Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Puerto Vallarta Hotels

Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa

Pros

  • Great place to socialize
  • Good breakfast buffet
  • Concierge service
  • Five-minute walk to the malecón and downtown

Cons

  • Balconies are small, no parking
  • Fee to use next-door gym

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

The location on downtown's northern edge is just a few blocks from the malecón, shops, hotels, and restaurants. The beach has gentle waves, but with brown sand and rocks. Views up and down the bay are great; it attracts more fishermen and people walking or jogging than bathers. There's a lively pool scene; the adults-only area, a shallow pool with submerged chaise longues facing the sea, is a big part of the draw. Rooms are cheerful, with wood furniture, bright white

linens, and tastefully subdued accent colors. Ocean-facing balconies are tiny, and if you sit, you can't see a thing. Still, the sum of the whole makes up for any deficiencies, and the all-inclusive rate is a good deal, especially for families.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Av. México 1301, Puerto Vallarta, 48350, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

322-226–7000; 888-859–9439-in U.S. and Canada

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 216 rooms, 18 suites
  • All-inclusive; No meals

Updated 12/31/1969

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 1, 2008

Enjoyed our stay

We stayed in May 2008 and got an excellent deal on a honeymoon room with jacuzzi,bed was comfortable,enjoyed pool probably more then any other have been to.Poolside food was very good.Now same room costs 2-3 times more and am sad about that.

By Marcia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2006

An okay place

Overall it was a good time. Downfalls were: our room was musty smelling, they had the same buffet every day (a beef dish, chicken dish or a fish dish, potatoes, vegetables, rice and a soup.) There wasn't much of a variety at all. Also we seen a cockroach in our room. The staff was wonderful (except the front desk). Word of advice....don't check out untill noon. We checked out as soon as we got up, and they cut our bracelet off. We had to beg

to get breakfast.. Even then the manager watched us. Another downer was there wasn't any entertainment at the hotel. We had to go elsewhere for that. Saturday night they had a short program of Mexican Dancers. Puerto Vallarta is a beautiful place, but I would stay somewhere else.

Read More

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2005

Just right for the price

For the price you pay, the Buenaventura is an excellent price. If you are travelling with children or drink a lot, I would recommend to go all inclusive. Otherwise, you are a few short blocks from the malecon and plenty of dining options. Beds are a bit firm as mentioned, but most of the time isn't spent on bed. If able, try to get a "master suite" jacuzzi tub, two balconies and kitchenette. A definite must if you want a hotel near downtown.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2005

Our home away from home

Our home away from home. Time after time this is where we stay in P.V. The staff is so nice. I heard some crabby Texans, but everyone else seemed to enjoy themselves. I love the happy hour on the beach. the rooms are not deluxe (duh! that's why it isn't so expensive). But who goes to P.V. to hang out in a room.

By Debra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 18, 2005

Concrete Beds Notwithstanding...

Don't accept a room adjacent to the street; it's far too noisy at night. It cost us U.S.$14 in tips to get a room farther from traffic, with a balcony, partial ocean view and better bathroom. If you're planning to spend a lot of time in your room, this is not the hotel for you; but the pool area, bars, and other public spaces are perfectly acceptable. To clarify complaints elsewhere on the Web about the Hotel Buenaventura's hard beds: they're hard

because they consist of a firm mattress placed atop a concrete pedestal. No box springs, no bed frame. Whether this is a positive or negative for you depends on your personal preference. My lower back benefitted, but the rest of me did not. My friend didn't even notice. Please note: PV has three properties with "Buenaventura" in the name: my comments address Buenaventura Hotel and Beach Club (also called Hotel Buenaventura). There's also a Premiere Buenaventura and a Hacienda Buenaventura.

Read More

By Angela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2003

Rooms are old & muggy

I do not recommend this hotel. The hotel is outdated. The rooms are muggy. The curtains and bedspread were very old & dirty. I would rate this hotel as a 1 or 2 star. If you don't mind a below average room then stay here as the location & beach are good.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 8, 2002

Lunch wienies mixed in with dinner's refried beans

My two sisters and I stayed at the Buenaventura in January. The only good thing about it was the location. The property is dank and the furnishings worn. The staff was inattentive. Repairs were made three times to our balcony door and it still could not be locked. Occasionally, malodors drifted from the bathroom. There was a shortage of pool chairs and cushions. Our stay was all-inclusive, which was a big mistake. The food selection was very

limited and unappetizing. For example, leftover lunch wieners were added to refried beans. The wieners decomposed, resulting in a disgusting slop that was served at dinner and for breakfast the following morning. Items such as bacon were hid behind the counter. Drinks were watered down. We were not allowed to order from the menu as promised. Waiters ignored us because we were not "paying" customers. The hotel was rated 3 stars by MLT, whose on-site representive was unreceptive to our concerns. I have travelled to Oaxaca, Puerto Escondido, Mazatlan and Mexico City, and I am confident of my observations. If you stay at the Buenaventura, do so with low expectations, do not pay much, and definitely DO NOT take the all-inclusive option.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 3, 2001

Best Bang for your Money

We had 5 adults and 2 teenagers, we went in January. I usually stay at 5 star hotels when traveling. But this time I choose to take my children and wanted easy access to the downtown. My kids 17,and 14 had a great time the staff was very freindly and helpfull. I really enjoyed the photography staff at the hotel. The food was Ok, they had large variety which was good when traveling with large of group. In fact we will be traveling to the same hotel

this coming Feb. only this time their will be 11 people in our group, ages range from early 50's to early 20's. So there is something for everyone.

Read More

By Erica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2000

Unfriendliest staff in Mexico

I spent three days here during Semana Santa, which is the busiest Mexican holiday. The hotel was not overbooked, but upon check-in my co-worker and I were treated very poorly. We were told we were given the best available room. Later that afternoon, another co-worker arrived (who happened to be male), and was given a room that was 5 times nicer than ours. I wasn't sure what their reasoning was for not giving us the nicer room, but it ruined my

opinion of the hotel. The Premier Buenaventura next door, is beautiful however. I would stay there next time.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement