Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Puerto Vallarta Restaurants

Barcelona Tapas

  • Calle Matamoros at 31 de Octubre Map It
  • $$$
  • Spanish

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

One of the few places in town with both good food and an excellent bay view, Barcelona Tapas has traditional Spanish tapas like garlicky roasted potatoes, spicy garlic shrimp, and grilled mushrooms. In addition to traditional paella, there's also a seafood-only version. To start you off, attentive waiters bring a free appetizer and delicious homemade bread. The "chef's surprise" six-course tasting menu lets you try soup, salad, and dessert as well as hot and cold tapas.

The restaurant is air-conditioned in summer; the rest of the year the windows are taken off to let the breezes in. You pay for that patio view by having to walk up a few dozen stairs.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Calle Matamoros at 31 de Octubre, Puerto Vallarta, 48300, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

322-222–0510

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2014

Very Disappointed with management at Barcelona Tapas

My wife and I have been to Barcelona Tapas several times before and wanted to take our friends and enjoy. Four of us were there for lunch on Feb 6. The food was good along with the usual outstanding view. We were pointed to two for one sangrias on the menu (two sangrias for the price of one). We ordered 4 sangrias. When the bill came, we were surprised to see a $300 pesos charge for sangrias. Apparently we were charged for 4 sangrias. When we pointed

it out to the waiter, he told us that he would look into that. Instead, he sent another waiter who told us that we needed to order 8 sangrias to get that 2X1 deal, and that he could not adjust the bill. We found it outrageous and tried to tell him so, with no apparent results. We wrote to owner Bill Carballo requesting refund for 2 sangrias, and bringing more transparency to their menu about what two for one sangrias mean so that future customers know what they are getting into so that they can order eight sangrias if they choose to do so during lunch and not finding out when they are ready to get up and go. There has been no response from William. The money part is trivial, but I am very disappointed with the owner and management for not even acknowledging my messages and completely ignoring my complaint on this apparently misleading dealing. I feel somewhat manipulated by a US trained chef-owner in Mexico! At least, beware!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 13, 2008

Great Food Super People

I have eaten at Barcelona since they opened. Since I live in Puerto Vallarta 6 months of the year I dine out very often. In a town with such great restaurants to choose My wife and I go to Barcelona more than any other place. The food is excellant quality the flavours are unique, the service is friendly. I feel that I can truly jugde this restauant as one of the best in Vallarta if not the best. I go for the food and the variety in the menu. Who cares

about the view... the view in my house is better. Trust the positive comments of these reviews. It is easy for people to write bad things....what is their motive anyway ????

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 4, 2008

I wasnt impressed...

The view was nice, I give it that. But i wouldnt rave about the food, it was just okay. We expected a lot better! I prefer the sister restaurant. Agave Grill. Wouldnt go back, other great restaurants!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2008

Great View

I was suprised at the tapas as they were very American (ie mixed greens, american shrimp, garlic cloves). Not like the Tapas in Espania I realized that everything served can be made from the Costco products locally So if you want Tapas, its ok - didnt get to the Paella as seemed costly and was only served in minimum of 2 orders, at $18 to $25 per order Great view, good service

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 15, 2008

So good went there twice!

Loved this place. The food and the view made for a wonderful dinner--both times. For me, the biggest winners (though didn't have anything that I didn't think was delicious) were the potato totilla (cold), the grilled mushrooms, the eggplant with tomato sauce, the seafood pasta salad, and the Crema Catalana (sp?). Loved the Sangeria too. Keep in mind, smoking is permitted on the top level, which was a problem for me the second time there--wish

I had known--would have sat on the lower level. Reservations suggested. I'm a huge Spain addict, and this place was the next best thing to being there.

Read More

By tealsta

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2007

Great Paella!

My husband and I didn't really try any of the tapas and we were really here for the Paella. The bread is nice and soft and you have a choice between white and whole grain. Well, you don't really have to choose since they bring you both. The sangria is one of the better ones I've had. The paella was amazing, with lots of goodies in them. Big tasty shrimps, mussels, fish, sausage and calamari. Even the rice is soft and moist. We got there around

8 and didn't have reservation on a Saturday night but got right in and sat by the balcony. I think reserve in advance would be a great idea tho since I did see people waiting to be seated after we started eating. If I was to be back at Puerto Vallarta again I would definitely try all the tapas here.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 24, 2007

great views

This used to be a favorite but the food and service slipped last year. Still one of the great views but if you have anyone slightly physically challenged you should know that that the climb up the hill is very steep and long. Waits can be long even with a reservation. Go early and catch the sunset from one of the most lovely spots in town. It's not a great bargain either - quite pricey

By keenerd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 23, 2007

Best View in Town

My wife and I dined twice at Barcelona Tapas during our week stay. We arrived both nights by 6:30 without reservations and had no problem getting a table. The food, service, and drinks were great.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2007

Food and view are worth the visit!

Love everything about this restaurant. Service is always outstanding - make reservations 1/2 hour prior to sunset so you can capture one of the best spots in PV for a sunset and stay for a wonderful dinner of tapas! The desserts are great too - so save room. No trip to PV is complete without a dinner at Barcelona Tapas....those 70 steps are well worth the climb!

By emc8760

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 28, 2006

Amazing Tapas

This is the best restaurant to which I went in Puerto Vallarta. The tapas is so delicious, especially the amazing seafood paella. It's so much fun and a great place for a date or for a family. Make sure to book ahead; the wait time was ridiculous!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 16, 2006

a wonderful experience

the view is spectactular as is the food. we go here every year

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2006

A great evening!

By far my favorite in PV. Great roof top overlooking the city lights. The food and service were wonderful. From start to finish, the dinner was incredible.

By Paula

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2005

The best tapas ever!

This is a must in PV!! One of the best meals I have ever had and I'm a food snob. Do NOT miss this experience.

By Sarah

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 3, 2005

The climb is worth it

One of the best view of PV and excellent food. Staff is friendly and helpful with selections. Would recommend the Garlic Shrimp and Mushrooms. Also, the do now offer lunch.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement