Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Puerto Vallarta Hotels

Costa Azul

  • Calle Amapas at Calle Las Palmas Map It

Pros

  • Great place to bond with kids of all ages
  • Lots of planned outdoor activities and tours

Cons

  • Mediocre food
  • Some guests have complained of disorganized and unhelpful staff members
  • Stringent cancellation policy

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

What makes this place attractive are the many activities offered: horseback riding, kayaking, hiking, surfing (with lessons), and excursions to the Marietas Islands or La Tobara mangroves near San Blas. The all-inclusive plan, which includes activities, can be arranged through the U.S. office in San Clemente, California, but not in Mexico. But since San Pancho has a number of excellent restaurants, the European Plan is recommended. The sandy beach faces the open ocean,

but the staff discourages guests from swimming there. Officially there's no Wi-Fi in guest rooms, but those closest to the restaurant may get access.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Calle Amapas at Calle Las Palmas, , Fracc. Costa Azul, San Francisco, Nayarit, 63732, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

311-258–4000; 800-365–7613-toll-free in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 18 rooms, 5 suites, 3 villas
  • No meals; All meals

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Puerto Vallarta

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 7, 2009

Take the money and run

My fiance and I booked The Lover's in Paradise Package for the week prior to our wedding which was to be held at Costa Azul. After the recent flu outbreaks we decided it would be unfair to expect family, friends, and most importantly our children to take the risk of traveling to Mexico at this time. When we contacted the US reservations office (only open three days a week)we were told there would be no refund on our accomadations package (fully refundable

if canceled within 90 days) because the applied that money toward the deposit for the wedding (conveniently non-refundable). Since then all my phone calls go un-returned, as they did while we were trying to plan our wedding and no one has an answer for me. The "office manager" is incompetent and will not give me the contact information for her supervisor. As far as the resort goes I can not rate it as I have never been there, and now I never will which is a shame since my fiance and I are avid surfers and spend 4-6 weeks a year in this area of Mexico. I will take my business elsewhere. In this economy it is hard to believe that the quality of customer service can be so poor.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 16, 2009

Perfect Mexican get-away for us!

Costa Azul is the perfect get-away in Mexico. Only 30 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta, and yet it's located in a typical "sleepy Mexican village" where you can get the authentic flavor of the local area without the excessive tourism of other nearby towns (like Sayulita). The resort offers lots of beach space, and yet it's also a cozy, intimate place where everything is within close proximity. The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff are friendly

and professional, the food is excellent, and the activites are perfect. My family of 7 stayed there for a week, and we all - even the little ones - had the best time! We would go back there ANY time.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2009

Just returned from Costa Azul

My family and I just returned from Costa Azul. We've stayed in Sayulita in years past and discovered Costa Azul on a day trip. I don't think we'll ever return to Sayulita after discovering San Pancho and Costa Azul. Its a totally different experience. San Pancho is a lot less crowded and the people and pace are more our style for vacationing. We loved the resort style atmosphere at Costa Azul. The rooms were always clean and the views were spectacular.

The food was good but after a few days we ventured out to discover a hand full of amazing restaurants in town. We did enjoy the beachfront restaurant at Wahoo's for the kids. It was never crowded and the staff learned our drinks and names. Its that kind of place. I can't say enough good things about the staff and service. The only thing to be aware of is that the pace of life is just slower in Mexico. The pool was fantastic. It was great for the kids and we all consider it the best family vacation ever!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 14, 2007

Memories to Last a lifetime!

Our family had one of the best family vacations we have ever had at Costa Azul! There was something for everyone: Dad has always wanted to learn to surf. Seeing him take some waves in brought smiles to all of our faces. Mom LOVED galloping down the beach every night at sunset. I actually cried saying goodbye to my horse when we left and I still dream about the sound of the hoofs in the sand. My son wants to be the next Crocodile Hunter; so the

river cruise was his highlight, surfing was a close second. My daughter loves horses, so being led on her own horse on the jungle ride made her so happy! She still talks about it 6 months later! The term FAMILY Adventure Package really says it all about why it was such a great vacation. Having adventures TOGETHER and doing things we don't get to do often makes for great quality, family time and memories. Don't worry, there is also time to relax and enjoy the peace & tranquility of the beautiful, secluded beach. Meal times were spent sharing what our favorite part of the day was and our nightly ritual was to lay on the beach after dinner and stay until each of us saw a shooting star!!! It doesn't get much better than that! We are excited to return sometime in the future!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2007

An Adventure to remember....

Ok so Costa Azul has come a long long way. We stayed there almost 6 years ago and it has since been renovated. This is unlike any hotel you have ever been to because it has all the all-inclusive perks and affordable prices but is totally secluded from the tourist traps that infest Mexico's larger cities. We decided that Costa Azul was the real Mexico...its in a small town that feels very safe and secluded. The food and service was priceless. Everyone

there was so happy and understanding. We loved the trip to San Blas and horseback riding on the beach every night at sunset. My husband and his buddies went back for a surf trip with out us and raved about the surf guides and surf breaks. We tell all our friends. The only thing that we could possibly complain about was that there was not enough time in the day.....we'll be back for sure.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2007

Who Knew....

We were trying to steer away from the large scale hotels of Puerto Vallarta and we found Costa Azul to be just the perfect place for a family. Its small and tucked away in the jungle. My kids loved the food- as did I! The best part was that everything was included and we didn't have to spend a fortune on meals and things to do. We were very busy but then the pool provided a place to sit around and do nothing! The locals were very nice and we'll be

coming back for sure.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 28, 2007

Not worth the money

We were at Costa Azul a few weeks ago (January 2007) for a wedding, and our experience was not good. The electricity was out for one full day and an additional two other days it was spotty (mainly out). We also had issues with the hot water not being available. If this were a hotel that was less expensive, it wouldn't be such a big deal (I have backpacked through many developing countries). But the attitude of the staff coupled with the fact that

the hotel management was and still is unresponsive to our complaints means that we will not be going back, and this is a shame as the location is beautiful and the activity staff are very friendly. The restaurant was ok, the food was at times ok and other times poor. They ran out of food before everyone was served the main course at the wedding banquet, which is bad form. The electricity eventually came back on (we were in the beach complex), and those in the bungalows never had an issue. So if you decide to go, hope for no issues and stay in the bungalows. If there is an issue, the staff may treat you as they did us and promise action, but not deliver. And complaints to the management go unanswered. And for this price, please. By the way, requests for a price break have gone unanswered.

Read More

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2005

You gotta be kidding me!

We stayed in this place 5 times - each time it got worse and worse. The rooms are shabby at best and the food is overpriced and not good. The spot is beautiful but my advise would be to skip this place. We now rent houses and/or stay at a B&B and are much happier and able to enjoy the best of San Pancho. San Pancho is one of the most beautiful and sweet towns in Mexico and you should go (we go almost every year). And, while there, go to La Ola

Rica (they got the well deserved Fodor's pick this year), Cafe Del Mar Los Arcos, Sandra'sand Gallos -- all great restaurants). Even the Taco Stands are wonderful If you still want to stay at this place, I hope you will not choose the food plan -- it isn't worth it and you will miss the restaurants mentioned above. There are many first class beach houses (and even a small and beautiful B&B)to rent there. Just Google San Pancho and you'll find plenty of other rental options.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement