Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Puerto Vallarta Hotels

Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya

Pros

  • Recently redecorated and remodeled
  • Concierge service
  • Lots of on-site dining and activity options

Cons

  • Beach is small, least expensive rooms don't have ocean views
  • No bathtubs

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

Guests consistently give this hotel high marks. Each of the classy suites here has an elegant feel, with a brown-and-taupe color scheme and an ample terrace with a table and four chairs. Separate sitting rooms have a second flat-screen TV, and there's even a pillow menu. The pools are surrounded by spacious patios, so there's plenty of room to find the perfect spot in the sun or the shade, whether you're on your honeymoon or with the kids. Given the elegance of the place,

it's a shame to have to wear the usual wristbands required of All Inclusive guests.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Zona Hotelera Sur, Km 11.5, Box 158B, Puerto Vallarta, 48300, Mexico

Phone:

800-227–2356-in U.S. and Canada; 322-226–0660; 800-227–2356

Website: www.barcelo.com

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 317 suites
  • All-inclusive

Updated 12/31/1969

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By VAGent

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 25, 2007

Major Construction at Barcelo La Jolla de Mismaloya

Buyer beware. This hotel is under major construction. The management will not reveal to potential clients that this hotel is noisy with jack hammers, and major construction equipment. It is impossible to have a quite, relaxing stay. Food poisoning from hotel food is also a problem, probably from unsanitary construction conditions. This hotel will not be back in service until 2009.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2006

Such a mixed bag

Everytime you think this place is great, it's not. It's an incredible setting but the beach washed away a couple of years ago (no one ever tells you that) so now there's only room for about a dozen chairs by the water. Instead, everyone hangs at the pools. The pool complex is spectacular but has the most uncomfortable chairs I've ever sat in. And about 100 too few of them so that the scramble to reserve them starts about 6:30 AM. Beautiful rooms

but they seem to constantly lose reservations--they lost ours and we had to spend one night in a junky jotel in town. We then checked in and they upgraded us to a spectacular presidential suite that it appears was available the night before--if only someone had the authority to deal with our problem. The food is very good but there are so many fantastic restaurants in town that the all-inclusive seems a waste. But there's really no choice, since people who aren't on the all-inclusive get left out. Service ranges from terrific and warm to indifferent. This place comes so close to being really nice that it's a shame they can't get it right.

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 30, 2006

Don't Miss La Jolla de Mismaloya

Just returned from a 7 day stay. Hotel and grounds are meticulously cleaned all day and night. All inclusive package was great value, great food, and drinks. Buffet was great for variety and good food, sometimes breakfast waiters not the fastest. Overall highly recommended. I would stay there again. Pools were wonderful.

By BillJ

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 19, 2005

Not far, but away from the madding crowd

In Sep '05 felt cooler as soon as you got south of town. Bus/taxi makes trips to town pretty easy. Staff constantly cleaning. Seem to be a very happy group. Little extra to get above 6th floor worth it. Views are great. Village and river add to nature's total experience. Did not do all inclusive, but il boccaccio (formerly le iguana)is very good. Room with kitchen and patio is just fine. Pool area is great with area for adults only.

By Erika

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 3, 2005

A pleasent place to stay

The Hotel is pleasent, with an outstanding beatiful view of the Pacific Ocean and the Sierra Madre Mountains hugging the hotel, a perfect place for watching a wide variety of regional birds (I love nature) the staff is excellent, they make you feel like home and its nice to see same faces in the property, Conrado etc, this a just a good place to stay

By Sonia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 21, 2005

Visit this place

We travel all over the world and this is the most beautiful resort in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico people were very friendly and helpfull, if you are looking for a nice and a Hotel to relax you know where to go, La Jolla de Mismaloya

By steve

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2004

Great Place

All the people there make us feel like if were in home, the grounds are so beatiful and the place is so quiet. we'll be back

By lisa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 4, 2004

paradise

We were just there and everything was great, the green areas, the pool the ambience and service are special

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2004

We will be back

We are so pleased at our choice to come to this resort we had a wonderful time we will be back

By greg

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2004

A beatiful place to stay

We end visiting Puerto Vallarta for our honey moon and its a memorable place, La Jolla de Mismaloya everybody is so helpful and the premises are beatiful.

By Megan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2004

Not even a 3-star hotel!!

We stayed here because it was listed on the "500 Best Hotel List" in Travel and Leisure magazine. I'm sure someone received a large payoff to put this hotel on that list! Desciption as follows: old and moldy room. Old, moldy & tattered linens. Bed bugs. Horrible little kitchen. Small bathroom - you couldn't even open up the door because the toilet was in the way. If you are used to staying at places like the Grand Wailea in Maui then you will not

like this place!!

Read More

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2002

Not a Leading Hotel

This may be a little dated, but my wife and I booked a week long stay there last May. The hotel was still advertising itself as one of the Leading Hotels of the World. However, they were no longer a member of that organization for several months. La Jolla was also advertised as one of the newest and most luxurious hotels in PV. Not so. Our "suite" was very dinghy, and looked like it hadn't been updated since the 70s. The wood trim was either

missing or coming apart on most furniture. The bedroom was right next to the front door, with no window. The "ocean view" was really a balcony facing the pool; you could see the ocean if you strained your neck. I was also put off by the service by the pool.

The next morning I complained and informed the manager I was switching to the Camino Real. He offered me the "Presidential Suite" to appease me. Well, this was really only a larger version of the room I wanted out of. Plus, it smelled and one bathroom was flooding into the second bedroom. Its balcony also overlooked the public access to the hotel's "private" beach. It was dirty and noisy. No thank.

On the other hand, the Camino Real couldn't have been better.

Read More

By Marie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 23, 2002

Where the Mountains meet the Ocean

Simply Paradise. I stayed there in January of 2000 and hope to go back soon. The suites are absolutely beautiful, the pools are creative, warm, and we were able to swim even though it was midnight! True, the beach is small, but beautiful white sand....not like any other part of Puerto Vallarta. The scenery is breathtaking, you feel like you are in a postcard. We took the bus into town, very reasonable and interesting ride. Any amenity you want

is at your fingertips, do go on a horsebackriding trip. Word of warning....don't waste your money on the food at the resturant on the platform. The food is terrible and expensive. I ordered steak and it looked a mangled hamburger with gravy. I was afraid to eat it!

Read More

By Bobby

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2001

Absolutely beautiful

The setting was amazing-Mismaloya beach and a tropical jungle, wow! Pros: Swimming pool w/ waterfalls and swim-up bar, Mismaloya beach, Los Arcos within a 20 minute kayak, balcony view of the ocean and swimming pool below. Cons: About a 25 minute taxi ride away from town. Rooms had a musty smell. Service was mixed. Overall, I would definitely return just because of the beauty of the locale.

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 31, 2001

La Jolla is truly a Jewel

Truly a beautiful facilty with lush and tropical setting. We stayed in one of the 16 Presidential Suites which were HUGE and the wrap-around terrace had most spectaular veiws of the mountians, Mismaloya Bay & Beach and the entire landscaped pool area. While I can see that this resort can get crowded at peak times, we were the third week in May and felt like the resort was only 40% occupied. The Sets of the Night of the Iguana, La Iguana

Italian Restuarant and John Houston's (former home of the director/actor) were spectaular for quality, service and menu selection (and incredible views of the sunsets and Los Arcos). The El Patio and Beach Club restuarants were just "OK" for lunch./breakfast BUT the PV Prime was a dissapointment with a VERY limited menu highlighting prime rib (mine was more like prime fatty-horse). Overall service was friendly and helpful BUT a bit slow for this native New Yorker, BUT HEY, you're in Mexico not Manhattan! The resort is located on a very private and beautiful cove. My one objection, the rooms in this facilty need a bit of updating Especially at the price for the Presidenial Suites.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement