Puerto Vallarta Restaurants

Advertisement

Daiquiri Dick's

View from the dining area

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Daiquiri Dick's Review

Locals come over and over for breakfast (the homemade orange-almond granola is great), visitors for the good service and consistent Mexican and world cuisine. The lunch-dinner menu has fabulous appetizers, including superb lobster or shrimp tacos with a drizzle of béchamel sauce and perfect, tangy jumbo-shrimp wontons. On the menu since the restaurant opened almost 30 years ago is Pescado Vallarta, or grilled fish on a stick. The tortilla soup is popular, too. Start with a signature daiquiri; move on to the extensive wine list. The open patio dining room frames a view of Playa Los Muertos, creating a beautiful, simple scene to enjoy while you sip that drink.

    Contact Information

  • Address: Av. Olas Altas 314, Col. E. Zapata, Puerto Vallarta, 48350 | Map It
  • Phone: 322/222–0566
  • Website:
  • Location: Zona Romántica

    Restaurant Details

  • Credit cards accepted.
  • Closed Sept. and Tues. May–Aug.

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Over-Rated Restaurant

    I'm not sure why this restaurant has so much hype. The setting was very nice but a bit sterile and catered to tourists. The food was average, including the lobster tacos that everyone seems to rave about. Hit the other highly rated restaurants; this one isn't a great one.

    by emc8760, 12/28/06
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    The food made us literally very sick!

    When we went to Daquiri Dicks last November we thought we had an OK time. HOWEVER, within hours of returing to the hotel I was deadly sick with stomach cramps, high fever, and diahrea. The hotel called a doctor who treated me for food poisoning. The next day, my Mother, who ate less of the food, came down with the same thing and we had to call the doctor again. We were both very sick for about two days thanks to Daquiri Dick's food. Not the way we wanted to spend our vacation and we did'nt like the ADDED expense of the doctor and the medicines we needed as a result of dining there; we certainly wanted to spend that money on FUN things. Last night we had dinner with friends here and they, too, had been to Daquiri Dicks and they also got sick and had to call a doctor for food poisoning. I believe everyone should be warned that this restaurant does not handle its seafood properly and perhaps the kitchen is unclean. We certainly cannot warm people strongly enough NOT to go there!!! We are returning to Puerto Vallarta next month and will enjoy the many wonderful restaurants there. We just will not return to Daquiri Dick's and encourage others to guard their health and not eat the food at Daquiri Dick's!!!

    by EPB, 1/25/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Another Favorite

    We love this place, have been coming for years. The food is very good, and never have gotten sick! Excellent service, but our favorite thing is the daiquris!! Love the melon & banana.

    by rollo, 2/17/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Great Afternoon Break

    We loved the salsa with chips.

    by philysh, 2/20/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Outstanding

    I have eaten here many times over the years, and the food has been consistently outstanding. Beware of people who claim that they got sick after eating here: it can take a day or two for food poisoning to take affect. One rarely knows for sure where one gets sick. I have seen the kitchen at Daiquiri Dick's and it is spotless. Be careful with the margaritas, however: they are delicious and more powerful than they seem. I have also recommended this place to many friends, and not one of them has ever had anything less than a wonderful experience. What shocks me is that some truly awful tourist traps in Vallarta have higher ratings. What's up with that? I guess some people are happier eating crappy tourist food.

    by chasm, 4/23/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Perfect for every night

    The best food in PV, the best margaritas in the world -- outstanding in every way. Go just before sunset and add the spectacular sky to your perfect dining experience.

    by Florrie, 5/6/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    over rated

    I'm not sure why this place is in business. The food has ranged from average to inedible over the last couple of years all at very expensive prices. The location is great but if you sit on the patio near the water you will be constantly harassed by vendors. It's expensive and there are many better places in town.

    by uncledave8, 10/24/07
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Nice outside dining

    The black bean soup was delicious and the salad with goat cheese very good. The service was very good, we sat outside and the view of the ocean was pretty, except for the vendors trying to sell you things over the wall, surprised the restaurant allowed this. We enjoyed our meals here very much. I had a great chicken lemon & caper dish, my husband had the duck, we enjoyed our meals very much. Wanted to go back but wasn't serving the duck again. Overall was satisfied with our meal and service.

    by Janiebii, 5/5/08
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Not a bar.....

    I expected a huge bar serving party drinks with good food on the side, but was totally off. This is a nice, linen-on-the-table restaurant, with very attentive waiters, good wine, and yes, daiquiris. I ordered the shrimp tacos, while my brother ordered the tuna. Both dishes were very delicious. Outside patio was open, right on the beach. Service was good and prices were reasonable. Would definitely recommend!

    by Corinn45, 2/14/09
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Daiquiri Dick's Review

    My wife and I had dinner here last week. We thought the atmosphere and service was great, but the food was just so so. The black bean soup was excellent but the calamari appetizer was not. The portion size was extremely small for the price and an accompanying sauce or dip would have been great. We split the perch and thought it was acceptable but not out of the ordinary. We did not think the small, expensive daquiri or margarita was worth the price. Overall, we probably wouldn't go back given the large number of new restaurants in PV.

    by JRedd, 3/21/10
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Daiquiri Dick's Review

    We spend a couple of weeks in Puerto Vallarta, or Paradise, as I call it, each year. For a month or so before we go I start to dream about the whole grilled red snapper at Daiquiri Dick's.When we get there, I have never been diaappointed.Just stay away from the tables next to the beach, if you don't want to be bothered with the vendors and the mariachi bands.

    by barrykirshin, 11/5/11
  • Service  
    Food  
    Décor  
    Value  

    Daiquiri Dick's Review

    We have been going to this restaurant since they started on the beach. Always good. I like the breakfast best. They have sprcial lunch prices now.

    by Dj221, 11/30/11

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Map of Daiquiri Dick's

Map of



Travel Deals
Forums