is well selected.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

45 Bastion Sq., Victoria, British Columbia, V8W 1J1, Canada

Map It

Phone:

250-381–3433

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed Sun. and Mon. No lunch

Updated 05/09/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Victoria and Vancouver Island

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 8, 2008

A delicious evening

Went here on the recommendation of our servers at Cafe Brio and the Pacific Restaurant and the Concierge at the Empress. An easy walk from the Empress, the service was wonderful and the chef did a masterful job of using local goods. The wine selection was average, but we got a good match anyways. Probably won't go back next time we visit because there are so many other good restaurants, but I sincerely do recommend it.

By Nicole

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2006

Flavorful Finese

My husband recently took me to Camille's for our anniversary. The atmosphere is unique, cozy, yet unpretentious. The food is amazing. There may not be a huge number of menue choices, but the flavour and quality of the food was unsurpased by anything I have ever tasted before. We will be back!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2006

So good!

We spent our anniversary at Camilles, and we are so happy we did. I think it was the most romantic restaurant we have been to, and the food was incredible. I loved the fact that all the produce comes from local farms, and that the wine list included so many great BC wines. Our server was really knowledgeable about the wine list, and recommended something that we had never tried before- a wine from Kettle Valley winery. The desserts were also fabulous!

We will definately go to Camilles again.

Read More

By Sharon

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2005

Promises Unfilled

I called a week ahead to book a table for our 30th anniversary. We were told we would have something special but were seated by a window looking out at trash cans. There were other "romantic" seating locations and that is why we chose this restaurant because it is supposed to be the most romantic. It was a big disappointment. Too bad they do not take their customers needs and requests seriously.

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 2, 2005

Live Spiders with Dinner

It was okay, at best. The service was great, the food was okay, the atmosphere was not okay at all. You were pretty much eating in a dark basement/cellar with candle light. Good thing it was dark or else we would have seen more spiders crawling on their walls. I found the food very mediocre without very many choices. The tea was great, dessert was okay, dinner was okay. Our concierge boasted lobster but there was no lobster on the menu. We

husband and I both enjoyed our dinners but we liked other places that didn't boast "fine dining" that we considered more fine dining.

Read More

By Cameron

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 31, 2004

the best food in the most romantic setting

the best

By Shea

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2004

Second Time, Just as Good

Camille's was recommended to my wife & I by a pub waitress during a brew break a few years ago. It was the dining highlight of that visit. We had the opportunity to visit Victoria last week. Remembering Camille's we made dinner reservations prior to departing Alaska. They have improved on the decor from that first visit(they were just getting started)but nothing has changed as far as the food & service is concerned which was & is absolutely terrific.

By Dane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 25, 2002

CAMILLE had it all

wonderful food & service. My wife & I had the best meal and seamless service of a grand 10-day visit in BC. The service was a team effort with all staff aware & skilled at providing for a generous welcome with food that was its equal. The dessert of choice was their special cheesecake that bested any I've had.

By Denise

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2002

A bird by any other name...

... would be an ostrich. My companion and I had top notch appetizers, the veal with couscous and goat cheese, pistachio potstickers. I had the roast pork which was nice and my partner had the ostrich, nice to experience but probably would not have it again. Otherwise the service was superior, atmosphere intimate and good value for the dollar.

By Gary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 25, 2001

That Couple are Amazing

Absolutely the best meal we've had in Victoria. The husband and wife team greated and served over 40 people at at least ten tables with charm and efficiency. I had the Duck salad and Ostrich - absolutely perfect!! and my wife had a small Caeser and Roast Duck about which she raved. With wine and desert - for her only - the bill came to $83 plus a tip bringing it to under $50 each for a meal that would be highly rated anywhere. My only mild complaint

was the booths for two are rather cramped - but it hardly took away any enjoyment of a superb meal

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2001

Romantic evening

This was a great place to celebrate our anniversary. Soft jazz, great food and great atmosphere made for a wonderful night!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement